Radiata Stories PlayStation 2

Radiata Stories Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest fantasy RPG by tri-Ace, developers of "Valkyrie Profile" and the "Star Ocean" series. An emotional story about the conflict between humans and fairy creatures is complemented by a new gameplay system that draws the player deep into the game. The kingdom of Radiata lies in a worldThe latest fantasy RPG by tri-Ace, developers of "Valkyrie Profile" and the "Star Ocean" series. An emotional story about the conflict between humans and fairy creatures is complemented by a new gameplay system that draws the player deep into the game. The kingdom of Radiata lies in a world where humans and fairy creatures coexist. It is here that the protagonists, Jack and Ridley, meet for the first time. While Jack seeks to become a knight, Ridley must accept her fate in becoming one. Destinies are realized when a war erupts between the humans and the fairy creatures and threatens to end the world of Radiata. The popular traditional real-time battle system known for its straightforward controls and extravagant presentation has a new element. By forming a "link" attack, the player can execute combos and other moves with all party members joining as one. There are over 150 characters that Jack can recruit throughout his adventure. It is up to the player whether they journey alone or seek out others to journey with. Every playable character is beneficial in some way. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Game Informer
    93
    It's this mixture of personality and content that earns Radiata Stories a place among Square Enix's greatest adventures, and certainly the best straight-up RPG so far this year. [Oct 2005, p.132]
  2. What the game does offer instead is a cute fantasy with intriguing twists (even if you have to sift through the crazy nonsense to get there), and a butt load of characters that can be yours if you seriously want to endure the exerting challenge of grabbing as many of them as you possibly can.
  3. 80
    Radiata Stories has its share of hilarious moments and never takes itself too seriously, inspiring a perverse sort of curiosity as to what the characters will get themselves into next.
  4. Unfortunately, the game takes way too long to come together. The result is slightly reminiscent of "Fable" and "Suikoden"--and too disjointed.
  5. Fortunately the world in Radiata Stories is vast, with lots of quests and people to find. It's also gorgeous in it's own artistic way and complex with a fully integrated time system.
  6. games(TM)
    70
    It's hardly a stunning RPG or an essential purchase but Radiata Stories is a charming, entertaining and compelling adventure, nonetheless. [Dec 2005, p.104]
  7. Square-Enix manages to spin a good yarn and populate an interesting world full of fantastic characters, but a plethora of inexcusable design decisions threaten to unravel everything. Despite its promise, some serious growing pains prevent this adolescent from truly coming of age.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Ecc
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    This is a very good game.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This is the most pure and honest fun I have ever had with a game since the early days of Pokemon. The world is so rich and the characters areThis is the most pure and honest fun I have ever had with a game since the early days of Pokemon. The world is so rich and the characters are all interesting and different, and pretty much ALL recruit-able. I have 3 complaints - The beginning is kinda slow, there are some occasional glitches, and finally I just wanted this game to be longer so I could enjoy the world more. 2/3 of these complaints would be fixed in a good sequel, and the first one just takes some patience to reach to the amazingness of this underrated title. If you are tired of every game taking its-self way to seriously and just want to play a game centered around enjoying yourself in every possible way, you have no reason not to puck this up. Expand
  3. StaticN.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I cannot remember the last time I have been so immeresed in a game. The ability to pick a fight with almost anyone in addition to the nature I cannot remember the last time I have been so immeresed in a game. The ability to pick a fight with almost anyone in addition to the nature of the dialog and the feeling that you have truely entered into a different world makes this game one of the best examples of how something that could have been typical turned out to be something that is great. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    I love this game, I need say nothing more. It is by far one of the greatest video games that I have played ever. I am not saying it is perfectI love this game, I need say nothing more. It is by far one of the greatest video games that I have played ever. I am not saying it is perfect by any means, but it stands out and says "Look at me **** and that is something I respect. The first thing I love it the sheer level of love that was put into this. I can literally just imagine the makers sitting at their desks and saying "Hey how about he pour our very souls into a game?" and this is that. I imagine I sound insane at this point but I honestly do not care what so ever. Sure the combat is a bit bland in a few ways, it lacks powers that you can personally use in the fights and although you can use commands to fix that it is a bit awkward since you have to pause and go through a list each time you do. I also admit that it is not overly well animated, but that is only if you go and compare the tech we have now to it, which only a twit would actually do when judging. The characters are unique and vast in numbers, and it makes you feel like you are just another character, not better than anyone, but along side them. It makes you feel like your character is part of something rather than leading the charge. You nearly never walk around and see a person without a name in the game, if a person is in the street that are a unique and specifically made part in the world, the exception to this being the castle I suppose. I also love the branching in it, not only being unique but also vastly altering in how things play out, though I prefer the human story line in all honesty. Overall I would put this game in my top ten favorites, being in it's own way deserving to become a classic, even if such is doubtful. Expand
  5. DanielN
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why most reviewers dave this game low reviews. It starts off slow, but really catches on later in the game. It is I don't understand why most reviewers dave this game low reviews. It starts off slow, but really catches on later in the game. It is very long, but then most RPGs are. After all, the ability to have over 170 possible teamates at your disposal is something to be at awe at, especially since no character is the same in abilities. One part of the game that really catches on is the link ability. This ability will allow your allies to take on different formations with different effects that get even better during the duration of the game. That is why I give this game a 10, since most reviewers have little patience for games. Collapse
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Radiata Stories is a game made by Tri-Ace (the same people who made Star Ocean, Infinite Undiscovery, and Valkyrie Profile) that takes placeRadiata Stories is a game made by Tri-Ace (the same people who made Star Ocean, Infinite Undiscovery, and Valkyrie Profile) that takes place in a land called Tottaus. The kingdom of Radiata rules just about every corner of this land and everybody is just so freaking happy all the time. Classic! That was my first impression... until I saw the opening cinematic. That scene alone made my jaw drop! It shows a story book opening up (like a Disney movie or something) and the pages flip through a bit and stop on one picture: a two headed Water Dragon towering over a lone knight named Sir Cairn Russel. Then with the turn of the next page comes the Dragon itself staring you right in the face with all four of its eyes as it breathes mist out its mouths. Then, the music begins to build up into a more suitable rhythm. It turns from a calm melody to a "fight to the death" kind of sound. Cairn is seen breathing heavily trying to catch his breath as he readies to attack the Dragon. You can see the fog forming under his nose and mouth. And as Cairn finally stands up and takes his sword, he stands ready. The Dragon then breathes in and fires a storm of razor icicles, but these are no match for Cairn, for he takes one wide-arcing swing of his sword and everything turns to mist. By this point you realize Cairn isn't messing around. His eyes glow crimson red, filled with determination and his brow furrowed with fearlessness and concentration. A gleam in his eye, Cairn rushes the Dragon and leaps into the air ready to strike a deathblow! The Dragon spews frigid ice from its right head at the ground right before Cairn leaps and spews a vortex of frost and freezing water from the left head directly at the knight. Cairn musters all of his power to pierce through the vortex and penetrate the Dragon's skull. He successfully slays the Dragon and the cutscene ends.

