Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 94
    Throughout its core fabric, Going Commando is improved in every way. If I had to pick just one platformer this year -- and that's a tough call, considering the incredible game that "Jak II" is -- it would be this one.
  2. As great a game as Ratchet & Clank was, but, considering that Going Commando is largely the same as the original, at times it feels like more of a mission pack than an entirely new game.
  3. Prolongs the extreme pleasure of the first game while introducing enough off-the-wall additions to consistently surprise you.
  4. One of the few PS2 games that ventures into Xbox territory. In looks, sounds, animation, story and depth, this game has it all.
  5. Hits the ground running and blazes a trail of brilliance through innovative weapon play, edge-of-your-seat challenges, jaw-dropping visuals, and a quest thta is roughly 150 percent larger than before. [Dec 2003, p.118]
  6. 85
    To my surprise, Insomniac was able to add just enough tweaks and twists to last year's formula to turn a somewhat generic-feeling character action game into something that actually holds my attention...Not the ultimate platformer, but it's definitely the best one coming out this holiday.
  7. Although it could be accused of taking a while to get going, Ratchet & Clank 2 leaves an indelible impression as a platformer full of variety and, above all else, options.
  8. 90
    A magnificent example of fine-tuning, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando sculpts the successes of the first one to near-perfection...but too many similarities to the original make it all seem just a teensy bit stale.
  9. Despite the flagging pace towards the end, the presentation, engine and gameplay in Going Commando is tight as a drum, and Insomniac should be congratulated on a damn good game.
  10. Improves on nearly every facet of the original. I consistently enjoyed it, even in those frustrating moments up against entire gauntlets of robots or some enormous boss, and the RPG elements kept me coming back for more.
  11. 90
    Everything that "Ratchet & Clank" did, Going Commando does better, and the tweaks and additions just push it further over the top.
  12. There's a lot to do here. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando is perched weirdly on the boundary between 3D platformer and third-person shooter; it's not entirely comfortable, but it's still a lot of fun.
  13. 100
    There's not a single thing wrong with this game. The diligence and creativity that have gone into it should be carefully scrutinized by anyone thinking of working on a similar project. Do yourself a favor and play it.
  14. Ratchet & Clank 2 shows all the signs of a game that's been focus tested to death; at no point will you have to repeat a section more than three times. It's a frustration free journey but sometimes feels anodyne. [Dec 2003, p.97]
  15. The key word here is definitely 'more'; more weapons, more gadgets, more planets and plenty more instances where the platform-based exploration takes a back seat in favour of what can only be described as mini-games that try desperately to integrate themselves into the rest of the game. [Dec 2003, p.117]
  16. A wonderfully entertaining adventure -- one of those rare treats that rises above what we've come to expect in a typical video game, of any genre, surprising us with bursts of originality and engaging us with classic sensibilities worked with such skill that we forget we're playing a game, fully immersed in the conflict of its world. [Nov 2003, p.76]
  17. The level design is brilliant, the weapons combat is a freakin' blast, the subtle tweaks really do change everything, and the characters are more appealing than the last go-round. [Dec 2003, p.218]
  18. The whole game is so imaginative, hilarious and exciting, that it makes Mario (the very pioneer of this genre) and his talking hose seem incredibly flaccid my comparison.
  19. Has it where it counts - fast action and plenty of it. Highly polished and loads of fun, if you want an example of platforming paradise, Insomniac has delivered.
  20. It isn't as frustrating as "Jak II" and Insomniac Games simply took the old game and made it better with more enhancements. This game is also the far more hilarious of the two with the funny cutscenes and all.
  21. The best platform game available on the PS2.
  22. Despite being a fun, polished and highly stylised game, Ratchet & Clank 2 feels like it's playing catch-up in a crowded genre, a feeling made all the more real considering its running on a year old graphics engine.
  23. One of those really rare sequels - one that actually lives up to the spirit of the original while improving on it in subtle ways.
  24. Without question, Ratchet & Clank 2: Locked and Loaded surpasses "Mario Sunshine" as the best 'platform genre-specific' offering of the current generation.
