Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando PlayStation 2

Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverseFrom the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverse environments, a compelling storyline and a unique arsenal of the coolest new weapons and hi-tech gadgets ever imagined. The more $#@& you blow up, the stronger Ratchet gets and the bigger and badder the weapons you?ll have! Show off in gladiator arenas. Pick off enemies in space combat. Leave competitors to eatin? your dust in hoverbike races. And, run around spherical worlds. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ratchet & Clank Movie Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Has it where it counts - fast action and plenty of it. Highly polished and loads of fun, if you want an example of platforming paradise, Insomniac has delivered.
  2. The biggest improvement - the RPG-style character growth - really and truly changes everything. I kid you not. Replaying a section isnow a reward unto itself, since you gain experience for every enemy you kill... Man, I really love this game. [Dec 2003, p.154]
  3. The controls, the learning curve, the difficulty, and the story all make this game possible to be enjoyed by gamers of almost any age without feeling overwhelmed or underwhelmed. I seriously can't say enough good things about this game.
  4. Surpasses the original game on nearly all levels.
  5. Although it could be accused of taking a while to get going, Ratchet & Clank 2 leaves an indelible impression as a platformer full of variety and, above all else, options.
  6. 90
    A magnificent example of fine-tuning, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando sculpts the successes of the first one to near-perfection...but too many similarities to the original make it all seem just a teensy bit stale.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    The key word here is definitely 'more'; more weapons, more gadgets, more planets and plenty more instances where the platform-based exploration takes a back seat in favour of what can only be described as mini-games that try desperately to integrate themselves into the rest of the game. [Dec 2003, p.117]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. --RaZmuZ--
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    This is the f...ing best game i tried!!!! maximum points to that!!!!
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    Words can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A greatWords can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A great bonus re-play ability after you beat the game too. Expand
  3. PeterW.
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    WOW! A masterpiece of computer engineering. I've completed all the levels 4 times and i still want to go back for more. End of game WOW! A masterpiece of computer engineering. I've completed all the levels 4 times and i still want to go back for more. End of game disappointing. Current number of bolts collected 2,323,234 ! Every PS2 owner has to get it. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    I have poured numerous amounts of hours into this game, from the day I got it on christmas eve 2003. This game is perfection, I stand by thatI have poured numerous amounts of hours into this game, from the day I got it on christmas eve 2003. This game is perfection, I stand by that this is still my favourite Ratchet and clank game and even my favourite PS2 game ever. The planets, the characters, the story line is absolutely perfect, I owe a huge well done to James Arnold Taylor, he plays the voice of Ratchet and did and absolutely brilliant job at it.

    I'm giving this game a 10. I'd like to point out I'm not simply giving this game a 10 purely because of notalgia, I'm giving this game a 10 because it still stands up to this day. I still play through the campaign every now and then, probably more than I did as a kid. It's simply a beautiful game
    Expand
  5. Mimmgirlm
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    THis is also called Locked and Loaded in other places isn't it? If it is, jeez. I LOVEEEEYYY thisy gamey!!!!!
  6. Jun 21, 2017
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: Going Commando is one of top ten best games of all time, and it serves a testament to how sometimes adding more andRatchet and Clank: Going Commando is one of top ten best games of all time, and it serves a testament to how sometimes adding more and refining your flaws from the previous entry can make a sequel work phenomenally. This is the case for this game. Taking place in a new galaxy, new characters and a even better combat system, RAC:GC capitalizes on delivering more and having more memorable moments. Considering it came a year after the first game, it really makes a argument on how impressive games can be when dev time is so little and make so much work by only fixing and adding to its formula. Only criticism that I have for GC is the ease of difficulty that makes engagements far too easy once you become overpowered. Considering difficulty is the only main issue, RAC:GC is able to come out with a master work of platforming and fun that makes the duo go through another great adventure and solidify their friendship. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    This is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the factThis is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the fact that your automated turrets and bots won't attack off-screen enemies, while those invisible bad guys continue to damage you. The overall experience is not bad and the setting is visually stunning, but I can't give more than a 7 to a game which forces me to dick around for hours just to gather enough bolts (in-game currency) to buy an armor. For example, your average critter gives you 50-200 bolts - a thousand in the last levels - and you need a MILLION bolts for a top-notch armor... yeah, right. The story is forgettable, with some funny moments, and the soundtrack is quite good. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#38 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003