Red Ninja: End of Honor PlayStation 2

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KodieE.
    Mar 15, 2005
    9
    This games is relly dop all the boold and violence only if this game was a online game mass killing runing off wall's doing dam combo's this game is like tomb rader/prince of persia sand of time all in one this is a must buy ^_V
  2. [anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2010
    8
    A pretty solid game for its time, not the greatest thing ever, tenchu is far better but this is a good substitute, the excessiveness of the blood and the short kimonos seems a little like fan service but the gameplay itself is enjoyable
  3. thinkablefireblend
    Apr 14, 2005
    4
    It was a bland game and overall not very impressive.for one thiing it had horrible camera controls that wasvery annoying.it jerked alot and can confuse you at times.
  4. Julian
    Jul 1, 2005
    6
    This game had the potential but failed. While its not for everyone (no suprises there) it does, however, can be enjoyable. If you have a lot of patience and took the time to learn the control, then this game wont be a problem. My only concern was the camera angle. The camera angle made the game awful. If only they made it better, then the game wouldnt be that awful would it?
  5. GaneshK.
    May 27, 2007
    1
    This game could have had good camera and movement controls to be the best. However when in the stage of snake charmer it is very hard to kill her because there is no clue at all.
  6. Apr 8, 2014
    1
    Red Ninja is simply a horrible mess, it fails in it's concept and isn't even capable to pull of simple tasks that have been staples of games of the genre for over 10 years up until it's release. The game looks pretty good, and the violence is satisfying, it could of been a decent game if it was technically competent.

    The controls and camera in this game do everything in their power to
    Red Ninja is simply a horrible mess, it fails in it's concept and isn't even capable to pull of simple tasks that have been staples of games of the genre for over 10 years up until it's release. The game looks pretty good, and the violence is satisfying, it could of been a decent game if it was technically competent.

    The controls and camera in this game do everything in their power to make your life horrible. The camera has a mind of it's own and every slight movement sends the camera straight up your characters dress. Even the analog controls of the camera are flawed, even if you had the patience to re-position the camera every time you moved, it's a daunting process that would make anyone break their controller.

    The other main offender is the basic mechanics of the game, that just don't work. Jumping on a ledge, pulling yourself onto roofs or wall jumping do not want to work with you at all. These are simple mechanics that if they don't work, your game is just broken.

    It's a shame because when you actually miraculously position yourself for a stealth kill, the animations and gore are quite satisfying. It's just there is no hope for a good time when the basic movements of your character are broken beyond repair.

    But lucky enough if you do still try to plod on with the game, have no fear in being caught, as even with the broken controls you can usually outsmart and out run every enemy in the game, the only difficulty in the game is trying not to attract motion sickness from the camera or throwing your controller through the TV due to frustration.

    This is a real mess, from a company I expect better from, how this made it on shelves is a travesty.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2017
    4
    A flawed game that I love.

    Red ninja, if released today, and if tenchu was still a big deal, would be called a tenchu-like game. It's stealthy hugging wall just like it, with violence just like it. The story is...there, the main character is pretty cool, by that i mean, she has a nice design, yes, she's pretty sexy, but more important, short hair, i dig that, but also, the cool moves
    A flawed game that I love.

    Red ninja, if released today, and if tenchu was still a big deal, would be called a tenchu-like game. It's stealthy hugging wall just like it, with violence just like it.

    The story is...there, the main character is pretty cool, by that i mean, she has a nice design, yes, she's pretty sexy, but more important, short hair, i dig that, but also, the cool moves she does with her wires, which is a preeeetty cool mechanic for the time, and, if done today, i feel like you wouldn't have this clunkyness, but that was the charm of it to me, it's not a quick-time event, you wire people, move around and do things that the game barely teachs you how to, instead of going ''HEY, PRESS X TO WIRE PEOPLE AND YOU'RE DONE, NO YOU DON'T NEED TO MOVE, JUST STAY CLOSE TO PLACES AND YOU KILL AUTOMATICALLY, HERE HAVE A CANDY''.

    It's a difficult game, but, not intentionally, the camera is your main foe. AND I MEAN IT. It automoves around when you run, killing the momento and making you get lost, it literally struggles against you, making some of the wall running, fast jumping mechanics be frustrating. If it wasn't for that camera, and i mean it, the camera is A FATAL FLAW, this game would've been fantastic, instead what we get is an broken-ish mess that could've been oh so good.

    The music is cool aswell, but seriously tho'? hottie.

    As a personal score, i'd give it a 7, but the flaws are there, can't ignore it.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#36 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    68
    7 / 7 / 6 / 7 - 27 [Vol 847]
  2. Play Magazine
    65
    The later stages of intricate wirework platforming will undoubtedly cause many undue stress, and Kurenei herself can be a challenge to control given her default dash and a hard-to-wrangle camera. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. PSM Magazine
    50
    Most gamers will be put off by erratic controls and wild camera. Too bad; this could have been great. [Apr 2005, p.73]