    Pretty epic opening, but this game isn't just about looking good. It also has some humorous moments as well. Sixteen years after the events from the cinematic the player is shown a little house with two of Cairn's children. His daughter Adele is awake and ready to start her day and she looks at her father's portrait as he is seen standing next to a short and stout red haired man presumed to be a close friend. She whispers "The day has come for Jack to become a Knight and follow in your footsteps." Makes Jack sound like an awesome guy, right? Not even close. In comes Jack with a slouched posture, messy hair, backwards pajamas, eyes half open, and a somewhat careless attitude. His first question is "Hey, Sis. When's breakfast?" Apparently he forgot that today was really important. Adele proceeds to smack Jack and reminds him that today is the day he becomes a Knight. So they begin sparring for a bit and after that Adele gives Jack his father's sword, The Arbitrator. Now Jack is officially off to become a Knight just like Cairn.

    Almost anyone you talk to in this game, human or non-human, is recruitable as a party member. The grand total of people you can have is 177! That's the most I've seen in any game! Even Chrono Cross can't top that. Now the only person you can upgrade with weapons and armor is Jack, but you can see these party members can hold their own in a fight. Recruiting these people isn't that easy. Some you can just talk to and they just hop right in. Other may require you to fight them, pay them, catch them doing something secret, or some of the best party members, like Elwen, require you to recruit tons of other people before they will join you.

    Battles in this game are like your normal RPGs that let characters move around as opposed to standing there playing "swap licks" with each other. You can attack with combos, block, counter, charge, and even command other party members to attack a specific enemy or use a healing item or even support someone in need of help. The AI used for these members are phenomenal! They never do anything stupid to the player such as run away when they are critically needed. My favorite part of the battles is Linking. You take your entire four person party and make a formation and attack in this formation. Some help for surrounding the enemy, others help keep the party alive, and some are just insanely powerful! Attack Link, I just run in and attack one enemy with a swing of a weapon and the other three rush in and hit as hard as they can! Nothing stands in your way with the right Link.

    Sadly, this only exists on the PS2 and I have never seen nor heard of any other ports for it. As for negative remarks, I can only think of a few problems with the plot. Exactly who is Elwen? What were the Fairy Wars? Which ending is the true ending? This game really deserves a sequel (or possibly a prequel) to help explain all of this.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2017
    4
    I should probably finish the game but was horrified by the action sound effects to really get into it. Instead, I moved on to the Star OceanI should probably finish the game but was horrified by the action sound effects to really get into it. Instead, I moved on to the Star Ocean series which oddly is by the same company and way more legit. If there's anything going for this game, it's the story. Everything else seemed kinda lame Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

77
46
#46 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
35
#35 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005