User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 93
  2. Negative: 7 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2015
    9
    I honestly don't get the hate this game had on release. YES it's completely different in atmosphere than the first, YES the prince character is darker. But that doesn't make it bad. If you want a sequel to the sands of time that's more like it, go play the two thrones. Because this game in my opinion is the best in the series, from the combat, to the atmosphere and art design, to theI honestly don't get the hate this game had on release. YES it's completely different in atmosphere than the first, YES the prince character is darker. But that doesn't make it bad. If you want a sequel to the sands of time that's more like it, go play the two thrones. Because this game in my opinion is the best in the series, from the combat, to the atmosphere and art design, to the amount of content, and music. If only people knew what the franchise would turn into, Assassin's Creed. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Despite being inferior to its predecessor when it comes to pacing and overall fun, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within offers many technical improvements and is a very good game.
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    This game has some very strong points, but at the same time some very weak points. The platforming in this game is far beyond even some of the current action-adventure games, the graphics for the game are pretty up-to-date, but unfortunately the combat is the part that's lacking. You can get through the game on hard mode by basically skipping 90% of the fights, using a couple exploitableThis game has some very strong points, but at the same time some very weak points. The platforming in this game is far beyond even some of the current action-adventure games, the graphics for the game are pretty up-to-date, but unfortunately the combat is the part that's lacking. You can get through the game on hard mode by basically skipping 90% of the fights, using a couple exploitable combos, or just mashing buttons and hope for the best. Unfortunately when I played my character had a tendency of running up a wall and jumping at my enemies, then falling off a cliff. I think the real issue is blocking. In the first PoP blocking couldn't be done without finishing the animation of a jump or slash, they pretty much did the same thing in this game. Blocking should completely cancel the attack like in all the other combo games. Another problem was the environment. I enjoyed the environments in the first game. You get the nice Arabian Palace theme with nice friendly colors. But instead you are in a darker palace with this dark beast chasing you down half the time while playing Godsmack. I llike Godsmack but I don't think it's good for a player friendly game... Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    What a great game! Very UNDERRATED, i dont know why some people hate it, its an AMAZING game, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like adventure/action games
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    AMAZING game! Very UNDERRATED, i dont know why some people hate it, I honestly think its a great game, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like adventure/action games
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    For me, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is a big let down, even though the fighting and platforming haven't been changed, it just isn't the same as The Sands of Time (which is one of my favourite games of all time). The main reason I didn't like Warrior Within was because of the darker tone, I also felt that the story line was poor. The backtracking also caused problems for me, at times IFor me, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is a big let down, even though the fighting and platforming haven't been changed, it just isn't the same as The Sands of Time (which is one of my favourite games of all time). The main reason I didn't like Warrior Within was because of the darker tone, I also felt that the story line was poor. The backtracking also caused problems for me, at times I had no idea where I was or where I was supposed to go which was very frustrating. So overall, for me, it was an unworthy sequel of the Sands of Time, I wanted to like it, but I just couldn't. I wouldn't recommend it, not even if you've played other Prince of Persia games and enjoyed them, this one is no where near as good as the other games in the series. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2011
    5
    This is nothing compared to the first game in the series and to be honest I'm not entirely sure how even Sands of Time was an unbridled masterpiece in many regards. It recycled puzzles, the combat was more than a chicken sandwich, and the environments were often fairly linear. What shined in the first game was the setting and its characters whom even I found myself enjoying throughoutThis is nothing compared to the first game in the series and to be honest I'm not entirely sure how even Sands of Time was an unbridled masterpiece in many regards. It recycled puzzles, the combat was more than a chicken sandwich, and the environments were often fairly linear. What shined in the first game was the setting and its characters whom even I found myself enjoying throughout its tale of "oh crap we've altered the time-line of everything ever" mentality. Then the series got all serious. Like it had grown to big for its baby booties and decided in needed to be darker, feature screamo music, and fill the screen with more female flesh than a Hooter's on a Friday night. The story line suffered its own self-contained wrath and to this day it makes absolutely no sense to me. Sure it explains itself, but its unnecessary and it wasted my time doing so. The combat improved, but other things were worse. In general it has very "God of War" feel to it. Not straight ripping it off, but generally borrowing ideas to make it seem fresher. They pretty much ruined the main character and the experience for me. Of course the 3rd game would ultimately cause me to forget about both the sequels over time. With the help of some remakes and some down right cash ins for no good reason- its fairly obvious that the best was the original Sands of Time. Expand
  8. SomeGuy
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    This game is garbage. Let me start by saying I didn't mind the darker style, I think it could have worked. However, the game itself was so poorly made that the team responsible should be sacked. Combat is boring- all the enemies have the same strengths/weaknesses and can be killed by the same moves. Even Sands of Time had deeper combat thanks to it's varied enemies! The movement This game is garbage. Let me start by saying I didn't mind the darker style, I think it could have worked. However, the game itself was so poorly made that the team responsible should be sacked. Combat is boring- all the enemies have the same strengths/weaknesses and can be killed by the same moves. Even Sands of Time had deeper combat thanks to it's varied enemies! The movement puzzles are awful and the fixed cameras always hide the thing you need to see. The stages are poorly designed- going through he same environments over and over again is repetitive and boring. There is hardly any story development until after you become the Wraith, so you spend most of the game walking around with nothing interesting happening. Also, having an alternate ending is dumb- it's a story-driven trilogy, so it needs to set up the next game with it's ending! Who wants to find all the life upgrades when the game is so dull and boring that you want to spend as little time playing it as possible? Basically, if you loved Sands of Time you'll hate this, not because of the style but because of the gameplay. I gave it a 2 for the excellent cut-scenes and voice acting. Expand
  9. AndrewN.
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    Because Sands Of Time didnt exactly fly off the shelves (shame), Ubisoft took the series in a new direction. While Warrior Within does improve on the previous game, it also loses much of the last games charm. While the basic nature of the platforming remains the same and while the graphics are amazing, you spend far too much time in combat. Giving that this was the weakest element of the Because Sands Of Time didnt exactly fly off the shelves (shame), Ubisoft took the series in a new direction. While Warrior Within does improve on the previous game, it also loses much of the last games charm. While the basic nature of the platforming remains the same and while the graphics are amazing, you spend far too much time in combat. Giving that this was the weakest element of the last game, its certainly questionable. While there are more combos, there isnt really much incentive to experiment because hack and slash will suffice. It retains the qualities of the previous game but it shoves everything that was likeable about the first game into the shadows. The soundtrack is awful, consisting of rubbish european rock music. Its still a very good game but it will disappoint anyone who played Sands Of Time. Expand
  10. Ryan
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    This shit deserves a 10. SOT may have been a "masterpeice" but WW deserves more credit than alot of you people give it. The hard rock DOES fit into the game well because, well, thats how the prince is at this point. Hes pissed off and determined. But when i bought it straight after playing SOT and then put WW in, i was instantly taken by it. It had evolved in so many ways. the wordsThis shit deserves a 10. SOT may have been a "masterpeice" but WW deserves more credit than alot of you people give it. The hard rock DOES fit into the game well because, well, thats how the prince is at this point. Hes pissed off and determined. But when i bought it straight after playing SOT and then put WW in, i was instantly taken by it. It had evolved in so many ways. the words bitch and bastard are used bcuz of what i justed said. Hes pissed and deteremined. Blood is necessary. I think it worked out just fine, cuz the sand people in WW are more human than the ones from SOT, so SOT is fine w.o the blood. But in SOT, i get tired of doing the same combo and hitting X square square, or X square tirangle, or the counter moves. Thats all it is basically. WW changed that and u have more options on what u want to do. But bcuz this game has like 5 bugs left, it gets a 9. That and the fact you have to backtrack throughout the island are the only reasons for nay-saying this game. My DAD even likes to watch the dudes get cut in half and decapitated. lol he cant get enuf of it. And i disagrree. Marilyn Manson is a sick fuck. And aboiut the tits. Cmon man. SOT...Farah had ginormous ones. The prince fucked her, even tho it wasnt shown and it was a dream, but he did. The female sandmonsters had biggies too. GTF over it. But yeah. Genius game. Nay-Sayers never prosper. Expand
  11. EricS.
    May 13, 2006
    8
    Darker and laden with hard rock, Prince of Persia Warrior Within isn't as aesthetically appealing as the fairytale atmosphere Sands of Time, with its bright fairy tale atmosphere. However, from a gameplay standpoint the former is superior in every way. The combat system is deeper, the controls are tighter and the acrobatic puzzles are better crafted. The game's difficulty may Darker and laden with hard rock, Prince of Persia Warrior Within isn't as aesthetically appealing as the fairytale atmosphere Sands of Time, with its bright fairy tale atmosphere. However, from a gameplay standpoint the former is superior in every way. The combat system is deeper, the controls are tighter and the acrobatic puzzles are better crafted. The game's difficulty may seem daunting at first, but once you get a handle on the new combat system it shouldn't be too much of a problem. If you are a fan of the POP series, or just looking for an above average action adventure experience, Warrior Within is the perfect choice. Expand
  12. DragonKnight
    Apr 27, 2006
    5
    Sands of Time, was a masterpiece. There's no other way to put it. If you haven't bought it yet, do yourself a favor and buy it. This sequel however, is well, not a masterpiece. It's just not all that great. Nearly every aspect of the game left me with either hatred or a feeling of, "meh". The hard guitar rock stuff, while I don't mind this genre of music, and I am a Sands of Time, was a masterpiece. There's no other way to put it. If you haven't bought it yet, do yourself a favor and buy it. This sequel however, is well, not a masterpiece. It's just not all that great. Nearly every aspect of the game left me with either hatred or a feeling of, "meh". The hard guitar rock stuff, while I don't mind this genre of music, and I am a bit of a fan. It just feels so out of place in this game, and in any games excluding sports it feels out of place. The graphics are amazing, the animations are fluid and everything looks spectacular. I don't like the over-the-top edginess and darkness they made with Warrior Within, such a drastic change from The Sands of Time. They ddin't do a good job with it either, it was quite annoying to me actually and the rock music is what completed the annoying dark tone. The story is boring at best and when the Prince falls in love, it's so silly and you have the feeling of, "You have to be kidding me. So silly.", overwhelmes you. The combat (where The Sands of Time fell a little short) is improved, it's a lot of fun for a good deal of the game but in the end it became monotonous and boring. I like that this game is quite difficult, I like challenging games, but this may frustrate some players. The puzzles required less brain usage than the previous installment, which is sad. Anyone who has played Sands of Time will be greatly disappointed in this game. If you haven't, well you may like this more than the other group since you're not comparing it to the near perfection of The Sands of Time, but that doesn't make it any more or less of a mediocre game. Rent it. Try it. See how you feel about it. Expand
  13. JohnL.
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    This game is absolutely beautiful. great graphics. great gameplay. great sound (also some of the music could get awfuly long and repetitive). great story (though i wish it was more narrated like in the Sands of Time). the only problems i had encountered were the lack of puzzles and some minor glitches, but besides those mere distractions the game played out great and its just plain fun! i This game is absolutely beautiful. great graphics. great gameplay. great sound (also some of the music could get awfuly long and repetitive). great story (though i wish it was more narrated like in the Sands of Time). the only problems i had encountered were the lack of puzzles and some minor glitches, but besides those mere distractions the game played out great and its just plain fun! i highly recommend PoP:WW. Expand
  14. OMGWTF
    Aug 3, 2005
    6
    Well... i know this game was released a while ago but i decided to wait for the demo and finally came. I tried last weekend and didn't liked it, at first sight controls seem not to respond accuratelly, the guitar thing is awfull and he seems to have a big head, i'm not sure but seems to me the prequel looks better, anyway i'm going to try the demo again but... i doubt will Well... i know this game was released a while ago but i decided to wait for the demo and finally came. I tried last weekend and didn't liked it, at first sight controls seem not to respond accuratelly, the guitar thing is awfull and he seems to have a big head, i'm not sure but seems to me the prequel looks better, anyway i'm going to try the demo again but... i doubt will make me get the full version (i hope i'm wrong). Expand
  15. GrahamK.M.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    Okay, this game is great. And I don't meant good. I mean great. This game is SO great that it's just great. I have only two other things to say. Number 1, to the dumbass who said that the camera angle is really poor: There is such a thing as a right analog stick, and it does do things like adjust the angle when you use it. If you're so incompetent that you CAN'T use Okay, this game is great. And I don't meant good. I mean great. This game is SO great that it's just great. I have only two other things to say. Number 1, to the dumbass who said that the camera angle is really poor: There is such a thing as a right analog stick, and it does do things like adjust the angle when you use it. If you're so incompetent that you CAN'T use it, then you don't even deserve to be playing this game. Number 2, for the reviewer who compared it to a Marilyn Manson music video... Well, I sort of have to agree. It was a struggle getting my parents to let me play this, and they still haven't actually seen the content. I'm going to have to be careful playing this when they're in the house. But, all things aside, the graphics, gameplay, sound and overall fun level are excellent! ROCK ON, UBISOFT! Expand
  16. THEMAN
    May 18, 2005
    10
    The best game of 2005.
  17. JakeT.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    I think the game is really good. The story line was excellent.
  18. NicoleM.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    This game was amazing. It followed the story, grafics were awesome, More weapons and moves, GREAT surprises. This game kept me on the egde of my seat, i couldn't stop playing. I do agree about the camera angle needing some work. I can't wait till the third one. 10/10
  19. DanielS.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    This game is great. They fixed alot of the problems that was in the first game like the little movie scene before and after a battle. The camera angle still needs some work though....
  20. JeffS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Compelling story, beautiful and varied graphical effects based on the level and situations add to the story, much improved battle elements, great ambience of impending dread, unbelievable level detail and amazing level design.... one of my top 5 favorite games now.
  21. RichardT.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    This game rocks it way better then the first prince of persia and now the prince of persia 3 its gonna come out for PS2.
  22. Akira
    Mar 3, 2005
    4
    The camera angle is really poor.
  23. Sam
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    A dark, gory and violent, but magnifecent sequel. The graphics are amazing (like the sands of time, but dirtier), the controls are gory moves are perfect for the game, and the plot, unlike most sequels, is an enourmous gap between the first and second, and a finley crafted gap too. There is a flaw, although it's overcome, but still mentioning is that the music is decent, but A dark, gory and violent, but magnifecent sequel. The graphics are amazing (like the sands of time, but dirtier), the controls are gory moves are perfect for the game, and the plot, unlike most sequels, is an enourmous gap between the first and second, and a finley crafted gap too. There is a flaw, although it's overcome, but still mentioning is that the music is decent, but doesn't fit the mood. Other than that, it's perfect. Expand
  24. AB
    Jan 11, 2005
    3
    Since this game's prequel was magnificent, I decided to buy this game. I bought it and took it back the same day. Sadly, I couldn't get all of my money back. This is one of the most miserable disappointments I've ever experienced. The first PoP was beautiful: The graphics and sound were amazing, the combat was wondrous. But then I play this game: rock music, senseless Since this game's prequel was magnificent, I decided to buy this game. I bought it and took it back the same day. Sadly, I couldn't get all of my money back. This is one of the most miserable disappointments I've ever experienced. The first PoP was beautiful: The graphics and sound were amazing, the combat was wondrous. But then I play this game: rock music, senseless violence, what the hell? Plus, the platforming is cheap and the character was ruined. I have no idea what Ubisoft must have been thinking to make something great into a mess like this. Apparently, they weren't thinking at all. Collapse
  25. BROCKM.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Best game of the year with san andreas, metal gear 3 snake eater and underground 2. It ranks up there with the best. I think even better then halo's 1&2.
  26. RalphH.
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    This game sucks the camera angles you cant see the player 1/2 the time.
  27. MaxK.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME you all gota be joking. Now that i have it. of course.
  28. ShalashaskaG.
    Dec 15, 2004
    7
    Hated the guitar sound from the beginning. the developer seemed to be watching too much lingerie shows evident in encounter with the woman wearing a filthy ugly clothes. it completely alienated me from the start of the game, on a ship with emphasis too much on combat, elements that draw me in on the first game completely fell apart with changes for the second one, similar to halo 2'sHated the guitar sound from the beginning. the developer seemed to be watching too much lingerie shows evident in encounter with the woman wearing a filthy ugly clothes. it completely alienated me from the start of the game, on a ship with emphasis too much on combat, elements that draw me in on the first game completely fell apart with changes for the second one, similar to halo 2's disappointment . dont change something that works...... Expand
  29. Ali
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    Incredible & outstanding game. Worth the wait and Money.
  30. MarcioE.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Together with Metal Gear 3 and Underground 2 the games of the year.
  31. KyleK.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    U kiddin me? this is awesome best game in it's genre. WICKED
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. 85
    Ubisoft took a gamble by taking the Prince to a dark place. I don't think it paid off as the sense of magic, seen even in the old 2D PC days, is barely present here. It wasn't the wrong decision to make for a darker story, but Ubisoft took it too far.
  2. The gameplay is visceral, fast, and fun, the graphics and sound are incredible, and the story is so well conceived and written that it'll keep you coming back for more.
  3. Exploring the labyrinthine citadel is rewarding, although backtracking and frequent deaths can be frustrating.