Ratchet & Clank PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 278
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenjiK.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Ratchet and clank is one of the best ps2 games i have ever played! i recomend this game for a holiday gift . this game rocks!!!!!
  2. CallumM.
    May 8, 2005
    9
    Excellent weapons, gadgets, and gameplay. Very innovative and imaginative.
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. the only thing that was bad is that you couldn't strafe. not too much of a deal for me.
  4. TorgeirW.
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    Too easy perhaps, but still one of the best games ever!
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 9, 2002
    9
    An immensely packed game with characters, creatures, weapons, and gadgets. Ratchet and Clank is a futuristic, and innovative game with a wonderful soundtrack. Most of all, it has that ubiquitous "Spyro the Dragon" feel, and I'm very glad that is does. Insomniac does a wonderful job at level and character design, and the PS2 has boosted their abilities times 10. Bravo, Insomniac, bravo.
  6. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    Ratchet and Clank is a great game. Good platform gameplay, imaginative weapons you can use to blow your enemies away and a interesting story line as well. Voice acting is really cool as well and awesome music which fits perfectly to each individual level. My minor complaint is the final boss fight can be frustrating but Ratchet and Clank is an all round perfect platformer.
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    pretty good platformer. Doesn't quite compare with sly cooper and ty the tasmanain tiger, but is still a very fun game to play. I enjoy a lot about this game. The skill challnges are fun to do. The reason i gave it a seven was because of its bosses. Very boring bosses and just not enough of them.
  8. May 7, 2012
    10
    Kick ass game and what started this series for me. Best Futuristic weapons title is held by this franchise
  9. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Ratchet & Clank's debut game was an instant classic. I hope, that someday Ratchet & Clank goes back to this game's direction. This game has atmosphere, what other Ratchet & Clank games doesn't have. I like the story and the characters in this game. Gameplay is fun and graphics are awesome. A great debut for one of the best video game series.
  10. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    Ignore the collection, if you have a PS2, buy the original game on disc. The collection is buggy and doesn't feel as awesome.

    The game is really fun, with awesome platforming and fantastic gadgets and weaponry. Easily one of the most memorable series for the PS2, and is sure to hit people with nostalgia of the console. My only complaint is that the strafing wasn't really perfected until
    Ignore the collection, if you have a PS2, buy the original game on disc. The collection is buggy and doesn't feel as awesome.

    The game is really fun, with awesome platforming and fantastic gadgets and weaponry. Easily one of the most memorable series for the PS2, and is sure to hit people with nostalgia of the console. My only complaint is that the strafing wasn't really perfected until Ratchet and Clank 2: Locked and Loaded (or Going Commando in America). The controls aren't as great, and shooting can be a tough activity. The checkpoints are SO spread out at times, I thought that the checkpoints were broken in the crappy PS Vita version of the game. So, that can be infuriating (especially when you run out of ammo and money while trying to get far into the game). While it is definitely not as good as the second or the third game for me.
    Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    The game that started it all, Ratchet and Clank is one of the best third-person platformers in history. With an array of awesome weapons to unlock and use, wonderful planets to explore, brilliant gameplay, unique enemies and a brilliant story, this is a game that well deserves its praise. Like so many others right from the off, I found myself falling in love with both Ratchet and Clank andThe game that started it all, Ratchet and Clank is one of the best third-person platformers in history. With an array of awesome weapons to unlock and use, wonderful planets to explore, brilliant gameplay, unique enemies and a brilliant story, this is a game that well deserves its praise. Like so many others right from the off, I found myself falling in love with both Ratchet and Clank and feeling the addicting need to collect bolts. Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the Dragon (which is another great platform/adventure game) brings you two new characters, Ratchet who is a lombax and Clank who is a robot. The chemistry between these two are great and their voices are brilliant including clank my personal faviroute. There areThis is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the Dragon (which is another great platform/adventure game) brings you two new characters, Ratchet who is a lombax and Clank who is a robot. The chemistry between these two are great and their voices are brilliant including clank my personal faviroute. There are other great characters too like Quark, Helga and Drek and their voices are good as well. Gameplay is similar to Spyro, you play as Ratchet mostly and sometimes Clank and your mission is too roam around and defeating all of Drek's minions who have taken over different planets as well as helping out friends who set out tasks for you. Once that is done you will be given coordinates to the next planet where you will fight your way through more enemies and bosses. There are also skill points which can only be earned by completing a secret challenge as well as gold bolts that are located in secret areas. Your first weapon is the wrench but you can buy new weapons from the gadgetron shops. You can get these by collecting lots of bolts which are found by destroying creates and enemies There are some really cool weapons like morph ray, devastator and RYNO which is a faviroute of mine. Ratchet has lots of cool moves and can collect items to perform new ones. Clank has some cool tricks up his sleeve too like a thruster pack, communicating with other robots and when he becomes a giant, then you just smash your way through everyone while blasting them with rockets. Graphically this game is perfect, each level has some amazing layouts and backgrounds from a great distance. Frame rate is fine and there is plenty of gameplay in this too, so you won't be disappointed. I can honestly say this is without a doubt one of the best platform/adventure games I have ever seen on the PS2. Expand
  13. ChuongV.
    Jan 17, 2003
    8
    This a fun game, but it's too short and the ending stinks. They should make more weapons, and more levels. This game is too easy to beat. Take you like a week only, so i decided to give it an 8.
