User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1068 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RenniV.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Fun, exciting and easy to play. Best of the series!
  2. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  3. AlfredG.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    I've played and past this game 20 times and still it's not starting to get boring I used to play it every Saturday and Sunday from 5:00am to 11:00pm
  4. JamesBenjamin
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, the graphics are a work of art, and the gameplay is awesome.
  5. ParkerO'Bryant
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Way better than the Gamecube version.
  6. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is allThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  7. AnsonG.
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    1st, i thought this game was boring at all. When i play this game, i feel very impressive. No wonder this game was 1st award. i doubt this (ps2) Resident Evil 4 is best then Resident Evil 4(Gamecube) was created in 2004. Anyway i very grateful about this game. Good work, Capcom.
  8. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    If you were not interested with previous RE games, RE4 will manipulate your brain and force you to love it, while you'll be enjoying every microsecond of it.
  9. RichardB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A great game, albeit maybe a little overrated. Being my first Resident Evil game, the slow movement and turning was a little jarring, but I got used to it. The shooting is very fun, the weapon selection is great, the graphics are awesome, and the sound is pretty good, but some of the dialogue is very cheezy. An excellent game? Yes. Best action game of all time? Not likely.
  10. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This game i would say is the best in the franchise they got rid of the clunky controls the laser sight had its few flaws like if there was more than one person on the screen it sometimes was hard to get a good shoot. the story was ok i could deal with it. and i liked the bonus content on this game. overall its a good game with some flaws. but i would sugest getting it for the gamecube its better.
  11. mikeg
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Just finish resident evil 5 and figure i pick up 4 never played it ,,wow its awsome and insane,,don't know which one is better,but do yourself a favor and play this game...i think its longer then 5 and has lots of extra, and no coop and i think thats a good thing cause sheeva can be a pain.
  12. JJReyes
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Man, this game just owns. I am so happy it made its way onto the PS2. I love to extra missions too.
  13. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of its realism and thats too bad cause is would have been a truly Flawless adventure.Above all its an amazing game and among the best horror games ever. Expand
  14. BobDole
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! Absolutely MUST HAVE!!!!
  15. TomL.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    The Best PSTwo Game That Ever Did Exist. Period.
  16. LewisD.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Same as on Gamecube, with more extras.
  17. Verbalkinch
    Oct 26, 2005
    8
    I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally makes RE relevant again. I dare you to encounter the chainsaw guy in close quarters with no upgrades to the basic handgun. The immersion is amazing. It has some of the best elements of gaming dating back to atari. If this game had come sooner in the GameCube lifespan, its no doubt it would be a stronger console contender. You can have the best game on the market and the console for Sony and Microsoft's price point. This is the best time to be a gamer with multiple consoles. . RE4 has all of the polish of Kojima's METAL GEAR and the gameplay depth of Microsofts's HALO. If only there was the sense of free roaming akin to Rockstar's GTA series. My only qualms are linear gameplay and only semi interactive environments. But those are minor, eight out of ten easy for the PS2 version, I did like the extra missions even if the story still takes a backseat to the action. CAPCOM is the real winner, if you haven't played this game now that its on two consoles, you are NOT a gamer. Expand
  18. BobK.
    Oct 27, 2005
    6
    Could've been great, but the lack of multiplayer and co-op mode makes RE4 a single-player experience only hermits can enjoy. It's a shame because there was plenty of potential. Now, RE4 is nothing but a pseudo-FPS (1 player to boot) with an unoriginal plotline.
  19. warmonger
    Oct 4, 2005
    5
    I can't believe that this game got such a great rating for Gamecube,there is nothing really that special about this version of Resident evil. I found the graphics really nice( lots of outdoor environments) but the bad controls simply took any enjoyment out of it (for me anyway) and why is it so difficult to kill these enemy's? ... even when shot directly in the head, theyI can't believe that this game got such a great rating for Gamecube,there is nothing really that special about this version of Resident evil. I found the graphics really nice( lots of outdoor environments) but the bad controls simply took any enjoyment out of it (for me anyway) and why is it so difficult to kill these enemy's? ... even when shot directly in the head, they continue to advance??? I'm a huge Resident evil fan, I loved the past games (except the outbreak series) and movies but I'll pass on this one, it's nothing but frustration...what a disappointment!!! Collapse
  20. JohnK.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or you'll be missing something spectacular. Expand
  21. NightFallJosh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling storyline make the title a joy to play for every second your engrossed, the re-play factor is great with you completing the game numerous times to unlock all the weapons and test them out on it's toughest enemies. If you didn't like this game, throw away your console because, quite frankly theres no point in owning one if this doesn't get you going. Expand
  22. BrianS.
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    Because of insane critical praise I tried to play RE4 at least a dozen times between GC & PS2. Because of the worst aiming controls ever, I have concluded this is the most overrated game ever. I'm used to playing games where you can actually move with a weapon drawn, and L stick is always move, and R stick is camera/view. Having to use L stick to aim once you draw a weapon and being Because of insane critical praise I tried to play RE4 at least a dozen times between GC & PS2. Because of the worst aiming controls ever, I have concluded this is the most overrated game ever. I'm used to playing games where you can actually move with a weapon drawn, and L stick is always move, and R stick is camera/view. Having to use L stick to aim once you draw a weapon and being rooted to your position is clumsy, difficult to get used to, and what ruined any chance of me enjoying this game. Try Splinter Cell Chaos Theory and you'll understand why I couldn't tolerate RE4. Expand
  23. B
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Great game!!!! The reveiws are so dead on. This game brought life back into a genre that was stagnant. The only thing I thought it was missing was a more stealth approach to attacking the enemies. i.e.- A metal gear solid approach.
  24. PDN
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long time RE fans and newcomers alike! Expand
  25. JoseA.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    While the Gamecube version's Graphic's are slightly better than PS2's, I m giving the edge to the PS2 for it's insanely entertaining addition "Seperate Ways".
  26. TimP.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've played alot of games in my time and found this tense, atmospheric and just a pleasure to play. A multi-player option might have been nice on the mercenaries game, but I'm nitpicking really. Just superb. Expand
  27. AdamN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This games is brilliant! One of my faourites and I have completed it, but started playing it again straight after in the new outfit! Truely magical!
  28. SamP.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts "Action/Shooter" and "Survival Horror" in a blender to make a smoothie of AWESOME. The enemies are pure awesome. The bosses are pure awesome. The interactive cutscenes are pure awesome. The weapons are pure awesome. Detractors either just don't get it or can't or won't handle the controls. Expand
  29. AkeemG.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review short all I have to say is that this game is very neat and that it WILL NOT dissapoint you! Expand
  30. DerekL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The camera angles put you right in the action. That combined with the great controls, commands, 100 out of 10 point graphics, logic requirements, and just plain awesome storyline, wepons, and minigames makes this game 1,000,000 out of 10 in my opinion.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]