User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 965 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 965
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра,мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра, начав в неё играть вас может она и не впечатит, но потом...вы удивитесь как события развиваются.интересные противники, ужасные мутации игеймпей который вас не отпустит,игра в моей памяти навсегда.есть игры с более выдающимся сюжетом, так же серьёзный недостаток в игре это отсутствие быстрой смены оружия как в re5(приходится каждый раз лезть в инвентарь что снижает эффект борьбы с зомби), моя оценка игре 97/100...абсолютный шедевр Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is not only the best survival horror game ever but in my opinion the best game ever. The story is great, there is lots of action and great boss fights.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    It may possess the over the top bad dialogue and storytelling famous in RE, but this only serves to add to the games unique charm. The gameplay is really great, it's got lots of cool elements like the Attache system for limited storage and buying upgrades from a mysterious and hilarious "merchant" It is a scary game no doubt, when you encounter re-generators for example, a horrifyingIt may possess the over the top bad dialogue and storytelling famous in RE, but this only serves to add to the games unique charm. The gameplay is really great, it's got lots of cool elements like the Attache system for limited storage and buying upgrades from a mysterious and hilarious "merchant" It is a scary game no doubt, when you encounter re-generators for example, a horrifying nearly unkillable zombie you're likely to go into panic mode. The visual design is all top notch from the locations to the very detailed character models. It can go from very actiony over the top and fast paced to eery and unsettling in a matter of minutes. It's got lots of awesome unlockable modes and costumes/guns giving it great replayability. It's uniquely awesome Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    By far, the best game in the saga and one of the best games of the world. The story may be a bit... boring (let's keep it like that), but smashing zombie brains and fighting weird-looking monsters has never been that fun. It's just a masterpiece. It's such a shame that the series is not as good as this game due to RE:6 or RE: ORC (I should have imagined that it wouldn't be a good game whenBy far, the best game in the saga and one of the best games of the world. The story may be a bit... boring (let's keep it like that), but smashing zombie brains and fighting weird-looking monsters has never been that fun. It's just a masterpiece. It's such a shame that the series is not as good as this game due to RE:6 or RE: ORC (I should have imagined that it wouldn't be a good game when I saw the title's first letter.) Expand
  5. May 1, 2013
    10
    Of all the games I have ever owned, this game has sucked the most hours out of me. Love this game and everybody should own it. Graphics, story, and gameplay are the best on the PS2.
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    i haven't played the previous resident evil games and i started with this one and i believe that this game mad the resident evil series what it is today cause this game is perfect in every thing survival horror yep you'll find that action yep you'll find that bad ass bosses and moments yes all that is in here with awesome controls and gameplay with a great story makes this game perfect
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    one of the best resident evil games made sadly after this they went in the completely wrong direction. they shouldve built on top of this but instead they threw everything away.
  8. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    simply the best survival horror game of all time no other company even capcom itself can make a better game. the game uses if everything to keep the player feel desperate of surviving. the story, the characters, the graphic, the sound.. etc. everything in it is awesome. a game that define survival horror with an RPJ!.
  9. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    The game is flawless and very well made! i had so much fun playing it and is one of the best games ive played on ps2. Good graphics ,amazing weapons and is quite thrilling. Mercenaries was freaky and it almost made my pants.
  10. May 5, 2013
    10
    Simply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the bossSimply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the boss fights.... OMG. These fights are so amazing- Del Lago, El Gigante, Bella Sisters, Straddler, Verdugo and of course the greatest boss fight in the history of the series. The one. The only. Krauser. These moments are amazingly awesome. This game is amazingly awesome. Play it. Expand
  11. May 11, 2013
    10
    Simply best game ever!!! still playing this in 2013 and never get bored of playing. I think so new RE games and not as good as this game. Actually i have never counted how many times i have played this game. Its no 1 in my list
  12. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    este juego,fue mi favorito con buena trama E historia,drama y accion,graficos buenisimos,muy buen juego merecible de un 10 y 100 para los criticos,yo lo recomiendo.
