User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 659 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 659

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Completely amazing! A perfect action, horror and survival game, the story is amazing, graphics are really awesome and the gameplay is really funny and interactive.
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра, начав в неё играть вас может она и не впечатит, но потом...вы удивитесь как события развиваются.интересные противники, ужасные мутации игеймпей который вас не отпустит,игра в моей памяти навсегда.есть игры с более выдающимся сюжетом, так же серьёзный недостаток в игре это отсутствие быстрой смены оружия как в re5(приходится каждый раз лезть в инвентарь что снижает эффект борьбы с зомби), моя оценка игре 97/100...абсолютный шедевр Expand
  4. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certain level of challenge without it being frustrating and unfair. With there now being HD releases on Xbox 360 and PS3, there is no reason not to own this wonderful game. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best game made for the PS2, from the multiple replays to the extremely well designed cut-scenes and the multiple enemy types, this game is better than most of its competitors. Espectially when you beat it and then there are the Ada missions and the Mercenaries missions. Best game EVER!!!
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Although this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick it up for a very cheap price now and you get a brilliant extra mode involving Ada Wong that fits into the game perfectly and its clear that the developers obviously planned this, because if they hadn't surely it shouldn't have been this good, and extra clothes and weapons for you to use. Ok enough about the bonus stuff. There is 20 hours of gameplay to be enjoyed here for first time players, when I first went through it I done it in just under 17 hours, and with all the special weapons I must have set some kind of record in completing it in exactly 2 hours and 43 minutes. Please post a review stating whether you have done the game in less time. Brilliant characters also with great facial animations and some of the most epic boss battles ever, none of them disapoint. Onto the mercenaries which to be honest could have been a game on its own if there had been a couple more levels thrown into it. Check this game out you won't be dissapointed at all. Absolutely the best horror game ever made, and right up there with the best game ever along with the new games. An absolute gem of game. Buy, Buy, Buy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative and the best survival horror game of all-time. IT"S ACTUALLY SCARY They should write that on the cover. Pure Genius
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    The only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reason I got scared was because i knew I was going to be eaten by some zombies at any moment. Anyway this game has it's cool scary moments and a creepy atmosphere that can't be overlooked, so at the end I keep coming back to play this game once in a while now that I have beaten the **** out of RE5 and platinum'd it, because RE4 is just better. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Expand
  11. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    RE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. My one complaint, and it's not even much of a complaint, is the script. The voice acting is solid, but the dialogue itself is fairly clicheed, and sometimes just plain cheesy. Doesn't matter. Once you beat the campaign, there's a crapload of unlockables and extra game modes. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Expand
  12. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good. I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same. Expand
  13. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  14. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  15. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Perrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfection.
  16. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much more involving. A pro that this game has that over the others is that the enemies aren't necessarily that over the top - they're simple looking (except for maybe the bosses). The fear introduced is from men and women who don't appear to have anything wrong with them - though their clothing is way out of style (like from the early 1900s or something). They only grimace and don't look all that pretty - oh, well, they also attack you with knives and farm gear, and eventually chainsaws and even further on with gatling guns. There are monsters, but in this they aren't pulsating or as cartoon-like as they are in previous and future games. Resident Evil 5 sort of went over board with the monsters to the point where they looked less frightening (sometimes there's more through simplicity). What's also great is this game is directly related to the series and yet is indirectly related because it's an entirely new premise. It's definitely my favorite of the series and is lots of fun - much more survival is in this one over RE5. Expand
  17. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who are mind controlled and infected by Las Plagas. All these changes reduce the scare factor of the game compared to its predecessors but also makes the gameplay more action orientated, higher paced and makes the controls more responsive and making the A.I more diverse. The Ganados the infected humans you fight in the game are alot more smarter than the zombies and the way they gang up on you and attack you is alot different than the predictable zombie grabbing and blood sucking from the previous games. The Ganados can hit you with their melee weapons either by stabbing you or throwing it when they are far away and even throwing dynamites at you. On top of that those villagers also react differently to your gun shots shooting in the leg will make them limp, shooting them on their arms will cause them to drop their weapons, the Ganados can also get stunned during the combat which will allow the player to go near them and perform some special unarmed moves. All these changes and additions make the gameplay more fun, diverse and less repetitive compared to the previous Resident Evil games. The players finds alot more ammunition and healing items in this game as the enemies that are killed almost always drop the healing items, ammo and money and treasure as well which the player can use to buy and upgrade weapons from a merchant who appears throughout the game. The game also has some interactive cutscenes that make you