Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. 100
    Luscious looking levels that are bigger than ever, a wonderful range of new and old weapons, a multitude of gameplay styles, vehicles, freefalling, 2D retro action and a fully online multiplayer mode where you get to use those wonderful weapons against friends and strangers alike.
  2. The controls are flawless, the weapons are diverse, and the production values are some of the highest in the industry. [Dec 2004, p.106]
  3. 100
    UYA's multiplayer experience is excellent. The level of polish is surprisingly high, which is evident in everything from specific gameplay details (the grappling beam's ease of use is superb, for example) to the extensive number of options that can be tweaked.
  4. After a long and successful history, Insomniac Games has finally created its masterpiece, a tour de force that is the zenith of a trio of titles that I feel should be held up in action/platforming history alongside the original "Super Mario Bros." trilogy on the NES. [Nov 2004, p.150]
  5. 100
    Up Your Arsenal may be the best game on the PlayStation 2. This is "Mario 64" level quality folks. If you own a PS2 and don't play this game, I'll come to your house personally with a Sheepinator and remove you from the gaming gene pool.
  6. The online game play is just as smooth and fast-moving as the offline versions, and the wacky variety of weapons -- turn your enemy into a sheep! -- makes it a heap of fun.
  7. You've got virtual movie sets to demolish, ships to fly, buggies to battle in, turrets to command, inventively integrated puzzles. [Dec 2004, p.68]
  8. No game is perfect, but I'll be damned if Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal isn't close as can be. There's something in here for everyone to enjoy, and at a mere $40 pricepoint, it's worth every penny.
  9. 100
    The multiplayer is just the gravy on the best open-faced turkey sandwich of a game I've played in a long time. This is perfection.
  10. 100
    The online multiplayer would be worth the purchase by itself. It's a perfect hybrid between platforming and first-person deathmatch -- in fact, you have the option to play both the single-player and multiplayer using a first-person view -- and works perfectly online.
  11. Friendly enough for the first-time platform player, deep enough for platform veterans, and funny as hell...It's a brilliant game. [Dec 2004, p.126]
  12. One of the best character-action-platform games ever made - right alongside "Mario 64." [Feb 2005, p.9]
  13. Bottom line, this game is absolutely incredible.
  14. Possibly the best PS2 game to date...No other title that has come out or is coming out this year for any system will match the good-natured fun Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal gives you.
  15. Up Your Arsenal has capitalized on what has made the series so beloved: incredible action, outrageous weapons, endearing and humorous characters, beautiful visuals, and everything in between that has made the series stand out in a crowded genre.
  16. 96
    Absolutely a must-have title. It is one of the best games of the year. The gameplay is highly addictive and the cut scenes are hilarious- especially Captain Qwark's hand-drawn battle plans.
  17. 96
    Excellent work has also been done with the voice acting of the characters. It is as if they hand picked the voices first and then made the looks of the characters to reflect the voices because the voices are well trimmed to the personality of the character they resemble.
  18. The dialogue in Up Your Arsenal is as funny as ever, with some scenes that might have you rolling on the floor. The scene with Ratchet imitating pop star Courtney Gears is absolutely hilarious.
  19. 96
    The sheer amount of fun you'll have when playing against seven other people in the ten different maps and various gameplay modes here is almost immeasurable -- it's that damn good. But what impresses me most about Up Your Arsenal is the fact that the single-player adventure didn't suffer in the least.
  20. Up Your Arsenal, while not radically different than its predecessors with the exception of the new online play, still provides some of the purest, most enjoyable gameplay available on the PlayStation 2.
  21. After spending 20+ hours with this game I have no qualms calling it the best action platformer of 2004. It’s just so insanely polished, beautifully designed and amazingly addictive that it’s a wonder that it took me this long to review it.
  22. A fantastic example of what fun games should be like. Never mind that it makes some of the most gorgeous scenes you're likely to find on the PS2, the game itself is so good the eye and ear candy is just extra.
  23. Who would have thought that combining a platform game with an online shooter would have been so much fun?
  24. If you were to lock a group of mad scientists in a room and force them to come up with a formula for a diabolically addictive platform game, chances are the result would play a lot like Up Your Arsenal. [Holiday 2004, p.123]
  25. With the addition of an amazing multiplayer feature, what was widely considered the platformer of the year last year, has now easily vaulted itself into game of the year contention.
  26. The multiplayer adds endless replay value to an already great game.
  27. The music comes more towards the player as a cinematic element rather a primary track and it is similar to some of the more recent James Bond films during the faster paced action scenes.
  28. Just a fantastic game. Needless to say, it's the best in the series, the best platformer on the Playstation 2, and probably the best of this generation.
  29. The best platformer on PS2? Possibly. Fun, beautiful to look at, challenging and rife with glorious detail? You bet your ass it is. An essential purchase. [PSM2]
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    The greatest game I've ever played. If you like adventure games or platformers you will forever miss out if you don't play this game. I'veThe greatest game I've ever played. If you like adventure games or platformers you will forever miss out if you don't play this game. I've played through it 10 times and completed it to 100% 3 times and it never got boring once. Best in the series far and away and that's saying something considering this is one of the premier series in gaming for the last 2 generations. Full Review »
  2. RomelJ.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I've been playing video games for 20 years & UYA is the best game I've ever played period. 1 & 2 were awesome also. Actually going I've been playing video games for 20 years & UYA is the best game I've ever played period. 1 & 2 were awesome also. Actually going backwards 3, 2, 1 is the order of my favorite games ever. Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time a great story. Lots of replay value and the comedy is top notch too bad Insomniac made all 4 one and made theMy favorite game of all time a great story. Lots of replay value and the comedy is top notch too bad Insomniac made all 4 one and made the characters so hideous. Full Review »