  13. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  14. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best PS2's era game ever. Wonderful game, spectacular visuals, amazing characters, great weapons and enemies, the scenarios are dark and gritty, something expected from a RE game.
  15. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best game on all erath.I played in this game on ps2 pc xbox 360 and on pc again and again. this game have all of need great game graphic (on 2005) gameplay story and music Expand
  16. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Along with Silent Hill 2, this is THE Survival Horror game. It's amazing, innovative, scary. Controls are amazing, graphics are good. The only downside is probably "LEON! LEON!". But that is nothing compared to the rest of the game.
  17. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This game is creepy. The first and the best the "new" Resident Evil game, you are taken to a cult village in Spain to rescue the presidents daughter. The more you discover about the cult and your various encounters with the villagers (who have parasites called Las Plagas in their head) make you nervous to play this game.i. 2004 these graphics were insane and still hold up today. Plus, goodThis game is creepy. The first and the best the "new" Resident Evil game, you are taken to a cult village in Spain to rescue the presidents daughter. The more you discover about the cult and your various encounters with the villagers (who have parasites called Las Plagas in their head) make you nervous to play this game.i. 2004 these graphics were insane and still hold up today. Plus, good voice acting in this franchise is a change and Leon actually sounds believable. The gameplay is smooth and precise, for example it is hard to get a direct shot without the gun moving because it takes in real life factors like breathing. Now people complain it lost its survival horror roots with this game (and I agree the series eventually did) but if you play that opening village scene without terror (especially when chainsaw man comes out) you are probably not human. So go on, prepared to get scared and return to a time of good Resident Evil games, and the only good Resident Evil game that has a good story, good gameplay, and good graphics. It's not the original GameCube version but in some aspects the PS2 version is better. So play it, just bring an extra pair of pants. Expand
  18. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Simply put, One of the best games EVER made. If u cant enjoy this, u seriously need help. To this date i enjoy the game EVERY **** time i play it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  19. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    A game that change the traditional style of his ancestors, to make a game that had awkward cameras and clumsy controls to another completely different, clearly frame trend to another resident evils
  20. May 1, 2014
    10
    This game is the best game in the series, besides that was the beginning of a gender change in Resident Evil. The gameplay is awesome and the graphics too, deserves perfect score.
  21. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This game has virtually nothing wrong with it. From the moment I started playing it hooked on to me and never let go, the game in my opinion is a perfect blend of action and horror which has never been successfully replicated since. In my mind, it's a masterpiece.
  22. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    This is THE best action/horror game I have ever played and one of my all time favorites.
    The feature that makes it so special and unique is it's brilliant and memorable atmosphere which makes you really identify with the main character. The switch between action/horror/relief/tension building is perfectly done and leaves you in awe. I still play and enjoy this game today, when the
    This is THE best action/horror game I have ever played and one of my all time favorites.
    The feature that makes it so special and unique is it's brilliant and memorable atmosphere which makes you really identify with the main character. The switch between action/horror/relief/tension building is perfectly done and leaves you in awe. I still play and enjoy this game today, when the nostalgia feeling hits me.
    Expand
  23. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This game is beyond amazing. I've replayed and beat this game over 20 times. This game is very scary and intense. With new game play mechanics we didn't see in the previous installments, it was such a surprise. Even though this game didn't offer the boring slow zombies, it did offer amazing and scary new enemies. Very happy I've played this game during my childhood.
  24. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo,Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo, caçando tesouros, upando as armas com o Merchant é fantástico. A jogabilidade é perfeita e dá uma ampla liberdade ao jogador. Os puzzles estão presentes e são muito bem feitos. Mesmo com um enredo relativamente fraco, não dá pra diminuir os méritos do game. Sua qualidade é indiscutível! Se ainda não jogou, procure RE4 o mais rápido possível, versões não faltam pra isso. Expand
  25. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and the generators which were scary as **** sometimes hilarious jumpscares from snakes. great story and voice acting. amazing weapons and Quick Time events.
