Resident Evil 4 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 948 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 948
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielEperstein
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. I can't believe someone on here complained about the controls, especially since the horrid controls of every other Resident Evil game makes them nearly unplayable to a lot of people.
  2. LaputanM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Smashing game. Reading about the complaints about running and gunning, I have to say that it would be pointless, anyway, noone can move and shoot with accuracy unless they move painfully slow. It would also ruin the game imo.
  3. D.W.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Som bits were the most exciting, intense and terrifying moments in gameing. Others were fun but let the game down. it had laid the template for a great game. But trust me this game is worth it for the great bits.
  4. IgnacioP.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you have to tap the buttons) are pretty well done, you don`t know what to tap, and in the next moment you`re dead, but that`s fine. And if you want a harder challenge, just put the most difficult difficulty. Expand
  5. DarthMoon
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of the game is lost. It starts like a really intense and realistic horror adventure with a compelling story behind it but it ends up being a ridicilous story with moments like Devil may cry.It has some great scary moments but it also has some very annoying and very silly moments witch break the horror atmosphere the game tries to put you in.Basicaly the game tries to mix some things that just dont quite work. For an action game its really good but for a Horror game its very dissapoining. Silent Hill 3 a much better horror game than this because it stays focus on what it wants to be and that is a Horror adventure not an action adventure.To sum it,great gameplay , great visuals, poor story , frustration instead of terrifying atmosphere. Expand
  6. Chris
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely beautiful! this game is incredible. The graphics and controls work very well compared to previous resident evil games, and has many different ways to get through the same game, many traps and erie scenes make this game my favorite game of the PS2.
  7. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Believe the hype. As no great fan of Resident Evil or shooters in general, I was still amazed by this game. Great atmosphere and perfectly escalating challenge, by the end you'll feel exhausted, exhilerated, and amazed you were actually able to survive the horrors found in this quaint little village.
  8. KyleZ.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    This game has an amazing story line and has exellent game play. The creators should be proud of themselfs for making this game for the PS2. Its a challenge and some peaple dont like that but I take the game as pretty easyon both settings. The creaturs in the game make this the best Resident Evil game yet. I hope to see more games like this one.
  9. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it because it has a lot of blood and stuff. It can get very irritating. The controls are ok but kind of strange one PS2. This game has its surprizes. Expand
  10. Mitsos
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    It is a brilliant game.
  11. JohhnyY.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Perfect.
  12. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    I thought I was there for real, I'd like to be able to see forward all the time but hey great fun.
  13. ZachR.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    By far the best Resident Evil game ever! The new control system and camera angles are great, not to mention the stunning graphics and memorable story. If you haven't played this game yet, you are not a man.
  14. MikeW.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    The best of the last gen games is THE best game for the PS2 overall. Highly recommended for all of the millions of PS2 owners out there.
  15. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made for Playstation2! Good story, excellent graphics. It
  16. AnonymousMC
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaalythis game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaaly care as long as you play one of these games execpt resident evil 3 Expand
  17. shailinderm
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    this game is fun but VERY HARD!the bosses health are not shown so that makes it boring.but i still like this game.i would have gave it 10 if it was not so hard.
  18. AndrewH
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It isnt. This was my first resi game and i found it very easy. Some bits where you must protect ashlee can be tricky (she is totally helpless) and I found the blind enemies difficult to kill but the game gives plenty of ammo and health. Over all its a solid game and well worth a go, especially with the release of 5 just around the corner. Expand
  19. NathanD
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 game. re5 is out now, but personally it doesnt compare to the story or playable factor of re4. p.s Bring back the merchant. Expand
  20. CodyB
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    RE4; THE greatest horror masterpiece ever created in the history of horror games and one of my top 10 video games list. From start to finish, this game was, still is, and always will be worth over all game of the year 2005 and all those shit-loads of awards. Imo not all that scary, just disturbing at times but FUN-AS-HELL!!!
  21. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  22. JaredS
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games ever. The story is excellent and the gameplay is challenging. Yes the controls are very difficult to get used to but IMO make the game much more intense
  23. Wongit
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    This is the game to own on Ps2, without a shadow of a doubt. Beautiful graphics, awsome music and voice acting, and great story telling. This game is hard...very hard. You just need to really concentrate on this game, and you will get it, it takes skill to play this game. Even though its the hardest game ive played its the best one ive ever played, do yourselves a favor and get this game.
  24. shawn
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    the best game i every played
  25. ninjagaidenhayabusa
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the enemy. theres also traps on the floor along the way if your not careful, you could get hit. I was really impressed with dual between Leon and krauser, during the cutscene, you need to pressed simultaneouly the L1 and R1 or square and X button to avoid being hit by krauser, to progress the game, it rivals the dual between big boss vs. ocelot on mgs3 which is a very high quality of digital perfection. Shinji Mikami is a genius Expand
  26. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Its better on GameCube, better graphics and controls but I would reccomend it on PS2.
  27. JohnT.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This Resident Evil is the best of all, I like the over the sholder perspective and the extra missions at the end addeds even more depth to the story. and its nice they kept the bad language out of it so that my son can also enjoy this one too.
  28. LingX.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm your stronghold, a 2-story wooden house.. that part really gave a "night of the living dead 3 / assault on precinct 13" feel. oh and the game is long unlike the previous REs. the extras really made it longer like separate ways, where you get play as ada. kinda similar to Snake Tales in Metal Gear solid 2: Substance Expand
  29. RaquwanM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of the year
  30. GarethB.
    Oct 27, 2005
    5
    Awful turn for the Resi games. The action is deeply flawed in that it's terribly boring to play, the controls are no where near as smooth as they need to be to pull it off either. Anoying characters galore (exept the brilliant merchant), tedious story about something or other, who cares? You wont listen to it, lack of proper zombies, lame cleshe set pieces, no scares and no Awful turn for the Resi games. The action is deeply flawed in that it's terribly boring to play, the controls are no where near as smooth as they need to be to pull it off either. Anoying characters galore (exept the brilliant merchant), tedious story about something or other, who cares? You wont listen to it, lack of proper zombies, lame cleshe set pieces, no scares and no atmosphere. Some decent boss design and nice graphics (youve seen it all before though and its a rhapsody in browns and grey) and the merchant just scrape a 5 for this. If your desperate for a decent length good looking game get this. Chances are youve got better things to be doing though. Go buy Snake eater or the Resi 1 remake if you want the best adventures the consoles of this generation can offer. Do not be fooled by the hype. Expand
  31. EdR.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome graphics, Innovative game play. The best PS2 game I have played in a long time.
  32. MichaelV.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    This game is better than tacos! (and that's saying a lot)
  33. BlakeY.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great game, a must play.
  34. ChazS.
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    I can't believe how many people are fawning over this game like it's the Second Coming. All right, finally you can actually control your movement in an RE game that's on par with a quality 3rd-person title, but as far as shooting goes forget it because you can't move once you draw your gun and left stick becomes your aim. How backwards ass is that? The scariest thing I can't believe how many people are fawning over this game like it's the Second Coming. All right, finally you can actually control your movement in an RE game that's on par with a quality 3rd-person title, but as far as shooting goes forget it because you can't move once you draw your gun and left stick becomes your aim. How backwards ass is that? The scariest thing about this survival horror game is fumbling through the clumsy controls as you are surrounded by enemies that show up at the end of a cut-scene and have no trouble moving and attacking YOU at the same time. I can appreciate RE fans being diehard about finally getting a game with half-playable controls, and maybe I'm too used to fluid 3rd-person control flow between moving and shooting from playing games like Max Payne and Splinter Cell, but every RE game on GC & PS2 has only been an unintuitive, and frustrating experience. Expand
  35. TylerW.
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Great game!
  36. HandyDude
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much harder and challenging. for those crap players that can't finish on pro bad luck. go play crazy frog racer. great game. Expand
  37. Mel
    Feb 21, 2006
    5
    Straight to the point. Dont buy this. There. The story is standard rubish, the gameplay is as dull as your monotone uncles holiday photos from the desert. Decent enough graphics but we've seen it all before. Too much of the same thing. 'oh but the castle bit' - says some fan. Yawn, no thanks. Just thinking about this game is making me bored so i'll end with some Straight to the point. Dont buy this. There. The story is standard rubish, the gameplay is as dull as your monotone uncles holiday photos from the desert. Decent enough graphics but we've seen it all before. Too much of the same thing. 'oh but the castle bit' - says some fan. Yawn, no thanks. Just thinking about this game is making me bored so i'll end with some recomendations: REmake on the GC, Metal Gear 3, Kill zone, Devil may cry 1+3 and some gems i picked up cheap lately, Total overdose and the punisher. All well worth your money unlike this. Fair play to capcom for trying something new but falls too short by sucking all the fun and scares out of it. Expand
  38. Ahmed
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    it was the best game ever! but it was not as good as god of war.resident evil 4 has good graphics good story a lot of modes and a lot of guns. so i hope there is gonna be a resident evil 5! keep it up.
  39. JamieT.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    How can you give this game any lower then an 8! It's such a fun game to play and has an awesome story to go along with it. It's definantly up there with Half Life 2 and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. I give it a 10!
  40. SamH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest experiences that I have ever had as a game. A great selection of villians, a compelling story and fantastic gameplay make this a near perfect game.
  41. AidanK.
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the environment. Also, this game has tons of replay value (as i have completed the game 6-7 times, and 'Separate Ways' 2-3 times) and the Mercenaries Mini Games are a nice little addition. I also find it great how your weapons and cash are transferred over every time you complete the game. The voice acting is great, the animation is smooth and RE4 gets my 10/10. Expand
  42. KyleG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a game into a memorable and life-impacting experience. It is just a game to me. a good game, but still just a game. Expand
  43. EricP
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen to. I'm not sure why so many people have such a problem with the control scheme in RE4. It's ready weapon, aim, and shoot. What is so difficult about that? I agree I would like to be able to move while shooting also, but it's not really feasible with an over-the-shoulder approach. You would need one finger moving the person, another one aiming, and the other one firing. That would be TOO complicated. Making it a FPS would have been a mistake and pre-rendered graphics are out of the question. The lasersighting is more realistic than having a "crosshair" as someone was saying. You're not going to see a crosshair in real life, and unless you want to go into FP for accurate shooting like in MGS (which still wouldn't allow you to move), get used to it. The knife in this game was the greatest thing the game designers have done with the RE series. Easily equippable with L1 at any time and VERY useful, unlike the previous RE installments. The weapons are upgradeable enough to always keep you interested. Side missions are a bonus. Great enemies and boss fights. Looking forward to RE5. 10/10, hands down! Expand
  44. DanielPereira
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is,is... i don´t have words to describe it! It´s simply great!! Fantastic! I can never get tired of this game, or any RE game to be exact.. Since i played RE for the first time, I loved it and I played almost all RE series! I LOVE RESIDENT EVIL!
  45. JohnG
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I had a lot of fun with this game no matter how many times i beat it i couldnt stop playing. Its one of the best games ive played so far.
  46. ERJ
    Mar 25, 2009
    7
    Although the graphics are fantastic and the accessibilty of shooting, this game still remains partially hyped. I found myself answering the puzzles within short breaths, the scares non-existant and all the "hidden treasure" to be blatant (esp. in the castle). The game managed to create an interesting plot line, but after the castle, the storyline delves into a very atypical ending and the Although the graphics are fantastic and the accessibilty of shooting, this game still remains partially hyped. I found myself answering the puzzles within short breaths, the scares non-existant and all the "hidden treasure" to be blatant (esp. in the castle). The game managed to create an interesting plot line, but after the castle, the storyline delves into a very atypical ending and the loose ends of the story are unnerving. I will also state that the game was a wonder to play through; rather easy, interesting and fun. However, my biggest beefs with RE4 are the way the game managed to not entice me to continue; I found myself thinking, "wow, this is very classic RE" and not in a good way. I personally prefer the claustrophobic interiors of RE2. And worst of all, I wonder how this is a resident evil game, and i find it oddly reminiscent to SH: The Room to the SH series. However, this game does contain substantial gameplay, but the story still remains rather dull to me. Also, I found myself loving Assignment Ada and Separate Ways, more than I did the regular game. 7/10. definitely, not my top 10 of all games. Expand
  47. outphazel
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming your way peace out. Expand
  48. AleksiK.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    One of the best games on PS2. I am amazed that GC version doesn't look so much different from it. Well, now we have zero reasons to buy GC. All cube owners must feel like they have wasted their money.... Thanks Capcom. A great game, and it shows how little there is difference between Gc and PS2. PS: I've played both versions, and PS2 has far more better controls.
  49. SteveW.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Read the reviews here by you guys and saw that you all love this game , my friends who had it on other consoles all told me it was a great game so i bought it and i didnt realise how good it really is in one word WOW details aside buy this game lol buy it now :P
  50. Gazcomsat
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    RE 4 on PS2 is easily the best of the series but God, is it hard! Like all the other Resi games you are never inundated with ammo and similarly here, you have literally the bare minimum to get by with. This can feel a little frustrating when you really want to blow an enemies head off but all you have to do it with is a pistol that seems no more powerful than a pea-shooter. The big RE 4 on PS2 is easily the best of the series but God, is it hard! Like all the other Resi games you are never inundated with ammo and similarly here, you have literally the bare minimum to get by with. This can feel a little frustrating when you really want to blow an enemies head off but all you have to do it with is a pistol that seems no more powerful than a pea-shooter. The big improvement with this RE game has to be the ability to buy new and more powerful weapons and there are plenty available. Once you buy or aquire a weapon you still have to find ammunition as this cannot (unfortunately) be bought. More than once I've found myself with an assortment of 8 different high-power guns and not a single bullet in any of them! The game is programmed so well however that when you need health or bullets you will find them but not in any great number so you have to be extremely careful how you use them. Save points are again via the Typewriter but this time no need for those annoying ink ribbons. These also seem perfectly placed which is vital when the gameplay is this tough. The Bosses are extremely hard with some of the later levels seemingly very long. It's pretty much a certainty that after you have killed a Boss, you will be down to your last bullet and 1 bar of your life. This is the beauty of the game though. The difficulty curve is absolutely spot-on and although there is little margin for error, everything still seems achievable. I can't recommend RE 4 highly enough. Expand
  51. KyleK.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    This is superb, awesome, just wicked. i love this game. the whole game is so good you have to keep on playing it. the extra's as in guns to unlock and characters through mercenaries mode is awesome. i have finished it a lot and im still going. well done capcom.
  52. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best game made for the PS2, from the multiple replays to the extremely well designed cut-scenes and the multiple enemy types, this game is better than most of its competitors. Espectially when you beat it and then there are the Ada missions and the Mercenaries missions. Best game EVER!!!
  53. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure,Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure, occasionally overly difficult enemies, but if you can get past all that, its pretty damn fun.

    I was tempted to give this game a zero to balance out all the undue adulation, but that would be giving in to reactionary polarization. This is just an honest review with an honest score.
    Expand
  54. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil 4 has some very good game modes. It's kind of puzzling, but it's very good. This game gives you hundreds of hours of great gameplay. This game can be a little cheap at times, but its great 8/10.
  55. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Although this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick itAlthough this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick it up for a very cheap price now and you get a brilliant extra mode involving Ada Wong that fits into the game perfectly and its clear that the developers obviously planned this, because if they hadn't surely it shouldn't have been this good, and extra clothes and weapons for you to use. Ok enough about the bonus stuff. There is 20 hours of gameplay to be enjoyed here for first time players, when I first went through it I done it in just under 17 hours, and with all the special weapons I must have set some kind of record in completing it in exactly 2 hours and 43 minutes. Please post a review stating whether you have done the game in less time. Brilliant characters also with great facial animations and some of the most epic boss battles ever, none of them disapoint. Onto the mercenaries which to be honest could have been a game on its own if there had been a couple more levels thrown into it. Check this game out you won't be dissapointed at all. Absolutely the best horror game ever made, and right up there with the best game ever along with the new games. An absolute gem of game. Buy, Buy, Buy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  56. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    The only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reasonThe only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reason I got scared was because i knew I was going to be eaten by some zombies at any moment. Anyway this game has it's cool scary moments and a creepy atmosphere that can't be overlooked, so at the end I keep coming back to play this game once in a while now that I have beaten the **** out of RE5 and platinum'd it, because RE4 is just better. Expand
  57. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and ITHE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Collapse
  58. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    RE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. MyRE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. My one complaint, and it's not even much of a complaint, is the script. The voice acting is solid, but the dialogue itself is fairly clicheed, and sometimes just plain cheesy. Doesn't matter. Once you beat the campaign, there's a crapload of unlockables and extra game modes. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Expand
  59. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that.
    Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot.

    Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE.
    This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same.
    Expand
  60. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives aI'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  61. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  62. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    More of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and ofMore of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and of course the mercenaries (which is a blast). It does however, suffer from getting the ugly stick bonked around its presentation a bit. The character models aren't nearly as sharp and the textures are bit muddy and the sound is just not the same quality the gamecube version had. Of course this is different hardware we're talking about and it mostly does the job very well and is still MILES AHEAD of the PC port which is still an unmitigated disaster done by a completely worthless team of idiots that couldn't port a console game if their lives depended on it. Its still just as fun, just as scary (debatable), features the same hilarious over the top dialog as before and Ashley's rump is still exceedingly fun to get caught start at on a ladder. Expand
  63. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much moreThis is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much more involving. A pro that this game has that over the others is that the enemies aren't necessarily that over the top - they're simple looking (except for maybe the bosses). The fear introduced is from men and women who don't appear to have anything wrong with them - though their clothing is way out of style (like from the early 1900s or something). They only grimace and don't look all that pretty - oh, well, they also attack you with knives and farm gear, and eventually chainsaws and even further on with gatling guns. There are monsters, but in this they aren't pulsating or as cartoon-like as they are in previous and future games. Resident Evil 5 sort of went over board with the monsters to the point where they looked less frightening (sometimes there's more through simplicity). What's also great is this game is directly related to the series and yet is indirectly related because it's an entirely new premise. It's definitely my favorite of the series and is lots of fun - much more survival is in this one over RE5. Expand
  64. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    This game ruined Resident Evil series. It replaced Zombies with parasites, and removed anything that resembled puzzles. It is action game nothing else.
  65. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who areIf you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who are mind controlled and infected by Las Plagas. All these changes reduce the scare factor of the game compared to its predecessors but also makes the gameplay more action orientated, higher paced and makes the controls more responsive and making the A.I more diverse. The Ganados the infected humans you fight in the game are alot more smarter than the zombies and the way they gang up on you and attack you is alot different than the predictable zombie grabbing and blood sucking from the previous games. The Ganados can hit you with their melee weapons either by stabbing you or throwing it when they are far away and even throwing dynamites at you. On top of that those villagers also react differently to your gun shots shooting in the leg will make them limp, shooting them on their arms will cause them to drop their weapons, the Ganados can also get stunned during the combat which will allow the player to go near them and perform some special unarmed moves. All these changes and additions make the gameplay more fun, diverse and less repetitive compared to the previous Resident Evil games. The players finds alot more ammunition and healing items in this game as the enemies that are killed almost always drop the healing items, ammo and money and treasure as well which the player can use to buy and upgrade weapons from a merchant who appears throughout the game. The game also has some interactive cutscenes that make you think you are actually involved in then game even when you are just watching the cutscenes which is also a great addition. There will be also points in the game where you go through areas while protecting a defenseless girl who moves with you she can't fight but she can get hurt and you can use your herbs and First aid sprays to heal her and she will also be helping you solve some puzzles in the game these levels of the game may be frustrating at times but they are still fun and entertaining. The scare factor may have been toned down but that doesn't mean RE4 did not give me the creeps there were alot of points in the game that made me jump and scared me s**tless the part where you first fight the underwater monster, the part where you fight the El-Gigante, the part where you fight the bugs in the sewer and specially the part where you first fight the Re-generator all those moments just scared the crap out of me the first time the played this game. However the scary moments in this game are far less than there were in the previous Resident Evil games. The story is really good despite the only connection being between it and the previous RE being the characters Leon, Ada and Wesker and the mentioning of Umbrella otherwise its a completely different story. The story is far from epic but it is still well told and well written. Creating a chemical to control the humans than taking over america and taking over the world may sound too gimmicky and may have also been a used up formula for the stories in games but it was executed well here. The graphics are really good considering it is ps2 ofcourse ps2 has done better with God of War and MSG games but still the graphics look very good however the ps2 graphics still don't hold a candle up to the Gamecube version but that is because GC had a better graphic card the the PS2 and graphics don't totally make a game. The game's music and sound effects are just superb always suit the environments and the sound effects do a good job of building up tensions and giving the creeps. The voice acting is good however the dialogue can just be cheesy and corny at times. Apart from the main story the game also has the awesome and fun Mercenary Mode, Assignment Ada (a small mission for ada) and the ps2 version has two new extras which were not in the GC version the Movie Browser where all the game's cutscenes can be viewed and the Separate Ways in which you play as Ada where she explains her motives for being involved in the main campaign. These extras just makes the players come back for playing this game for hours and hours and having fun and really increasing the game's already high replay value and lasting appeal. Overall Resident Evil 4 is a great achievement on the part of CAPCOM. 9.5/10 Expand
  66. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    the hard work and research behind this game is remarkable, shinji mikami and team spent 11 days in europe to recreate a very real european experience in the village and the castle. Indeed if u visit a european castle u would see an eerie similarity
  67. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    When i played this game i was very young and it was one of my first games.
    So it all was pretty new for me and i think that made it extra awesome for me because this is still one of my favorite games. And leo still is the king of Resident evil world. And i here many people complaining about the control system but i think it is great.
  68. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story isA triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story is more or less 15 hours long, not counting the bonus material that extends the fun with minigames and side stories. level design is extremely well done and atmospheric, character design is intriguing, the music emphasizes the horror produced by the atmosphere, and the gameplay involves more than simply running and shooting thanks to small but effective variations and some exploration. My only small complain is that while the voice acting is very professionally produced, some of the dialogue is a bit cheesy for a game with serious themes. perhaps the few bad lines of dialogue are intentional from developer capcom as a trowback to the horrendous dialogue in the earlier resident evil games but this is only a very minor thing. A slightly more significant complain i have is that the control scheme is just a bit dated and slow, but effective nonetheless. Expand
  70. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The game stands on its own. Great survival horror moments and action sequences. The quality in every department of this game is superb. Excellent visuals, music, and gameplay. The storyline & gameplay takes a departure from what Resident Evil fans are familiar with. Resident Evil has evolved. Starting with RE4.
  71. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Top notch gaming here to be had. Take a journey back to 2005 where Gordan freeman roamed the earth and ID survived of their good graphics and zombies when RE4 took the series to a whole new level. The aiming is much more pecise than that of the old ones (but I still love 'em) and the creepy atmosphere really made me jump!
  72. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. One of the best resident evil games. Fun and entertaining gameplay, great graphics and sound. Great cast of characters like Ada Wong who is my favourite RE character.
  73. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Brainless story, bad characters and voice acting..still, it's pretty fun once you get the hang of it. The item collecting is also pretty rad. Still, I expected a bit more.
  74. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Resident evil 4 foi um jogo marcante para cada pessoa que jogou e mereçe a nota maxima.Com uma história epica , personagens carismáticos , com graficos incriveis para a época.
  75. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    хорошая игра. читайте биборан по два раза в день!
  76. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Great game!!! Not so great as Gamecube version, because of the cut scenes (not realtime rendered and for that reason there is no point in changing costumes) and some visuals, but gameplay is very addictive. Shinji Mikami made a great game.
  77. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of the series. A masterpiece. The PS2 version of "Resident Evil 4" is one of the console's greatest games. Not just a simple port, Sony's cover of the GameCube classic includes exclusive weapons, costumes and Ada Wong missions. This is a revolutionary sequel that turned the series on its head by completely changing the format. An action game by heart, RE 4 still manages toThe pinnacle of the series. A masterpiece. The PS2 version of "Resident Evil 4" is one of the console's greatest games. Not just a simple port, Sony's cover of the GameCube classic includes exclusive weapons, costumes and Ada Wong missions. This is a revolutionary sequel that turned the series on its head by completely changing the format. An action game by heart, RE 4 still manages to churn out major scares with its extremely tense gameplay. In this installment, Leon S. Kennedy (of RE 2) has been charged with finding the President's missing daughter somewhere in Spain. He eventually discovers that the region has been overrun by people infected by a biological weapon known as Las Palagas. Much shooting ensues. "Resident Evil 4" is a brilliant game that marries the action genre with the survival horror aspect of the franchise. Released a year before "Gears of War", RE4 set the standard of third-person action games with its over-the-shoulder camera view and quick time events. The game itself is about a 20 hour adventure and not one minute is wasted with boring, mundane tasks. Brain-teasing puzzles of the series' past return and the action has been amped up completely. It's a great feeling to knock a zombie down by shooting at its knees only to line up a head shot. RE 4 offers plenty of various firearms, all which can be upgraded at scattered merchant shops. The GameCube version of "Resident Evil 4" might contain sharper visuals, but the PS2 version makes up for it with all of the extra content. It can almost be labeled as a "Director's Cut". This was probably the best game of 2005 and the PS2 arguably has the definitive version of it. Expand
  78. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    It may possess the over the top bad dialogue and storytelling famous in RE, but this only serves to add to the games unique charm. The gameplay is really great, it's got lots of cool elements like the Attache system for limited storage and buying upgrades from a mysterious and hilarious "merchant" It is a scary game no doubt, when you encounter re-generators for example, a horrifyingIt may possess the over the top bad dialogue and storytelling famous in RE, but this only serves to add to the games unique charm. The gameplay is really great, it's got lots of cool elements like the Attache system for limited storage and buying upgrades from a mysterious and hilarious "merchant" It is a scary game no doubt, when you encounter re-generators for example, a horrifying nearly unkillable zombie you're likely to go into panic mode. The visual design is all top notch from the locations to the very detailed character models. It can go from very actiony over the top and fast paced to eery and unsettling in a matter of minutes. It's got lots of awesome unlockable modes and costumes/guns giving it great replayability. It's uniquely awesome Expand
  79. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    By far, the best game in the saga and one of the best games of the world. The story may be a bit... boring (let's keep it like that), but smashing zombie brains and fighting weird-looking monsters has never been that fun. It's just a masterpiece. It's such a shame that the series is not as good as this game due to RE:6 or RE: ORC (I should have imagined that it wouldn't be a good game whenBy far, the best game in the saga and one of the best games of the world. The story may be a bit... boring (let's keep it like that), but smashing zombie brains and fighting weird-looking monsters has never been that fun. It's just a masterpiece. It's such a shame that the series is not as good as this game due to RE:6 or RE: ORC (I should have imagined that it wouldn't be a good game when I saw the title's first letter.) Expand
  80. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Clever, suspenseful, fun, so many words to describe this masterpiece, Resident Evil 4 has to be one of the most played games I have ever invested my time into, the one thing that bothered me was the lack of Resident Evil in this game, what happened to the zombies and survival horror?
  81. May 1, 2013
    10
    Of all the games I have ever owned, this game has sucked the most hours out of me. Love this game and everybody should own it. Graphics, story, and gameplay are the best on the PS2.
  82. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    i haven't played the previous resident evil games and i started with this one and i believe that this game mad the resident evil series what it is today cause this game is perfect in every thing survival horror yep you'll find that action yep you'll find that bad ass bosses and moments yes all that is in here with awesome controls and gameplay with a great story makes this game perfect
  83. May 18, 2014
    9
    This may not be the greatest survival horror game in history but it is the hybrid of action and horror with a over the top shoulder camera angle for better accuracy for the first time in the history of the franchise. But the horror tension is mostly removed comparing it to the trilogy of pure horror; but it showed some of the best graphics of the year, a better camera angle despite theThis may not be the greatest survival horror game in history but it is the hybrid of action and horror with a over the top shoulder camera angle for better accuracy for the first time in the history of the franchise. But the horror tension is mostly removed comparing it to the trilogy of pure horror; but it showed some of the best graphics of the year, a better camera angle despite the lack of horror, customizable weapons, unique enemies and great acting. And you could choose limited ammunition if you don't customize your weapons making the game more difficult than usual. The downside of the game is ASHLEY because she is basically useless; so useless that LEON did not kiss on the end of the game. But overall the game was outstanding with it's improvements except for the survival horror aspect but it became one of my favorites action and horror themed game ever. Expand
  84. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    one of the best resident evil games made sadly after this they went in the completely wrong direction. they shouldve built on top of this but instead they threw everything away.
  85. Jun 21, 2015
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this game is outstanding with its top-notch graphics and sound.. But the problem is: IT'S NOT RESIDENT EVIL !!! The whole "preserving health and ammunition" which gave the previous games a suspenseful and horrific aspect is totally gone!!

    I used to love and try to figure out how I was going to get out of situations such as being cornered by 4 zombies with only 2
    Don't get me wrong, this game is outstanding with its top-notch graphics and sound.. But the problem is: IT'S NOT RESIDENT EVIL !!! The whole "preserving health and ammunition" which gave the previous games a suspenseful and horrific aspect is totally gone!!

    I used to love and try to figure out how I was going to get out of situations such as being cornered by 4 zombies with only 2 shotgun shells remaining...

    In RE4 you will have too much ammo... Enough to waste on Ashley's annoying face !!!
    Expand
  86. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    simply the best survival horror game of all time no other company even capcom itself can make a better game. the game uses if everything to keep the player feel desperate of surviving. the story, the characters, the graphic, the sound.. etc. everything in it is awesome. a game that define survival horror with an RPJ!.
  87. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is the Resident Evil game that proved the franchise could be reinvented and reinvigorated without even having to needlessly throw zombies onto the screen. The new enemies were just as merciless, brutal, and horrible to face, and it worked well. Add in major adjustments to controls, camera, and the atmosphere- the moodier the better it seems, and you've got quite the winning formula.
  88. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    The game is flawless and very well made! i had so much fun playing it and is one of the best games ive played on ps2. Good graphics ,amazing weapons and is quite thrilling. Mercenaries was freaky and it almost made my pants.
  89. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    this is what a game should be like... re4 blew me away and continues to... the characters and storyline are completely addictive. overall one of the best games ive played
  90. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I played through this game AT LEAST 5 times. I had just as much fun the first time as I did the fifth time.

    Resident Evil 4 is not too horrifying, except one level towards the end. This is where you fight dark blue dagger-toothed monster things that cannot be killed, unless you shoot 3 of the parasites on their back. You can cripple them by shooting their legs off, but they regenerate and grow back. (Thus, the reason they are called regenerators.)

    Enough rambling. The game as a whole has decent-okay combat. There are around 12-15 guns you can buy, not counting the unlockable ones that you can get after beating the game.

    The small amount of people who gave this game poor reviews don't seem to have played the game before. There is, in fact other modes than story mode. Assignment Ada, and Missionaries. Missionaries is just a free-play mode where countless hordes of zombies are hurled at you until your chopper arrives. Pretty fun to do after you beat the game and don't feel like playing it again. Assignment Ada isn't that fun, to be frankly honest. Its just replaying a mission as a woman named Ada, except its 500 times harder. The story is pretty long, and there are multiple paths that you are able to take during the game.

    The enemies you face consist of the generic zombie, (a spanish farmer that tries to kill you with pitchforks and knives.) cult group members, (pale people in black cloaks that try to strangle you), enemies with wolverine-like claws that have their eyes stitched shut, and scary-ass chainsaw men/women with bags over their heads. They actually might be scarier than the regnerators I talked about earier.

    All in all, this is a GREAT game. I hope this review helped. :D
    Expand
  91. May 5, 2013
    10
    Simply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the bossSimply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the boss fights.... OMG. These fights are so amazing- Del Lago, El Gigante, Bella Sisters, Straddler, Verdugo and of course the greatest boss fight in the history of the series. The one. The only. Krauser. These moments are amazingly awesome. This game is amazingly awesome. Play it. Expand
  92. May 8, 2013
    9
    Capcom clearly was aiming in a wider public when they made Resident Evil 4.
    Its almost perfect blending of survival horror and action, packed with an addictive gameplay, great story and really beautiful visuals aren't enough to make it the best Resident Evil ever made, but even diehard fans of the series can enjoy it as much as the casual gamer will and i highly recommend it to both.
  93. May 11, 2013
    10
    Simply best game ever!!! still playing this in 2013 and never get bored of playing. I think so new RE games and not as good as this game. Actually i have never counted how many times i have played this game. Its no 1 in my list
  94. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    este juego,fue mi favorito con buena trama E historia,drama y accion,graficos buenisimos,muy buen juego merecible de un 10 y 100 para los criticos,yo lo recomiendo.
  95. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    It’s a great game and I would enthusiastically recommend adding to your play list. It has seriously impressed me and it is a highlight of its time and genre.
  96. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best PS2's era game ever. Wonderful game, spectacular visuals, amazing characters, great weapons and enemies, the scenarios are dark and gritty, something expected from a RE game.
  97. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    An excellent combination of survival horror and third-person shooter action, RE4 delivers in all aspects of a near-perfect and engaging game. As others come and go, Resident Evil 4 will be remembered as a true classic.
  98. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best game on all erath.I played in this game on ps2 pc xbox 360 and on pc again and again. this game have all of need great game graphic (on 2005) gameplay story and music Expand
  99. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    EN: Resident Evil 4 has some good improvements, looks awesome and plays awesome, but the story could be better. A solid 8 feels right.
    PT-BR: Resident Evil 4 apresenta algumas boas melhorias, tem aparência incrível e jogabilidade incrível, mas a história podia ser melhor. Um sólido 8 me parece correto.
  100. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  101. Feb 14, 2011
    0
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and ITHE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]