Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 PlayStation 2

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkP.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Not too dissimilar to PES6 - at first glance it's identical. However, when you play it, you'll notice the subtle changes and realise that the majority of things that originally annoyed you about PES6 (that you've by now forgotten about) are now fixed. The keepers still drop lots of shots, the licencing is still appalling (Option Files fix that though) and the menu/music Not too dissimilar to PES6 - at first glance it's identical. However, when you play it, you'll notice the subtle changes and realise that the majority of things that originally annoyed you about PES6 (that you've by now forgotten about) are now fixed. The keepers still drop lots of shots, the licencing is still appalling (Option Files fix that though) and the menu/music still grates, but this is definitely the best football game on the PS2 and it's certainly better than the XBOX 360 version. Collapse
  2. robertmac
    Apr 5, 2008
    7
    I had to stop playing just now to write this. My goalie just went out to block a shot on the edge of the box, and then when the ball rebounded he just stood there and watched as the other teams striker kicked the ball into an empty net. The game is now more challenging than 2007 because computer cheats in different ways. My list of stupid moves the new "AI" does grows everytime I play it.I had to stop playing just now to write this. My goalie just went out to block a shot on the edge of the box, and then when the ball rebounded he just stood there and watched as the other teams striker kicked the ball into an empty net. The game is now more challenging than 2007 because computer cheats in different ways. My list of stupid moves the new "AI" does grows everytime I play it. It is frustrating to have to have superstar players just to be able to smart decisions. Expand
  3. ApocalypseB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    Its a strange one to review properly, as off line its superb while online is the worst I have ever seen it! Firstly the game itself is a huge improvement on PE6. From the seemingly unfair nature of certain skillful players can collect possession, even though an inferior player is much closer to the ball, has thankfully gone in his one. So has the annoying floaty ball and hesitancy of Its a strange one to review properly, as off line its superb while online is the worst I have ever seen it! Firstly the game itself is a huge improvement on PE6. From the seemingly unfair nature of certain skillful players can collect possession, even though an inferior player is much closer to the ball, has thankfully gone in his one. So has the annoying floaty ball and hesitancy of defenders/attackers alike to react to certain situations. But the keepers are getting much worse, and you will be very frustrated when all your hard work is undone by a keeper howler! But with improved A.I. and more equal ball control, this urinates all over Fifa08. But where Fifa08 excels over this is the online mode. Basically it is a mess! Games are more like zero gravity space wars, the server is seriously messed up on this one. Its a real shame that the very option that pushed the series into orbit, is reentering the atmosphere at uncontrollable speed. So as always it is better to go round your mates and play it there, as online is very dodgy at present. Expand
  4. JohnT.
    Dec 20, 2007
    6
    Ever since pro evo 3 this franchise has been going backwards the pes3 version is crap while the ps2 offline mode makes this game ok. The graphics are great as usual but the keepers are crap and the better players somehow always gain possession even if a weaker players is closer has left this year but the A.I always seem to score freakish goals from 30 yards. This is a first because the Ever since pro evo 3 this franchise has been going backwards the pes3 version is crap while the ps2 offline mode makes this game ok. The graphics are great as usual but the keepers are crap and the better players somehow always gain possession even if a weaker players is closer has left this year but the A.I always seem to score freakish goals from 30 yards. This is a first because the FIFA franchise this year have finally created a game thats better than pro evo soley because they have a superb online system the rest of the game is equal. Expand
  5. MatthewS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    A good game yes, but not as good as PES 6, and not different enough to warrant purchase if you already own PES 6. More like PES 6.5.
  6. Sep 26, 2015
    8
    PES has always been a very solid football game on the PS2. I prefer it more than the FIFA series because of the better gameplay.

    The problem however with both series is that every game they bring almost the same game, with a few little tweaks and an updated roster. I have PES 2 and it plays very much the same as PES 2008, the graphics are even smoother and less blocky. The menus and
    PES has always been a very solid football game on the PS2. I prefer it more than the FIFA series because of the better gameplay.

    The problem however with both series is that every game they bring almost the same game, with a few little tweaks and an updated roster. I have PES 2 and it plays very much the same as PES 2008, the graphics are even smoother and less blocky.

    The menus and music in PES 2008 suck as usual. The commentary is not good but passable. There are several camera positions to chose from but in my opinion only the far side view is good. The far vertical view is also good (a bit too close though) but they made the mistake of putting the camera on the wrong side of the field in the second half of the match.

    The AI of your players is not very smart, the defenders don't seem to attack the enemy and leave most of the work up to you. And when will they develop a football game in which a missed pass from your player will just go to some random place on the field instead of directly in the feet of an enemy player?

    But as I said the gameplay in PES 2008 is better than in any other football game on the PS2 and for me that's the most important. PES 2008 gets 8 out of 10 from me.
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2015
    7
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 es un juego que significa mucho para mí, debido que fue el primero que tuve de la saga Pro . Es un juego con el disfruté mucho tiempo y en su época me pareció bueno . Correcto juego sin mas
  8. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The PlayStation 2 version of Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 is the most fully-featured version of the game, but it still suffers from a broken online mode.
  2. It's still an excellent football game that is perfect for newcomers to the series, but just don't expect it to be all that different to PES 6.
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A typically solid performance from Seabass. [Dec 2007, p.82]