  25. The biggest improvement - the RPG-style character growth - really and truly changes everything. I kid you not. Replaying a section isnow a reward unto itself, since you gain experience for every enemy you kill... Man, I really love this game. [Dec 2003, p.154]
  26. May not have changed a lot since last year, however the small changes to a more predominant focus on combat results in an immediately enjoyable title that’s hard to resist.
  27. Highly polished and easy to control, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando is a great choice for the adrenaline junkie... For fun characters and pure action, Going Commando is it. [Dec 2003, p.68]
  28. With larger levels, RPG elements, and all around improved gameplay there will be few platform games that will perform at this level.
  29. Once you start this one you'll have a hard time putting it down - I found myself playing longer just to see the next weapon upgrade I'd get - it's like Christmas all over again!
  30. The controls, the learning curve, the difficulty, and the story all make this game possible to be enjoyed by gamers of almost any age without feeling overwhelmed or underwhelmed. I seriously can't say enough good things about this game.
  31. While Ratchet is less of a whiny little catbitchthing, the same sense of humor that the first game possessed permeates everything about the sequel, keeping it light despite more dire circumstances.
  32. Oozes the same rare quality of its predecessor, and every element of the game is superbly executed. [PSM2]
  33. Upgrades to every key area of the gameplay design resulting in a near-flawless title. A real showpiece and a stellar example of what the PS2 is capable of in the hands of talented developers.
  34. 92
    While it does feel a bit more like an expansion pack than a full sequel, the original was so good that just more missions and cooler weapons with a few incremental improvements is more than enough to make Going Commando a blast to play.
  35. With the underlying mechanics perfected, Commando gets down to the business at hand and provides a Godzilla-sized block of fun. [Dec 2003, p.72]
  36. 95
    Even though the game seems to lack much in the way of innovation, it makes up for it by giving players more of what they want… bigger levels, wicked weaponry and more badass enemies to slaughter. They’ve also tweaked the controls and upgraded the overall look of the game.
  37. Racing, gliding, flying, grinding, spaceship battles, mining, collecting, space battles, arena fights, clashing mechs and little bots at your command – should be enough to keep you entertained for some time.
  38. Surpasses the original game on nearly all levels.
  39. 93
    I don’t think you have to be into platformer’s to enjoy this game which shows how much depth it offers - liked the first one? You’ll love the second!
  40. 100
    The ability to level up the hero and his weapons, RPG style, is a brilliant addition to the franchise's gameplay. [Dec 2003, p.51]
  41. 100
    From a graphical perspective, Insomniac continues to amaze me with their vibrant worlds that just explode with color.
  42. Ratchet and Clank 2 has taken every aspect of its predecessor and given it a firm kick up the behind. All the worlds, colours, polygons and details have been increased for our pleasure.
  43. When you throw in the graphics, the jokes and the ever-changing landscapes, you're left with something that's impossible to dislike.
  44. The epitome of perfection. Every single aspect of this game has been polished to an unbelievable extent. Everything has been resized to a colossal proportions, from the graphics to the weapons to the maxigames. This is one of the best action platformers of all time.
  45. Stands as the true evolution of the platform genre, proving that in order to evolve, a game does not have to steal from everything that’s popular at the moment. While it’s not as purely platform as Mario Sunshine, it’s also not trying to be "Ratchet Theft Auto" like certain OTHER games.
  46. 8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 783]
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    Words can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A great bonus re-play ability after you beat the game too. Full Review »
  2. BobT.
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    I don't think it's really fair to consider the two low votes for this game in the average. In fact, go ahead and don't consider two high votes as well because then you will get a good idea of how good this game is. This is easily a 94 or 95 score game that has been tanked by two publications that cannot accept or understand it. I, like others before me, give it a 10 . . . and I don't just hand out such a score. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Everything that Ratchet & Clank did, Going Commando does better, and the tweaks and additions just goes higher. Shooting with crazy weapons have never felt so awesome. Full Review »