Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 PlayStation 2

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2008 features a brand new intelligence system, called Teamvision, that adapts and reacts to players own gameplay styles to ensure that the computer controlled opponents are always challenging and forcing the player to think and chance their style of play to avoid being out-thought by thePES 2008 features a brand new intelligence system, called Teamvision, that adapts and reacts to players own gameplay styles to ensure that the computer controlled opponents are always challenging and forcing the player to think and chance their style of play to avoid being out-thought by the game. It learns counter attacks that target your weaknesses and look to exploit any repetitive tactics players use. Defenders react better to danger, closing down the ball and charging at shots and the goalkeepers hold shots that are closer to them as well. Teammates make more intelligent runs into space and the close control has been sharpened to ensure quick and fluid passing and speedy attacks can be built. The next gen versions also feature extensive edit modes so players can completely customise their PES 2008 experience. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Games Master UK
    92
    Another quality run-out for PES on PS2 but it is only a shade better than "FIFA 08." [Christmas 2007, p.68]
  2. AceGamez
    90
    Konami have done a great job of making Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 on the PS2 a game that stands firm against the competition of its next-generation versions, and indeed is a cut above the rest in certain respects like the number of stadiums on offer.
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A typically solid performance from Seabass. [Dec 2007, p.82]
  4. 80
    Compared to the HD versions, this PS2 game has significantly better features, such as great cross-compatibility with the handheld version.
  5. Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 looks more like an update than a truly new game. The flaws from previous years are quickly becoming blatant, and still they manage to fade away after a few hours of truly satisfying play.
  6. PSM3 Magazine UK
    78
    Still class, but more or less the same as last year. [Jan 2008, p.79]
  7. Play UK
    75
    The formula here has already been pillaged, but it's not as suicidal as the PS3 version. [Issue#160, p.98]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido eEste jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma Expand
  2. ApocalypseB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    Its a strange one to review properly, as off line its superb while online is the worst I have ever seen it! Firstly the game itself is a huge Its a strange one to review properly, as off line its superb while online is the worst I have ever seen it! Firstly the game itself is a huge improvement on PE6. From the seemingly unfair nature of certain skillful players can collect possession, even though an inferior player is much closer to the ball, has thankfully gone in his one. So has the annoying floaty ball and hesitancy of defenders/attackers alike to react to certain situations. But the keepers are getting much worse, and you will be very frustrated when all your hard work is undone by a keeper howler! But with improved A.I. and more equal ball control, this urinates all over Fifa08. But where Fifa08 excels over this is the online mode. Basically it is a mess! Games are more like zero gravity space wars, the server is seriously messed up on this one. Its a real shame that the very option that pushed the series into orbit, is reentering the atmosphere at uncontrollable speed. So as always it is better to go round your mates and play it there, as online is very dodgy at present. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2015
    8
    PES has always been a very solid football game on the PS2. I prefer it more than the FIFA series because of the better gameplay.

    The
    PES has always been a very solid football game on the PS2. I prefer it more than the FIFA series because of the better gameplay.

    The problem however with both series is that every game they bring almost the same game, with a few little tweaks and an updated roster. I have PES 2 and it plays very much the same as PES 2008, the graphics are even smoother and less blocky.

    The menus and music in PES 2008 suck as usual. The commentary is not good but passable. There are several camera positions to chose from but in my opinion only the far side view is good. The far vertical view is also good (a bit too close though) but they made the mistake of putting the camera on the wrong side of the field in the second half of the match.

    The AI of your players is not very smart, the defenders don't seem to attack the enemy and leave most of the work up to you. And when will they develop a football game in which a missed pass from your player will just go to some random place on the field instead of directly in the feet of an enemy player?

    But as I said the gameplay in PES 2008 is better than in any other football game on the PS2 and for me that's the most important. PES 2008 gets 8 out of 10 from me.
    Expand
  4. robertmac
    Apr 5, 2008
    7
    I had to stop playing just now to write this. My goalie just went out to block a shot on the edge of the box, and then when the ball reboundedI had to stop playing just now to write this. My goalie just went out to block a shot on the edge of the box, and then when the ball rebounded he just stood there and watched as the other teams striker kicked the ball into an empty net. The game is now more challenging than 2007 because computer cheats in different ways. My list of stupid moves the new "AI" does grows everytime I play it. It is frustrating to have to have superstar players just to be able to smart decisions. Collapse
  5. Oct 4, 2015
    7
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 es un juego que significa mucho para mí, debido que fue el primero que tuve de la saga Pro . Es un juego con elPro Evolution Soccer 2008 es un juego que significa mucho para mí, debido que fue el primero que tuve de la saga Pro . Es un juego con el disfruté mucho tiempo y en su época me pareció bueno . Correcto juego sin mas Expand
  6. MatthewS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    A good game yes, but not as good as PES 6, and not different enough to warrant purchase if you already own PES 6. More like PES 6.5.
  7. JohnT.
    Dec 20, 2007
    6
    Ever since pro evo 3 this franchise has been going backwards the pes3 version is crap while the ps2 offline mode makes this game ok. The Ever since pro evo 3 this franchise has been going backwards the pes3 version is crap while the ps2 offline mode makes this game ok. The graphics are great as usual but the keepers are crap and the better players somehow always gain possession even if a weaker players is closer has left this year but the A.I always seem to score freakish goals from 30 yards. This is a first because the FIFA franchise this year have finally created a game thats better than pro evo soley because they have a superb online system the rest of the game is equal. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008