  14. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Such great memories! I loved these games so much, I can't praise this enough for any kid under 16 :)
    I think it should be pretty fun for an adult as well, but I wouldn't know. Great story, amazing gameplay, overall very balanced and fun game.
  15. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    All though it might not have the innovative gameplay, the improvements and the added on content, this still is my favorite game in the franchise and most likely my favorite game of all time. I think so because I think that it has the best music, best story, coolest weapons(Not best) and coolest characters. All though the sequels are totally awesome, they will never life up to the pure soulAll though it might not have the innovative gameplay, the improvements and the added on content, this still is my favorite game in the franchise and most likely my favorite game of all time. I think so because I think that it has the best music, best story, coolest weapons(Not best) and coolest characters. All though the sequels are totally awesome, they will never life up to the pure soul of the first Ratchet & Clank. Thank you, Insomniac Games for creating this masterpiece. Expand
  16. JohnH.
    Dec 5, 2002
    0
    It is short. It is boring. Worst.
  17. NickG.
    Mar 20, 2003
    5
    This is a game for fantasy loving children and it just doesn't cut it for the older age groups, not worth getting.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
  19. Mastershonuff
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Most people compare this game to jak and daxter, and while jak was a fun diversion from life, ratchet and clank is a great experience in gaming. this game definitely grows on you. after a few hours of fun playing it, i felt as if i was just playing another standard platformer. then it hit me, i loved the damn game. you get emotionally attached to the characters and involved in the thin,Most people compare this game to jak and daxter, and while jak was a fun diversion from life, ratchet and clank is a great experience in gaming. this game definitely grows on you. after a few hours of fun playing it, i felt as if i was just playing another standard platformer. then it hit me, i loved the damn game. you get emotionally attached to the characters and involved in the thin, but interesting story. and the gameplay is beautifully balanced. this is a lesson in great pacing in a video game, something that is often overlooked. now this game is $20, go buy it, then buy sly cooper and jak... a measly $60 total for 3 great games. platformers are often overlooked by fans of sports games, and stealth action, and overly violent games - which can all be fun too - and this is just too sad. while you're at it buy klonoa 2, amplitude, the two fear effect games on psone and virtua fighter 4... because i told you to. Expand
  20. Nov 22, 2015
    1
    This game is up there with Jak and Daxter, but compared to other ps2 games this is ****. If I could relive those few minutes I spent on that crap game I would, because it is the worst memory I have of gaming.
  21. NewtZ.
    Apr 2, 2003
    9
    How could Nick G. not love this game!?! As far as I'm concerned, the defects are these: it is a little short, and thre isn't a Gloden R.Y.N.O. Otherwise, the game is freakin' awesome! The guns and gadgets make the game SO cool! The soundtrack is good, too. Nick G., if you are reading this, I have something I'd like to say: go back to your rock, crawl under it, and read How could Nick G. not love this game!?! As far as I'm concerned, the defects are these: it is a little short, and thre isn't a Gloden R.Y.N.O. Otherwise, the game is freakin' awesome! The guns and gadgets make the game SO cool! The soundtrack is good, too. Nick G., if you are reading this, I have something I'd like to say: go back to your rock, crawl under it, and read more game magizines. Insomniac should make an R&C2 (but only if it is as good as the 1st). See ya! Expand
  22. JonathanF.
    May 3, 2003
    9
    This is just so cool, i love the blaster and glove of doom, it's really funny when ratchet and clank talk to each other, and it's just brilliant so i don't know why i didn't give it a 10. oh well, i'm not gonna get much more outta my life now. i gave it nine, i deserved ten, i think i'll had myself over now. byeee
  23. DangerPilot1
    Jan 1, 2003
    10
    10! best platform game on this console. Huge worlds, TONS OF FUN.
  24. KyleK.
    Dec 3, 2003
    7
    This is a good game but it gets boring. Wicked gadgets though. Cant wait for ratchet and clank 2.
  25. MarcD.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    Props to Brian Hastings and the Insomniac crew for another killer game. Liz "The Waves" Goodenough would be proud.... By the way, have you noticed that all of your Spyro fans are pissed to high heaven that the next generation game has gone to crap now that another developer is handling the title? Oh well..... Not all developers can be that brill....
  26. GalenN.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    This is one of the coolest games I've ever played. It's out of this world!!!
  27. NickF.
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    It is an awesome game, i cant stop playing it. It had humor, and was good for a variety of age groups.
  28. LiamY.
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    It is the best game ever. It is much better than NHL.
  29. BarryC.
    May 1, 2003
    9
    One of the best games I ever played!
  30. MatthewG.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    A lot of time and effect when into the amazing graphic, HUGE wicked level. Clever game play, collecting bolts, gold bolts, weapons and gadget. playing ratchet or/and clank swimming, flying, shooting in turrent and racing on awesome hover boards. i am a total addict.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 90
    R & C's innovation comes in the form of all those crazy, non-gimmicky weapons and tools. This is a complex, polished platform gaming machine.
  2. One of the best platformers to hit the PS2, ever.
  3. The graphics, the busy environments, the interactivity... every element taken by itself it pretty praiseworthy, stick 'em all on the same disk and they add up to good things.