Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amidst the sands of ancient Persia, a young Prince unleashes a deadly evil. Embark on a harrowing quest to restore peace and the fabric of Time. Embody a legendary hero with gravity-defying acrobatics, ferocious fighting combos, and the ability to bend time to fulfill his bidding. Wield theAmidst the sands of ancient Persia, a young Prince unleashes a deadly evil. Embark on a harrowing quest to restore peace and the fabric of Time. Embody a legendary hero with gravity-defying acrobatics, ferocious fighting combos, and the ability to bend time to fulfill his bidding. Wield the power of the Sands of Time - a mythical force allowing the Prince to erase the past, behold the future, and freeze the present. You'll uncover the mysteries of a world never before explored in action-adventure gaming. Ancient Persia, mythical and deadly, holds a staggering array of landscapes and kingdoms to explore and conquer. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Featuring some of the most elaborate and astonishing art work and animation the videogame industry has ever seen, POP definitively raises the bar on visual presentation. I have never seen more detailed and engaging art on the PlayStation 2.
  2. One of my favorite games, ever...It's got story, it's got action, it's got amazing graphics and some of the best animation you'll see anywhere. [Dec 2003, p.166]
  3. A game that I simply can not get enough of.
  4. Recommended wholeheartedly. It looks fantastic and features responsive controls, some original play mechanics, a good story, and plenty of thrilling adventure. In the simplest terms: Do not miss out on this game.
  5. It keeps reinventing itself anew throughout when it really should have run out of ideas and manages to successfully merge exciting combat with bracing platforming. It wouldn’t be far fetched to say that for the moment, it’s the staple of the genre.
  6. Sands of Time is very much a 21st century product - sumptuous visuals, intuitive control and many unique ideas. Buy it, play it, love it. [Dec 2003, p.92]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. DragonKnight
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. A masterpiece, the graphics are simply amazing and are filled with visual beauty, the sound is amazing and immerses you This is a great game. A masterpiece, the graphics are simply amazing and are filled with visual beauty, the sound is amazing and immerses you into the Prince's world. The way they made the Prince is exactly how you'd picture him, if you played the original Prince of Persia, it's obvious to see he's not a muscle-bound warrior, he's an agile trickster. Which is exactly how they portrayed him and exactly how most of us have probably envisioned him in 3D. The story, while nothing special, is pretty good. The camera work is phenomenal it follows you perfectly and you never have a single problem with it, I love it when it changes to give you a more cinematic look while not disrupting gameplay in the least. The puzzles are amazing and require you to think, and I love games that make me think. The combat is this game's weakest aspect, it's not all that fun, you get bored with it pretty quickly. Though it's too small of a gripe to knock it down a point. Buy it, you will not be disappointed. Simply beautiful. Purely and simply beautiful. Expand
  2. Rivk
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    It rocks! with practice mastering the moves are easy, the game however is not. It may seem that way to some people since you have the abilityIt rocks! with practice mastering the moves are easy, the game however is not. It may seem that way to some people since you have the ability to replay your losing sequences at the last checkpoint but this game has alot of little surprises and I truly love fighting with the prince. He's got some of the best new moves I've ever seen in a character. anyone who picks this game up is going to get hooked within 5 minutes! Expand
  3. Jordan
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    It's a "must play" game.
  4. DilainDeA.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    This is the coolest game i ever played! best graphics and it's easy to play too. i recently finished playing it but i'm going toThis is the coolest game i ever played! best graphics and it's easy to play too. i recently finished playing it but i'm going to play it again cuz it's so cool. and i think the prince is so hot. Expand
  5. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    9
    Spanish Comment: Excelente juego, buenas gráficas, buen sonido... un comentario de que es repetitivo puede ser cierto, pero el juego Spanish Comment: Excelente juego, buenas gráficas, buen sonido... un comentario de que es repetitivo puede ser cierto, pero el juego es excelente en todo aspecto. Recomendadísimo.... Expand
  6. RogerS.
    Sep 25, 2004
    9
    IS cool.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Feb 12, 2006
    1
    Only good thing is great graphics. Long save point intervals, dozens of redos, button mashing, lack of stealth, unintuitive controls, fact Only good thing is great graphics. Long save point intervals, dozens of redos, button mashing, lack of stealth, unintuitive controls, fact that time reversal (cool concept if it were implemented correctly) restores you most of the time to when you have 1 health unit left, and confusing and tedious boss battles. Confusing is OK because it would mean challenging puzzles. When you add tedious to the mix, then there's nothing fun about it. (I'm referring to the Sand King battle specificially). Main character's voice acting is annoying to say the least. After paying 19.95 for this, I literally threw this game in the garbage. Believe me, I've never done that with a game before. Don't waste your money on crap like this. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews