User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is an action-adventure video game and sequel to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time.

    + Fun Combat
    + Rewind Time
    + Dahaka
  2. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is an action-adventure video game and sequel to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time.

    + Fun Combat
    + Rewind Time
    + Dahaka
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    What a great game! Very UNDERRATED, i dont know why some people hate it, its an AMAZING game, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like adventure/action games
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    AMAZING game! Very UNDERRATED, i dont know why some people hate it, I honestly think its a great game, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like adventure/action games
  5. Mar 16, 2016
    9
    dsfadj;faljkadslkfjfdsalkjdfskjlfdskjlfdslkajfdsajlkjlkfdsakjlfdsajfdjlkfdsjlkfadslkj;fdsakjlfdsakjlfdajlkafdlkjkjlfdsakjlfdsajlk;fdsakjdfsajldfjlkfdajlk;fjlkdsa;jlkfadskj;lfdlksa
  6. Aug 16, 2016
    9
    This is not the critics favourite, since the sands of time for most of critics stands as one of the 20 best games of all time and though I love it too, I will stick with this one, thank you critics, but get your opinions for yourselves.

    Here is the thing. Technically this game is a mess, Warrior withing gave me so much headaches with it terrible bugs that I almost went crazy, and that
    This is not the critics favourite, since the sands of time for most of critics stands as one of the 20 best games of all time and though I love it too, I will stick with this one, thank you critics, but get your opinions for yourselves.

    Here is the thing. Technically this game is a mess, Warrior withing gave me so much headaches with it terrible bugs that I almost went crazy, and that alone is the only reason I don't give this game a 10. Bugs, bugs, bugs, bugs every fu@#$ing where...
    Corrupted save games, impossible to finish the games and had to restart all over again... God how this game was BUGGED.

    But then I love it... Warrior within sets a visceral and a darker prince with an incredible level design and smart gameplay mechanics with OUTSTANDING soundtrack and blowing mind plot. Literally!

    "One step closer prince, two steps back"... I finished this game 12 years ago and it keeps fresh in my head just like the first videogame I played in my life, Pitfall for Atari, it is one of those games will you never forget because it is epic... it is just epic.
    Expand
  7. SAV
    Jul 27, 2015
    8
    Secondo capitolo della trilogia delle Sabbie del Tempo, Prince of Persia: Spirito Guerriero è un gioco dai toni molto più scuri e cupi e dalle atmosfere molto meno fiabesche rispetto al suo magnifico predecessore, cosa che personalmente non ho gradito tantissimo. Sempre composto da ottime sezioni platform e da svariati enigmi, Spirito Guerriero presenta un maggior numero di combattimenti,Secondo capitolo della trilogia delle Sabbie del Tempo, Prince of Persia: Spirito Guerriero è un gioco dai toni molto più scuri e cupi e dalle atmosfere molto meno fiabesche rispetto al suo magnifico predecessore, cosa che personalmente non ho gradito tantissimo. Sempre composto da ottime sezioni platform e da svariati enigmi, Spirito Guerriero presenta un maggior numero di combattimenti, così tanti e così impegnativi da risultare spesso frustranti. Un ottimo gioco anche se nel complesso risulta un prodotto un po meno riuscito in confronto al meraviglioso primo capitolo della trilogia. Expand
  8. JohnL.
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    This game is absolutely beautiful. great graphics. great gameplay. great sound (also some of the music could get awfuly long and repetitive). great story (though i wish it was more narrated like in the Sands of Time). the only problems i had encountered were the lack of puzzles and some minor glitches, but besides those mere distractions the game played out great and its just plain fun! i This game is absolutely beautiful. great graphics. great gameplay. great sound (also some of the music could get awfuly long and repetitive). great story (though i wish it was more narrated like in the Sands of Time). the only problems i had encountered were the lack of puzzles and some minor glitches, but besides those mere distractions the game played out great and its just plain fun! i highly recommend PoP:WW. Expand
  9. BROCKM.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Best game of the year with san andreas, metal gear 3 snake eater and underground 2. It ranks up there with the best. I think even better then halo's 1&2.
  10. JeffS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Compelling story, beautiful and varied graphical effects based on the level and situations add to the story, much improved battle elements, great ambience of impending dread, unbelievable level detail and amazing level design.... one of my top 5 favorite games now.
  11. MaxK.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME you all gota be joking. Now that i have it. of course.
  12. Sam
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    A dark, gory and violent, but magnifecent sequel. The graphics are amazing (like the sands of time, but dirtier), the controls are gory moves are perfect for the game, and the plot, unlike most sequels, is an enourmous gap between the first and second, and a finley crafted gap too. There is a flaw, although it's overcome, but still mentioning is that the music is decent, but A dark, gory and violent, but magnifecent sequel. The graphics are amazing (like the sands of time, but dirtier), the controls are gory moves are perfect for the game, and the plot, unlike most sequels, is an enourmous gap between the first and second, and a finley crafted gap too. There is a flaw, although it's overcome, but still mentioning is that the music is decent, but doesn't fit the mood. Other than that, it's perfect. Expand
  13. RichardT.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    This game rocks it way better then the first prince of persia and now the prince of persia 3 its gonna come out for PS2.
  14. NicoleM.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    This game was amazing. It followed the story, grafics were awesome, More weapons and moves, GREAT surprises. This game kept me on the egde of my seat, i couldn't stop playing. I do agree about the camera angle needing some work. I can't wait till the third one. 10/10
  15. DanielS.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    This game is great. They fixed alot of the problems that was in the first game like the little movie scene before and after a battle. The camera angle still needs some work though....
  16. THEMAN
    May 18, 2005
    10
    The best game of 2005.
  17. EricS.
    May 13, 2006
    8
    Darker and laden with hard rock, Prince of Persia Warrior Within isn't as aesthetically appealing as the fairytale atmosphere Sands of Time, with its bright fairy tale atmosphere. However, from a gameplay standpoint the former is superior in every way. The combat system is deeper, the controls are tighter and the acrobatic puzzles are better crafted. The game's difficulty may Darker and laden with hard rock, Prince of Persia Warrior Within isn't as aesthetically appealing as the fairytale atmosphere Sands of Time, with its bright fairy tale atmosphere. However, from a gameplay standpoint the former is superior in every way. The combat system is deeper, the controls are tighter and the acrobatic puzzles are better crafted. The game's difficulty may seem daunting at first, but once you get a handle on the new combat system it shouldn't be too much of a problem. If you are a fan of the POP series, or just looking for an above average action adventure experience, Warrior Within is the perfect choice. Expand
  18. Ryan
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    This shit deserves a 10. SOT may have been a "masterpeice" but WW deserves more credit than alot of you people give it. The hard rock DOES fit into the game well because, well, thats how the prince is at this point. Hes pissed off and determined. But when i bought it straight after playing SOT and then put WW in, i was instantly taken by it. It had evolved in so many ways. the wordsThis shit deserves a 10. SOT may have been a "masterpeice" but WW deserves more credit than alot of you people give it. The hard rock DOES fit into the game well because, well, thats how the prince is at this point. Hes pissed off and determined. But when i bought it straight after playing SOT and then put WW in, i was instantly taken by it. It had evolved in so many ways. the words bitch and bastard are used bcuz of what i justed said. Hes pissed and deteremined. Blood is necessary. I think it worked out just fine, cuz the sand people in WW are more human than the ones from SOT, so SOT is fine w.o the blood. But in SOT, i get tired of doing the same combo and hitting X square square, or X square tirangle, or the counter moves. Thats all it is basically. WW changed that and u have more options on what u want to do. But bcuz this game has like 5 bugs left, it gets a 9. That and the fact you have to backtrack throughout the island are the only reasons for nay-saying this game. My DAD even likes to watch the dudes get cut in half and decapitated. lol he cant get enuf of it. And i disagrree. Marilyn Manson is a sick fuck. And aboiut the tits. Cmon man. SOT...Farah had ginormous ones. The prince fucked her, even tho it wasnt shown and it was a dream, but he did. The female sandmonsters had biggies too. GTF over it. But yeah. Genius game. Nay-Sayers never prosper. Expand
  19. KyleK.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    U kiddin me? this is awesome best game in it's genre. WICKED
  20. MarcioE.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Together with Metal Gear 3 and Underground 2 the games of the year.
  21. Ali
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    Incredible & outstanding game. Worth the wait and Money.
  22. JakeT.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    I think the game is really good. The story line was excellent.
  23. GrahamK.M.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    Okay, this game is great. And I don't meant good. I mean great. This game is SO great that it's just great. I have only two other things to say. Number 1, to the dumbass who said that the camera angle is really poor: There is such a thing as a right analog stick, and it does do things like adjust the angle when you use it. If you're so incompetent that you CAN'T use Okay, this game is great. And I don't meant good. I mean great. This game is SO great that it's just great. I have only two other things to say. Number 1, to the dumbass who said that the camera angle is really poor: There is such a thing as a right analog stick, and it does do things like adjust the angle when you use it. If you're so incompetent that you CAN'T use it, then you don't even deserve to be playing this game. Number 2, for the reviewer who compared it to a Marilyn Manson music video... Well, I sort of have to agree. It was a struggle getting my parents to let me play this, and they still haven't actually seen the content. I'm going to have to be careful playing this when they're in the house. But, all things aside, the graphics, gameplay, sound and overall fun level are excellent! ROCK ON, UBISOFT! Expand
  24. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    This game is better then both of it's predecessor and successor. Story,game play,style,sound everything is top notch. It also has a great antagonist named Dahaka, who you'll love to hate.

Awards & Rankings

29
19
#19 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
52
#52 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. 85
    Ubisoft took a gamble by taking the Prince to a dark place. I don't think it paid off as the sense of magic, seen even in the old 2D PC days, is barely present here. It wasn't the wrong decision to make for a darker story, but Ubisoft took it too far.
  2. The gameplay is visceral, fast, and fun, the graphics and sound are incredible, and the story is so well conceived and written that it'll keep you coming back for more.
  3. Exploring the labyrinthine citadel is rewarding, although backtracking and frequent deaths can be frustrating.