Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amidst the sands of ancient Persia, a young Prince unleashes a deadly evil. Embark on a harrowing quest to restore peace and the fabric of Time. Embody a legendary hero with gravity-defying acrobatics, ferocious fighting combos, and the ability to bend time to fulfill his bidding. Wield theAmidst the sands of ancient Persia, a young Prince unleashes a deadly evil. Embark on a harrowing quest to restore peace and the fabric of Time. Embody a legendary hero with gravity-defying acrobatics, ferocious fighting combos, and the ability to bend time to fulfill his bidding. Wield the power of the Sands of Time - a mythical force allowing the Prince to erase the past, behold the future, and freeze the present. You'll uncover the mysteries of a world never before explored in action-adventure gaming. Ancient Persia, mythical and deadly, holds a staggering array of landscapes and kingdoms to explore and conquer. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. One of my favorite games, ever...It's got story, it's got action, it's got amazing graphics and some of the best animation you'll see anywhere. [Dec 2003, p.166]
  2. Featuring some of the most elaborate and astonishing art work and animation the videogame industry has ever seen, POP definitively raises the bar on visual presentation. I have never seen more detailed and engaging art on the PlayStation 2.
  3. If you have a PS2 it is your duty to own this game. The amount of fun, stunning beauty, fantastic music and wonderful ambient noise all add up to one of, if not the, most stellar titles for the PS2 this year.
  4. Playing Sands of Time can't help but bring back memories of when games cut the crap and gave you simple games that stood out despite lo-fi graphics and painfully synthetic sound. At its heart is everything that made Prince of Persia '89 such a hot property.
  5. Everything, from the flawless animation and stunning visuals, to the addictive yet intuitive gameplay screams for this game to be labeled an instant classic.
  6. It is one of the finest 3D games ever produced; nay crafted. At last, this is the 'third place'... this truly is the third dimension. History has just been rewritten.
  7. games(TM)
    80
    Sands of Time is very much a 21st century product - sumptuous visuals, intuitive control and many unique ideas. Buy it, play it, love it. [Dec 2003, p.92]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. DragonKnight
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. A masterpiece, the graphics are simply amazing and are filled with visual beauty, the sound is amazing and immerses you This is a great game. A masterpiece, the graphics are simply amazing and are filled with visual beauty, the sound is amazing and immerses you into the Prince's world. The way they made the Prince is exactly how you'd picture him, if you played the original Prince of Persia, it's obvious to see he's not a muscle-bound warrior, he's an agile trickster. Which is exactly how they portrayed him and exactly how most of us have probably envisioned him in 3D. The story, while nothing special, is pretty good. The camera work is phenomenal it follows you perfectly and you never have a single problem with it, I love it when it changes to give you a more cinematic look while not disrupting gameplay in the least. The puzzles are amazing and require you to think, and I love games that make me think. The combat is this game's weakest aspect, it's not all that fun, you get bored with it pretty quickly. Though it's too small of a gripe to knock it down a point. Buy it, you will not be disappointed. Simply beautiful. Purely and simply beautiful. Expand
  2. KarlK.
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    Best game i ever played! Although it's quite short, it's still a whole lot of fun. After playing POP, i had developed this habbit Best game i ever played! Although it's quite short, it's still a whole lot of fun. After playing POP, i had developed this habbit of comparing it to new games i am currently playing. No new game has given me the same thrill & excitement that POP offers until now. Also, it has really amazing graphics(down to the details). For those who are planning to buy this game, go ahead, it's really worth your time and money! Expand
  3. PhilJ.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Game of the year... superb graphics, lucious controls, cool action...just a superb game!!
  4. AndrewS.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Easily the best game of the year and deserves all its praise the game is receiveing. Its my fav game of all time and should definitely be up Easily the best game of the year and deserves all its praise the game is receiveing. Its my fav game of all time and should definitely be up for game of the decade. Expand
  5. DeeFinn
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    1 point off for being too short, but probably the most playable game I've ever played. Fantastic.
  6. SAV
    Jul 27, 2015
    9
    Meraviglioso videogioco che, dopo anni di assenza dal mondo videoludico, ha fatto tornare in auge la celebre saga di Prince of Persia e l'haMeraviglioso videogioco che, dopo anni di assenza dal mondo videoludico, ha fatto tornare in auge la celebre saga di Prince of Persia e l'ha inoltre introdotta nel mondo delle tre dimensioni. Prince of Persia: Le Sabbie del Tempo è uno spettacolare action in cui, nei panni di un agilissimo Principe, ci ritroveremo ad affrontare un'entusiasmante avventura a base di acrobazie, combattimenti, enigmi e straordinarie fasi platform. Intriso di magiche atmosfere fiabesche in stile Le Mille e una Notte, Le Sabbie del Tempo è un vero gioiello videoludico che col suo gameplay semplice e coinvolgente ha influenzato molti videogiochi usciti successivamente. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Feb 12, 2006
    1
    Only good thing is great graphics. Long save point intervals, dozens of redos, button mashing, lack of stealth, unintuitive controls, fact Only good thing is great graphics. Long save point intervals, dozens of redos, button mashing, lack of stealth, unintuitive controls, fact that time reversal (cool concept if it were implemented correctly) restores you most of the time to when you have 1 health unit left, and confusing and tedious boss battles. Confusing is OK because it would mean challenging puzzles. When you add tedious to the mix, then there's nothing fun about it. (I'm referring to the Sand King battle specificially). Main character's voice acting is annoying to say the least. After paying 19.95 for this, I literally threw this game in the garbage. Believe me, I've never done that with a game before. Don't waste your money on crap like this. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003