Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando PlayStation 2

Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverseFrom the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverse environments, a compelling storyline and a unique arsenal of the coolest new weapons and hi-tech gadgets ever imagined. The more $#@& you blow up, the stronger Ratchet gets and the bigger and badder the weapons you?ll have! Show off in gladiator arenas. Pick off enemies in space combat. Leave competitors to eatin? your dust in hoverbike races. And, run around spherical worlds. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Has it where it counts - fast action and plenty of it. Highly polished and loads of fun, if you want an example of platforming paradise, Insomniac has delivered.
  2. The biggest improvement - the RPG-style character growth - really and truly changes everything. I kid you not. Replaying a section isnow a reward unto itself, since you gain experience for every enemy you kill... Man, I really love this game. [Dec 2003, p.154]
  3. The controls, the learning curve, the difficulty, and the story all make this game possible to be enjoyed by gamers of almost any age without feeling overwhelmed or underwhelmed. I seriously can't say enough good things about this game.
  4. Surpasses the original game on nearly all levels.
  5. Although it could be accused of taking a while to get going, Ratchet & Clank 2 leaves an indelible impression as a platformer full of variety and, above all else, options.
  6. 90
    A magnificent example of fine-tuning, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando sculpts the successes of the first one to near-perfection...but too many similarities to the original make it all seem just a teensy bit stale.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    The key word here is definitely 'more'; more weapons, more gadgets, more planets and plenty more instances where the platform-based exploration takes a back seat in favour of what can only be described as mini-games that try desperately to integrate themselves into the rest of the game. [Dec 2003, p.117]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. GeorgeR.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ive played in a long time, that is since the last ratchet and clank. totally awesome game!!
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    Words can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A greatWords can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A great bonus re-play ability after you beat the game too. Expand
  3. PeterW.
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    WOW! A masterpiece of computer engineering. I've completed all the levels 4 times and i still want to go back for more. End of game WOW! A masterpiece of computer engineering. I've completed all the levels 4 times and i still want to go back for more. End of game disappointing. Current number of bolts collected 2,323,234 ! Every PS2 owner has to get it. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    I have poured numerous amounts of hours into this game, from the day I got it on christmas eve 2003. This game is perfection, I stand by thatI have poured numerous amounts of hours into this game, from the day I got it on christmas eve 2003. This game is perfection, I stand by that this is still my favourite Ratchet and clank game and even my favourite PS2 game ever. The planets, the characters, the story line is absolutely perfect, I owe a huge well done to James Arnold Taylor, he plays the voice of Ratchet and did and absolutely brilliant job at it.

    I'm giving this game a 10. I'd like to point out I'm not simply giving this game a 10 purely because of notalgia, I'm giving this game a 10 because it still stands up to this day. I still play through the campaign every now and then, probably more than I did as a kid. It's simply a beautiful game
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Even though it's not much different than its predecessor, Going Commando is full of action-packed gameplay, weapons and gadgets, intriguingEven though it's not much different than its predecessor, Going Commando is full of action-packed gameplay, weapons and gadgets, intriguing level designs, and perfect graphics to make it almost funner than the first of the series. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Before I state my overall opinion, let me just say that this is a very tough game. It could be frustratingly difficult for some andBefore I state my overall opinion, let me just say that this is a very tough game. It could be frustratingly difficult for some and ridiculously easy for others. Now for the actual review: The gameplay, graphics, and weapons are all awesome. The levels are excellently designed. What's the con? The story. The game has a very forgettable story. But with such an excellent game like this, that is a very minor flaw. A must for PS2 game collectors, and a pure representation of what gaming should be. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    This is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the factThis is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the fact that your automated turrets and bots won't attack off-screen enemies, while those invisible bad guys continue to damage you. The overall experience is not bad and the setting is visually stunning, but I can't give more than a 7 to a game which forces me to dick around for hours just to gather enough bolts (in-game currency) to buy an armor. For example, your average critter gives you 50-200 bolts - a thousand in the last levels - and you need a MILLION bolts for a top-notch armor... yeah, right. The story is forgettable, with some funny moments, and the soundtrack is quite good. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003