• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2014
    9
    A lovable adventure that any fan of the genre could like. The only reason I don't give this game a 10 score is because it has some glitches that sometimes affect the gameplay, like the "falling out of the world" glitch (don't save there, restart from last save point or use the scene selector) and some tardiness to perform certain actions. The combat is alright, perhaps an introductoryA lovable adventure that any fan of the genre could like. The only reason I don't give this game a 10 score is because it has some glitches that sometimes affect the gameplay, like the "falling out of the world" glitch (don't save there, restart from last save point or use the scene selector) and some tardiness to perform certain actions. The combat is alright, perhaps an introductory tutorial was needed to get the hang of it, just keep in mind is based on combos. Learn the right timing for blocking and making combos and you'll be fine. Other than that, it's a great game with outstanding production values for its time. Anyone looking for an adventure game on the PS2's catalog should at least give Primal a chance. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Primal universe is gorgeous !!! amazing history and deep fantasy, you spend time playing at 13 hours! very big game, Primal deserved a sequel! come on people!!
  3. phz
    Jan 3, 2014
    10
    this game was one of the best i played when i was young on ps2
    still love it and i hope a sequel is in progress i dno what other ppl had in the past but this game is awsome
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Primal is my favourite game of all times. The combat's lack of depth is its "only" sin. As for the rest, if you get this game, expect a great story, fantastic soundtrack, superb voice acting, puzzles puzzles puzzles, settings you will never forget, and characters you will love forever; because that's exactly what you're going to get.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Probably one of the most gorgeous games on the PS2. Lush visuals, great soundtrack, interesting and creatively designed characters, great voice acting. To be honest though, I did find some the handling a little clumsy at times, but this is really just a minor point as the game keeps you engrossed enough to not notice. A real shame that it wasn't longer. It isn't a short game but it is justProbably one of the most gorgeous games on the PS2. Lush visuals, great soundtrack, interesting and creatively designed characters, great voice acting. To be honest though, I did find some the handling a little clumsy at times, but this is really just a minor point as the game keeps you engrossed enough to not notice. A real shame that it wasn't longer. It isn't a short game but it is just so well designed and so excellently paced that you just crave more and more. Overall: One of my favorite games on the PS2 and I hope that someday a worthy sequel gets made. Collapse
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    A great forgotten PS2 gem. This game is now on the playstation store in USA for 9.99 as a ps2 classic. Good choice, and its been rated 33 times on there so far, with still a 5.00. This games second chance, is really looking up. If a sequel is made, everyones happy.
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    A solid experience, and one of the best on PS2. Although it is very restrictive and prevents you from taking your weapons out for the hell of it (enemies need to be around for them to activate) you get so lost in the worlds that you don't even realize. Love it.
  8. PeterG.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    what can i say the best game to come to playstation 2 and i hope that there is sequel.
  9. CameronS.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Perfect voice acting, class worlds, amazing story. Only the slightly repetitive fighting lets the side down slightly. This game rocks. Whoever gave this game a zero really needs their head checking!!
  10. CoryO.
    Aug 23, 2003
    8
    This is one of the better games for PS2. However you get lost very easily, the graphics are great although the camera gets a bit annoying at times. But other than that its a great game, i just sugest that you should rent before you buy.
  11. FartingFury
    Jul 8, 2003
    7
    The story in this game is one of the best iv'e seen in a long while. The graphics are impressive for PS2, and both characters are very enjoyable. why, if the fighting wasn't horribly horribly repetitive, and i didnt get lost so often....this game would recieve a perfect 10!
  12. TonyJ.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    This Game Rocks!!! ... I Pity the foo that calls themself Shean L!
  13. Painkiller
    May 5, 2003
    10
    F..k the people who rated this game with a 0...
  14. ChristosT.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    I love it. It s beter than Devil may cry. And the graphics are very nice.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2003
    0
    It sucks.
  16. Nobody'sFool
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    I loved this game! Altho the fighting was a little lame but the storyline and everything was awesome.
  17. STUU.
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    Fighting is okay but if more time had been spent on developing this aspect of the game it would get 10 out 0f 10 from me!!! :)
  18. SheanL.
    Apr 12, 2003
    0
    Not only is the game boring, drone, uninspired,slow,tedious,confusing,worthless, but it is also not one i own. THANK GOD i didnt buy it due to the demo. it tries to be violent on the demo, puts you to sleep on the whole game. score: zero. rent it and see, actually. run if you see it. it is the WORST GAME ON PS2 EVER.
  19. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    Probably one of the most gorgeous games on the PS2. Lush visuals, great soundtrack, interesting and creatively designed characters, great voice acting. To be honest though, I did find some the handling a little clumsy at times, but this is really just a minor point as the game keeps you engrossed enough to not notice. A real shame that it wasn't longer. It isn't a short game but it is justProbably one of the most gorgeous games on the PS2. Lush visuals, great soundtrack, interesting and creatively designed characters, great voice acting. To be honest though, I did find some the handling a little clumsy at times, but this is really just a minor point as the game keeps you engrossed enough to not notice. A real shame that it wasn't longer. It isn't a short game but it is just so well designed and so excellently paced that you just crave more and more. Overall: One of my favorite games on the PS2 and I hope that someday a worthy sequel gets made. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. It's sad. It boggles the mind to think that this much time was spent on presentation and backstory when none of it resonates in the slightest.
  2. 60
    Looks good and plays well, though you have to accept that a tough puzzle or vague objective can bring your progress to a screeching halt at any moment.
  3. Other than a lack of truly finger-busting battles for die-hard action fans, long-winded cut scenes are Primal's only real concern. The rest of the experience, in all its brain-teasing, high-resolution glory, is a terrific combination of gothic underworld exploration and movie-quality scripting. [Mar 2003, p.46]