User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1068 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives aI'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that.
    Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot.

    Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE.
    This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same.
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and ITHE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    The only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reasonThe only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reason I got scared was because i knew I was going to be eaten by some zombies at any moment. Anyway this game has it's cool scary moments and a creepy atmosphere that can't be overlooked, so at the end I keep coming back to play this game once in a while now that I have beaten the **** out of RE5 and platinum'd it, because RE4 is just better. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Although this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick itAlthough this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick it up for a very cheap price now and you get a brilliant extra mode involving Ada Wong that fits into the game perfectly and its clear that the developers obviously planned this, because if they hadn't surely it shouldn't have been this good, and extra clothes and weapons for you to use. Ok enough about the bonus stuff. There is 20 hours of gameplay to be enjoyed here for first time players, when I first went through it I done it in just under 17 hours, and with all the special weapons I must have set some kind of record in completing it in exactly 2 hours and 43 minutes. Please post a review stating whether you have done the game in less time. Brilliant characters also with great facial animations and some of the most epic boss battles ever, none of them disapoint. Onto the mercenaries which to be honest could have been a game on its own if there had been a couple more levels thrown into it. Check this game out you won't be dissapointed at all. Absolutely the best horror game ever made, and right up there with the best game ever along with the new games. An absolute gem of game. Buy, Buy, Buy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil 4 has some very good game modes. It's kind of puzzling, but it's very good. This game gives you hundreds of hours of great gameplay. This game can be a little cheap at times, but its great 8/10.
  7. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure,Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure, occasionally overly difficult enemies, but if you can get past all that, its pretty damn fun.

    I was tempted to give this game a zero to balance out all the undue adulation, but that would be giving in to reactionary polarization. This is just an honest review with an honest score.
    Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best game made for the PS2, from the multiple replays to the extremely well designed cut-scenes and the multiple enemy types, this game is better than most of its competitors. Espectially when you beat it and then there are the Ada missions and the Mercenaries missions. Best game EVER!!!
  9. TonyM
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This game has intense action, hard but fun bosses,amazing guns and easy controls. I love the chainsaws when they cut off your head! There are so many fun secrets to die!!! re4 is the best game ever!!
  10. JaredS
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games ever. The story is excellent and the gameplay is challenging. Yes the controls are very difficult to get used to but IMO make the game much more intense
  11. JohnG
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I had a lot of fun with this game no matter how many times i beat it i couldnt stop playing. Its one of the best games ive played so far.
  12. shailinderm
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    this game is fun but VERY HARD!the bosses health are not shown so that makes it boring.but i still like this game.i would have gave it 10 if it was not so hard.
  13. RJW
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    I loved this game from the look to he controls. Its easily my favorite game for the PS2 and definitely on my top 3 of all time. If you like action you must play this game.
  14. outphazel
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming your way peace out. Expand
  15. KeenanS
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Own one of the greatest games ever made! Expand
  16. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  17. mikeg
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Just finish resident evil 5 and figure i pick up 4 never played it ,,wow its awsome and insane,,don't know which one is better,but do yourself a favor and play this game...i think its longer then 5 and has lots of extra, and no coop and i think thats a good thing cause sheeva can be a pain.
  18. PaulM
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This game deserve a perfect 10 with it's wicked gameplay and tight controls.
  19. CodyB
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    RE4; THE greatest horror masterpiece ever created in the history of horror games and one of my top 10 video games list. From start to finish, this game was, still is, and always will be worth over all game of the year 2005 and all those shit-loads of awards. Imo not all that scary, just disturbing at times but FUN-AS-HELL!!!
  20. NathanD
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 game. re5 is out now, but personally it doesnt compare to the story or playable factor of re4. p.s Bring back the merchant. Expand
  21. AndrewH
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It isnt. This was my first resi game and i found it very easy. Some bits where you must protect ashlee can be tricky (she is totally helpless) and I found the blind enemies difficult to kill but the game gives plenty of ammo and health. Over all its a solid game and well worth a go, especially with the release of 5 just around the corner. Expand
  22. NigeM
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    The best game I've ever played bar none. Yes, its better than any of the GTA's or God of war 2 even. Addictive, atmospheric, and satisfying gameplay. It constantly exceeded my high expectations and the difficulty level was pitch perfect. If resident evil 5 is as good i'll finally upgrade to PS3.
  23. EricP
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen to. I'm not sure why so many people have such a problem with the control scheme in RE4. It's ready weapon, aim, and shoot. What is so difficult about that? I agree I would like to be able to move while shooting also, but it's not really feasible with an over-the-shoulder approach. You would need one finger moving the person, another one aiming, and the other one firing. That would be TOO complicated. Making it a FPS would have been a mistake and pre-rendered graphics are out of the question. The lasersighting is more realistic than having a "crosshair" as someone was saying. You're not going to see a crosshair in real life, and unless you want to go into FP for accurate shooting like in MGS (which still wouldn't allow you to move), get used to it. The knife in this game was the greatest thing the game designers have done with the RE series. Easily equippable with L1 at any time and VERY useful, unlike the previous RE installments. The weapons are upgradeable enough to always keep you interested. Side missions are a bonus. Great enemies and boss fights. Looking forward to RE5. 10/10, hands down! Expand
  24. AnonymousMC
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaalythis game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaaly care as long as you play one of these games execpt resident evil 3 Expand
  25. DanielPereira
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is,is... i don´t have words to describe it! It´s simply great!! Fantastic! I can never get tired of this game, or any RE game to be exact.. Since i played RE for the first time, I loved it and I played almost all RE series! I LOVE RESIDENT EVIL!
  26. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...!
  27. SamH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest experiences that I have ever had as a game. A great selection of villians, a compelling story and fantastic gameplay make this a near perfect game.
  28. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made for Playstation2! Good story, excellent graphics. It
  29. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, and I think it has some of the best character models and backgrounds on the PS2. The atmosphere is really well-realized: dark, creepy, and best of all, grimy. -The sound was memorable in that subtle sort of way: it's scary when it needs to be, but for the most part the game is silent and uses sound effects to get the mood set. -The characters are hollow but fun to watch on screen. The story is standard Resident Evil nonsense: anyone who plays the series for the story has probably had their brain eaten by zombies. -But the gameplay is what it's all about. The game is fun from beginning to end. The weapons are all great; there's not an over-abundance of ammo lying around so it's challenging. The mutated townsfolk are a nice divergence from the previous zombies, and they're crazy when they run at you. The AI is quite intelligent and challenging. And for those who said there wasn't a single scary moment in the game, well that's cuz this isn't like the old Resident Evil's where things jump out at you. It's a lot harder to do that in true 3-D than pre-rendered games. There's tons of replay value with the different costumes and side-missions. -Yep, definitely one of the best games for the PS2, and one of my all-time favorites. Expand
  30. KyleG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a game into a memorable and life-impacting experience. It is just a game to me. a good game, but still just a game. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]