    Expand
  26. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    my #1 game all the time Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant .............................................
  27. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games,This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games, expect to be spooked at some point or another, even myself which I rarely ever get spooked. Expand
  28. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    Two words are going to explain this game:Intense and Amazing !!! Easily the best game of the franchise and my best game of 2005 with Gta:San Andreas for the PC.
  29. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Assieme a Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots e a Kingdom Hearts II,questo è il miglior videogioco che io abbia mai giocato in tutta la mia vita.Il migliore.
  30. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    My favorite Resident Evil game, and I've been a fan since day one too. Although the zombies have been replaced, the cunning and creepiness this gem brought to the table makes up for staying with old and familiar. Beautiful game.
  31. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Best RE game of all time in my opinion (just few step ahead from RE2). You must play this game.
    Survival horror evolved thanks to this game, the third person shooting system just just awesome.
    It brought a new experience to the survival horror games. The story is pretty interesting, the characters are wonderful developed, everyone is interesting and has an important role in the game.
    Best RE game of all time in my opinion (just few step ahead from RE2). You must play this game.
    Survival horror evolved thanks to this game, the third person shooting system just just awesome.
    It brought a new experience to the survival horror games.
    The story is pretty interesting, the characters are wonderful developed, everyone is interesting and has an important role in the game. The atmosphere and the enemies design are top notched for the PS2 console. It's a classic which will live through the time. Few of the games I will score as 10.
    Expand
  32. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    THE BEST OF THE BEST AND WILL FOREVER REMAIN THE BEST! one day I shall dig up the PS2 AS I wasted $20 on the Xbox 360 version and the controls SUCK ON THE Xbox 360 Version! (Or I'm just not as calm as I was when RE4 for PS2 Released! LOL! anyways PS2 VERSION FOREVER! one day I will get into it again! I just realized that it was the 10th anniversary for RE4 Last Month! Brings heavyTHE BEST OF THE BEST AND WILL FOREVER REMAIN THE BEST! one day I shall dig up the PS2 AS I wasted $20 on the Xbox 360 version and the controls SUCK ON THE Xbox 360 Version! (Or I'm just not as calm as I was when RE4 for PS2 Released! LOL! anyways PS2 VERSION FOREVER! one day I will get into it again! I just realized that it was the 10th anniversary for RE4 Last Month! Brings heavy emotions knowing how old this game is! STILL AMAZING! Expand
  33. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    I was very happy to discover this game for my console back in 2006. It was one of the first games I did play on PS2. I love the whole franchise, but this game is something special. The first game I saw PS2 new features like button combinations during cutscenes and vibro-effects. I liked the game so much that I completed it more then 10 times during one year. The plot is also interesting.I was very happy to discover this game for my console back in 2006. It was one of the first games I did play on PS2. I love the whole franchise, but this game is something special. The first game I saw PS2 new features like button combinations during cutscenes and vibro-effects. I liked the game so much that I completed it more then 10 times during one year. The plot is also interesting. And the music - wow! A masterpiece! Expand
  34. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    um dos melhores jogos que ja joguei, é o melhor desde re 2. O jogo pode não conter mais aquele terror como nos anteriores mas pra mim ainda é perfeito
  35. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    i dont really think that 5000 letters are enough to describe how perfect this game is !! if you have the chance to get it, JUST DO IT !!!! best game ever 1000000000000000000000/10
  36. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it. Expand
  37. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    Resident evil 4 is a masterpiece, the 2nd greatest game in the series. the graphics are stunning for the time, the cut scenes and voice acting are amazing. The game play is so much fun and very well paced. the game's level design is very similar to 2009's RE 5 but much more polished and more like the first 3 games in terms of style.A pretty long game with tons of extras and guns to tryResident evil 4 is a masterpiece, the 2nd greatest game in the series. the graphics are stunning for the time, the cut scenes and voice acting are amazing. The game play is so much fun and very well paced. the game's level design is very similar to 2009's RE 5 but much more polished and more like the first 3 games in terms of style.A pretty long game with tons of extras and guns to try keep the game long and fresh and never gets old.