think you are actually involved in then game even when you are just watching the cutscenes which is also a great addition. There will be also points in the game where you go through areas while protecting a defenseless girl who moves with you she can't fight but she can get hurt and you can use your herbs and First aid sprays to heal her and she will also be helping you solve some puzzles in the game these levels of the game may be frustrating at times but they are still fun and entertaining. The scare factor may have been toned down but that doesn't mean RE4 did not give me the creeps there were alot of points in the game that made me jump and scared me s**tless the part where you first fight the underwater monster, the part where you fight the El-Gigante, the part where you fight the bugs in the sewer and specially the part where you first fight the Re-generator all those moments just scared the crap out of me the first time the played this game. However the scary moments in this game are far less than there were in the previous Resident Evil games. The story is really good despite the only connection being between it and the previous RE being the characters Leon, Ada and Wesker and the mentioning of Umbrella otherwise its a completely different story. The story is far from epic but it is still well told and well written. Creating a chemical to control the humans than taking over america and taking over the world may sound too gimmicky and may have also been a used up formula for the stories in games but it was executed well here. The graphics are really good considering it is ps2 ofcourse ps2 has done better with God of War and MSG games but still the graphics look very good however the ps2 graphics still don't hold a candle up to the Gamecube version but that is because GC had a better graphic card the the PS2 and graphics don't totally make a game. The game's music and sound effects are just superb always suit the environments and the sound effects do a good job of building up tensions and giving the creeps. The voice acting is good however the dialogue can just be cheesy and corny at times. Apart from the main story the game also has the awesome and fun Mercenary Mode, Assignment Ada (a small mission for ada) and the ps2 version has two new extras which were not in the GC version the Movie Browser where all the game's cutscenes can be viewed and the Separate Ways in which you play as Ada where she explains her motives for being involved in the main campaign. These extras just makes the players come back for playing this game for hours and hours and having fun and really increasing the game's already high replay value and lasting appeal. Overall Resident Evil 4 is a great achievement on the part of CAPCOM. 9.5/10 Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    the hard work and research behind this game is remarkable, shinji mikami and team spent 11 days in europe to recreate a very real european experience in the village and the castle. Indeed if u visit a european castle u would see an eerie similarity
  19. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    When i played this game i was very young and it was one of my first games.
    So it all was pretty new for me and i think that made it extra awesome for me because this is still one of my favorite games. And leo still is the king of Resident evil world. And i here many people complaining about the control system but i think it is great.
  20. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story is more or less 15 hours long, not counting the bonus material that extends the fun with minigames and side stories. level design is extremely well done and atmospheric, character design is intriguing, the music emphasizes the horror produced by the atmosphere, and the gameplay involves more than simply running and shooting thanks to small but effective variations and some exploration. My only small complain is that while the voice acting is very professionally produced, some of the dialogue is a bit cheesy for a game with serious themes. perhaps the few bad lines of dialogue are intentional from developer capcom as a trowback to the horrendous dialogue in the earlier resident evil games but this is only a very minor thing. A slightly more significant complain i have is that the control scheme is just a bit dated and slow, but effective nonetheless. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody excellent! The combat, voice acting, graphics, story and characters are all up and above average. It is one of the most atmospheric and suspenseful experiences in gaming, and will stand out as a classic for years to come. Excellent, but is difficult to find in stores and on the internet.
  23. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The game stands on its own. Great survival horror moments and action sequences. The quality in every department of this game is superb. Excellent visuals, music, and gameplay. The storyline & gameplay takes a departure from what Resident Evil fans are familiar with. Resident Evil has evolved. Starting with RE4.
  24. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  25. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action oriented anyway, given what they are and what they're dealing with. The game itself is a ton of fun, very suspenseful, and on top of that goes on and on for probably 20-25 hours in just the story mode alone. Expand
  26. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Top notch gaming here to be had. Take a journey back to 2005 where Gordan freeman roamed the earth and ID survived of their good graphics and zombies when RE4 took the series to a whole new level. The aiming is much more pecise than that of the old ones (but I still love 'em) and the creepy atmosphere really made me jump!
  27. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. One of the best resident evil games. Fun and entertaining gameplay, great graphics and sound. Great cast of characters like Ada Wong who is my favourite RE character.
  28. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Resident evil 4 foi um jogo marcante para cada pessoa que jogou e mereçe a nota maxima.Com uma história epica , personagens carismáticos , com graficos incriveis para a época.
  29. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    хорошая игра. читайте биборан по два раза в день!
  30. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Great game!!! Not so great as Gamecube version, because of the cut scenes (not realtime rendered and for that reason there is no point in changing costumes) and some visuals, but gameplay is very addictive. Shinji Mikami made a great game.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]