Ratchet & Clank PlayStation 2

Ratchet & Clank Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a futuristic world filled with spaceships, robots and high-tech gadgets, Ratchet and Clank moves from planet to planet across a vast solar system. Ratchet lives on an abandoned backwater planet and dreams of someday striking out on a magnificent space adventure. Closer to the centerSet in a futuristic world filled with spaceships, robots and high-tech gadgets, Ratchet and Clank moves from planet to planet across a vast solar system. Ratchet lives on an abandoned backwater planet and dreams of someday striking out on a magnificent space adventure. Closer to the center of the galaxy, Chairman Drek rules a polluted planet, Orxon, inhabited by an ugly race called the Blarg. He too has dreams, but his concern is conquest and domination. Tired of his polluted world, Chairman Drek comes up with the ultimate solution - to build a new planet using the best parts from many of the other worlds in the galaxy. If he can't convince the inhabitants to part with a few thousand hectares of their worlds, the army of robots and Blarg warriors can eliminate any resistance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Plenty of other platformers can boast similar features - but few have pulled them all together the way that Ratchet & Clank has. [Dec 2002, p.166]
  2. It definitely beats "Sly Cooper," its semi-brother "Jak and Daxter," and even other-platform platformers (pun intended) in most categories.
  3. Control in the game is excellent, and you'll never walk off a ledge because the controller is slow to respond.
  4. A fantastic platformer in every way and qualifies as one of the best games the genre has seen since consoles went polygonal.
  5. With beautifully realised fantasy words to explore and depth that belies its surface-sweetened nastiness, this is one that will satisfy all who feel the need for unbridled platform action. And attitude.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Delivers a long, satisfying experience with a good mix of platforming and exploration-style gameplay. [Dec 2002, p.214]
  7. It’s not in the same league as "Jak and Daxter," but is it still head and shoulders above everything else currently available on the Playstation 2.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 74
  2. Negative: 2 out of 74
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the DragonThis is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the Dragon (which is another great platform/adventure game) brings you two new characters, Ratchet who is a lombax and Clank who is a robot. The chemistry between these two are great and their voices are brilliant including clank my personal faviroute. There are other great characters too like Quark, Helga and Drek and their voices are good as well. Gameplay is similar to Spyro, you play as Ratchet mostly and sometimes Clank and your mission is too roam around and defeating all of Drek's minions who have taken over different planets as well as helping out friends who set out tasks for you. Once that is done you will be given coordinates to the next planet where you will fight your way through more enemies and bosses. There are also skill points which can only be earned by completing a secret challenge as well as gold bolts that are located in secret areas. Your first weapon is the wrench but you can buy new weapons from the gadgetron shops. You can get these by collecting lots of bolts which are found by destroying creates and enemies There are some really cool weapons like morph ray, devastator and RYNO which is a faviroute of mine. Ratchet has lots of cool moves and can collect items to perform new ones. Clank has some cool tricks up his sleeve too like a thruster pack, communicating with other robots and when he becomes a giant, then you just smash your way through everyone while blasting them with rockets. Graphically this game is perfect, each level has some amazing layouts and backgrounds from a great distance. Frame rate is fine and there is plenty of gameplay in this too, so you won't be disappointed. I can honestly say this is without a doubt one of the best platform/adventure games I have ever seen on the PS2. Collapse
  2. JonnyB.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    One of the better exclusives on the PS2. I love this game.
  3. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    All though it might not have the innovative gameplay, the improvements and the added on content, this still is my favorite game in theAll though it might not have the innovative gameplay, the improvements and the added on content, this still is my favorite game in the franchise and most likely my favorite game of all time. I think so because I think that it has the best music, best story, coolest weapons(Not best) and coolest characters. All though the sequels are totally awesome, they will never life up to the pure soul of the first Ratchet & Clank. Thank you, Insomniac Games for creating this masterpiece. Expand
  4. BarryC.
    May 1, 2003
    9
    One of the best games I ever played!
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. the only thing that was bad is that you couldn't strafe. not too much of a deal for me.
  6. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    A unique gem for the ps2, giving us a witty protagonist named Ratchet, the last of his race known as lombaxes, after he encounters an escapedA unique gem for the ps2, giving us a witty protagonist named Ratchet, the last of his race known as lombaxes, after he encounters an escaped robot deemed rouge named Clank. Ratchet and clanks quest will take them through many unique worlds, gaining new abilities a weapons to stop a mad business man from destroying your home world. Expand
  7. JohnH.
    Dec 5, 2002
    0
    It is short. It is boring. Worst.

See all 74 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#6 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002