    9.7/10
    Expand
  38. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    This one of my Favorite game of all time. This game had a new story, new gameplay, great graphics. The cutscenes were great . this Resident Evil wasn't like the previous ones. This was less Horror more action and more fun to play
  39. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Although the PS2 version is the second most inferior version of the game (second only to the original PC port), it is still fundamentally the same game. As Resident Evil 4 has been ported countless times to various consoles, there is not excuse not to play it.
  40. Sep 25, 2015
    10
    This is the best game for ps2, that I have played. I've unlocked everything, worked the glitches, everything and it is still fun to play after all of that, speed running is great. You beat the game once and your unstoppable if you have the cash for your reward that is. That's the only detractor I see, but then beat pro mode, then you really have done something. Unlock ablest don't carryThis is the best game for ps2, that I have played. I've unlocked everything, worked the glitches, everything and it is still fun to play after all of that, speed running is great. You beat the game once and your unstoppable if you have the cash for your reward that is. That's the only detractor I see, but then beat pro mode, then you really have done something. Unlock ablest don't carry over difficulties btw. If you beat the mercenaries with max ratings in all of them you get 1 hit killer for everything but the multi stage fights. My other bone on this game is that it set the stage for RE5, which wasn't a bad game it just wasn't RE. Expand
  41. Oct 4, 2015
    10
    Horas y horas de juego ( me lo pase 11 veces ), ESPECTACULAR ...el primer Resident Evil que jugué y lo considero estar en el top 5 de los mejores juegos de la play 2 . Se puede decir la única cosa negativa era la historia que era muy sencilla pero todo lo demás era música celestial en mis oídos . ! MORIR ES VIVIR !
  42. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best action games ever. It has incredible atmosphere and aesthetics, and delivers a frightening and intense experience. So much fun to play time and again; once you beat it, you just want to play it over again. The combat mechanics are amazing, the enemies are unique and varied, and the plot, while a little bizarre sometimes, is nonetheless engaging. One of the best, andSimply one of the best action games ever. It has incredible atmosphere and aesthetics, and delivers a frightening and intense experience. So much fun to play time and again; once you beat it, you just want to play it over again. The combat mechanics are amazing, the enemies are unique and varied, and the plot, while a little bizarre sometimes, is nonetheless engaging. One of the best, and a true milestone in the survival horror genre. Expand
  43. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    O Que dizer desse jogo? É simplesmente o melhor jogo que já joguei, sim é o melhor jogo que já joguei e olha que já joguei muitos jogos bons, realmente bons, mas Resident Evil 4 tem algo que nenhum outro jogo tem e acho que nunca terá: Rejogabilidade Verdadeira. O Game foi lançado em 2005 e até hoje eu jogo aqui no meu humilde PS2, faz mais de 10 anos e eu simplesmente não consigo meO Que dizer desse jogo? É simplesmente o melhor jogo que já joguei, sim é o melhor jogo que já joguei e olha que já joguei muitos jogos bons, realmente bons, mas Resident Evil 4 tem algo que nenhum outro jogo tem e acho que nunca terá: Rejogabilidade Verdadeira. O Game foi lançado em 2005 e até hoje eu jogo aqui no meu humilde PS2, faz mais de 10 anos e eu simplesmente não consigo me enjoar desse game, é simplesmente um jogo de outro mundo.

    Sei que Resident Evil 4 é um game que foi e ainda é muito criticado pelos fãs da franquia Resident Evil pelo fato de que, diferente da trilogia clássica de PS1, RE4 não é um game de survival horror, mas sim um exímio jogo de ação. Ao meu ver não sei muito o que dizer sobre isso, é verdade que RE4 não é um jogo de horror mas também não é somente um jogo de ação, é muito mais do que isso. É um jogo inovador em todos os sentidos, uma verdadeira Obra-Prima. O game conta com gráficos excelentes, ambientações fantásticas e bem detalhadas, que variam desde Vilas espanholas, um majestoso Castelo e uma Ilha onde ocorrem diversos experimentos.

    Mas além da qualidade nas ambientações do game, temos muitos outros fatores positivos em Resident Evil 4, como por exemplo: RE4 conta com personagens carismáticos e muito marcantes, como o Leon, o protagonista do game, que antes havia aparecido em Resident Evil 2 ao lado de Claire, temos também Ada Wong, que retorna com muita classe, com um papel muito importante na história. Temos também a adorável (ou para muitos, a terrível) Ashley, que é a filha do presidente dos EUA e que apesar de muitos considerarem ela irritante, ainda assim ela é um personagem muito marcante. Falando em filha do presidente, nosso objetivo principal é entregar ela para seu pai, por isso passamos por tantas encrencas durante o game. Outros pontos fortes para mim são os inimigos, música e sons durante nossa jogatina, que são espetaculares, cada um desses fatores, os inimigos em particular são o que fazem eu mais gostar do game e na minha opinião, TODOS os inimigos são marcantes.

    Um fato que alguns fãs da franquia não gostaram em Resident Evil 4, foi a substituição dos zumbis pelos ganados, sim, RE4 não possui zumbis, nossos inimigos dessa vez são pessoas que possuem dentro de seus corpos o parasita conhecido como "Las Plagas" e o cara responsável por tudo isso é Osmund Saddler que vai criar muitos problemas para que Leon não complete sua missão... Continuando com os inimigos, há uma variedade muito grande deles, temos por exemplo o El Gigante, um gigante bem sinistro que aparece em diversas partes do game, apesar de forte seus ataques não são tão velozes, Temos também Garradores, criaturas cegas que "enxergam" através do som e apesar de terem uma blindagem em seu traje, existe um ponto fraco em suas costas, temos o Dr. Salvador que são ganados com um saco na cabeça e uma motosserra nas mãos que se chegar perto o suficiente, corta sua cabeça fora, nada demais... ou então, os Regenerators que são meus inimigos prediletos no game, não só por terem uma aparência amendrontadora, mas também pelos sons épicos e arrepiantes que eles produzem... Isso foram só alguns exemplos de inimigos, mas existe vários outros, incluindo boss fights claro, que são épicas por sinal, como nas batalhas contra U-3, Verdugo ou contra o veterano Krauser por exemplo.

    Sei que já escrevi muito, mas se chegou até aqui saiba que estou quase acabando, mas acredite, eu falei muita coisa mas ainda não é tudo o que o game tem a oferecer, não é mesmo. Vou falar brevemente então agora da jogabilidade que para mim é o ponto em que Resident Evil 4 realmente se destacou e se tornou revolucionário. A jogabilidade de Resident Evil 4, apesar de limitada em certos pontos, é maravilhosamente viciante e única até o lançamento do game, digo isso pois ela é tão boa que muitos jogos aclamados pela crítica utilizam, quer exemplos? Temos jogos fantásticos como Gears of War, Dead Space e The Last of Us, ambos utilizam uma jogabilidade parecida e claramente inspirada na de RE4, com a câmera sobre o ombro e tal... Bom, acho que é isso mesmo, sei que falei bastante mas é que é um jogo que se destaca muito sobre todos os outros, claro que muitos podem não gostar, eu entendo, gosto é gosto. Mas na minha humilde opinião Resident Evil 4 é único e inigualável, é um jogo perfeito? Não, não é. Existem muitos bugs, é verdade, mas é um jogo tão majestoso que isso não faz a menor diferença na minha avaliação final, vale muito a pena jogar, como eu havia dito antes, o considero o melhor Jogo da História e para mim, ele não é digno de receber qualquer nota que seja diferente de 10.

    Nota Final: 10/10 (Obra-Prima)
    Expand
  44. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is a total masterpiece of the action-horror games genre.My favourite console game ever!Amazing graphics,awesome atmosphere,perfect story,nice gameplay.This game is addictive.It's worth every penny.
  45. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  46. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    Melhor jogo na minha opinião para PS2, jogo brilhante mesmo, gráficos, jogabilidade ótima, a interação em si é o mais positivo, melhor da série disparado.... Zerei mais de 10 vezes
  47. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    One of the best PS2 games. Atmosphere, graphics, sounds, is really good. Not like the old Resident Evil games are among my favorite games.To me, the Resident Evil series is the last good game. Other games really doesn't suit to the Resident Evil series.
  48. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is allThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  49. RichardB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A great game, albeit maybe a little overrated. Being my first Resident Evil game, the slow movement and turning was a little jarring, but I got used to it. The shooting is very fun, the weapon selection is great, the graphics are awesome, and the sound is pretty good, but some of the dialogue is very cheezy. An excellent game? Yes. Best action game of all time? Not likely.
  50. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This game i would say is the best in the franchise they got rid of the clunky controls the laser sight had its few flaws like if there was more than one person on the screen it sometimes was hard to get a good shoot. the story was ok i could deal with it. and i liked the bonus content on this game. overall its a good game with some flaws. but i would sugest getting it for the gamecube its better.
  51. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of its realism and thats too bad cause is would have been a truly Flawless adventure.Above all its an amazing game and among the best horror games ever. Expand
  52. B
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Great game!!!! The reveiws are so dead on. This game brought life back into a genre that was stagnant. The only thing I thought it was missing was a more stealth approach to attacking the enemies. i.e.- A metal gear solid approach.
  53. SamP.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts "Action/Shooter" and "Survival Horror" in a blender to make a smoothie of AWESOME. The enemies are pure awesome. The bosses are pure awesome. The interactive cutscenes are pure awesome. The weapons are pure awesome. Detractors either just don't get it or can't or won't handle the controls. Expand
  54. AkeemG.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review short all I have to say is that this game is very neat and that it WILL NOT dissapoint you! Expand
  55. NateH.
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    One of the best resident evils out there. It keeps you on edge every single second. Though it sometimes can be quite the challenge. I love it!
  56. Micka
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Its a 9. Gamecube is a 10 out of 10 because its looks quite a bit better but over all this is a great port of what is in my mind, not only the best game of the year, but my favorite game of all time!!
  57. DanielEperstein
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. I can't believe someone on here complained about the controls, especially since the horrid controls of every other Resident Evil game makes them nearly unplayable to a lot of people.
  58. D.W.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Som bits were the most exciting, intense and terrifying moments in gameing. Others were fun but let the game down. it had laid the template for a great game. But trust me this game is worth it for the great bits.
  59. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it because it has a lot of blood and stuff. It can get very irritating. The controls are ok but kind of strange one PS2. This game has its surprizes. Expand
  60. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...!
  61. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  62. BFG_MAN
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it wasnt for this feature RE4 would be just an ordinary horror game. Expand
  63. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives aI'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  64. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  65. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who areIf you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who are mind controlled and infected by Las Plagas. All these changes reduce the scare factor of the game compared to its predecessors but also makes the gameplay more action orientated, higher paced and makes the controls more responsive and making the A.I more diverse. The Ganados the infected humans you fight in the game are alot more smarter than the zombies and the way they gang up on you and attack you is alot different than the predictable zombie grabbing and blood sucking from the previous games. The Ganados can hit you with their melee weapons either by stabbing you or throwing it when they are far away and even throwing dynamites at you. On top of that those villagers also react differently to your gun shots shooting in the leg will make them limp, shooting them on their arms will cause them to drop their weapons, the Ganados can also get stunned during the combat which will allow the player to go near them and perform some special unarmed moves. All these changes and additions make the gameplay more fun, diverse and less repetitive compared to the previous Resident Evil games. The players finds alot more ammunition and healing items in this game as the enemies that are killed almost always drop the healing items, ammo and money and treasure as well which the player can use to buy and upgrade weapons from a merchant who appears throughout the game. The game also has some interactive cutscenes that make you think you are actually involved in then game even when you are just watching the cutscenes which is also a great addition. There will be also points in the game where you go through areas while protecting a defenseless girl who moves with you she can't fight but she can get hurt and you can use your herbs and First aid sprays to heal her and she will also be helping you solve some puzzles in the game these levels of the game may be frustrating at times but they are still fun and entertaining. The scare factor may have been toned down but that doesn't mean RE4 did not give me the creeps there were alot of points in the game that made me jump and scared me s**tless the part where you first fight the underwater monster, the part where you fight the El-Gigante, the part where you fight the bugs in the sewer and specially the part where you first fight the Re-generator all those moments just scared the crap out of me the first time the played this game. However the scary moments in this game are far less than there were in the previous Resident Evil games. The story is really good despite the only connection being between it and the previous RE being the characters Leon, Ada and Wesker and the mentioning of Umbrella otherwise its a completely different story. The story is far from epic but it is still well told and well written. Creating a chemical to control the humans than taking over america and taking over the world may sound too gimmicky and may have also been a used up formula for the stories in games but it was executed well here. The graphics are really good considering it is ps2 ofcourse ps2 has done better with God of War and MSG games but still the graphics look very good however the ps2 graphics still don't hold a candle up to the Gamecube version but that is because GC had a better graphic card the the PS2 and graphics don't totally make a game. The game's music and sound effects are just superb always suit the environments and the sound effects do a good job of building up tensions and giving the creeps. The voice acting is good however the dialogue can just be cheesy and corny at times. Apart from the main story the game also has the awesome and fun Mercenary Mode, Assignment Ada (a small mission for ada) and the ps2 version has two new extras which were not in the GC version the Movie Browser where all the game's cutscenes can be viewed and the Separate Ways in which you play as Ada where she explains her motives for being involved in the main campaign. These extras just makes the players come back for playing this game for hours and hours and having fun and really increasing the game's already high replay value and lasting appeal. Overall Resident Evil 4 is a great achievement on the part of CAPCOM. 9.5/10 Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story isA triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story is more or less 15 hours long, not counting the bonus material that extends the fun with minigames and side stories. level design is extremely well done and atmospheric, character design is intriguing, the music emphasizes the horror produced by the atmosphere, and the gameplay involves more than simply running and shooting thanks to small but effective variations and some exploration. My only small complain is that while the voice acting is very professionally produced, some of the dialogue is a bit cheesy for a game with serious themes. perhaps the few bad lines of dialogue are intentional from developer capcom as a trowback to the horrendous dialogue in the earlier resident evil games but this is only a very minor thing. A slightly more significant complain i have is that the control scheme is just a bit dated and slow, but effective nonetheless. Expand
  67. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  68. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. One of the best resident evil games. Fun and entertaining gameplay, great graphics and sound. Great cast of characters like Ada Wong who is my favourite RE character.
  69. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Clever, suspenseful, fun, so many words to describe this masterpiece, Resident Evil 4 has to be one of the most played games I have ever invested my time into, the one thing that bothered me was the lack of Resident Evil in this game, what happened to the zombies and survival horror?
  70. May 18, 2014
    9
    This may not be the greatest survival horror game in history but it is the hybrid of action and horror with a over the top shoulder camera angle for better accuracy for the first time in the history of the franchise. But the horror tension is mostly removed comparing it to the trilogy of pure horror; but it showed some of the best graphics of the year, a better camera angle despite theThis may not be the greatest survival horror game in history but it is the hybrid of action and horror with a over the top shoulder camera angle for better accuracy for the first time in the history of the franchise. But the horror tension is mostly removed comparing it to the trilogy of pure horror; but it showed some of the best graphics of the year, a better camera angle despite the lack of horror, customizable weapons, unique enemies and great acting. And you could choose limited ammunition if you don't customize your weapons making the game more difficult than usual. The downside of the game is ASHLEY because she is basically useless; so useless that LEON did not kiss on the end of the game. But overall the game was outstanding with it's improvements except for the survival horror aspect but it became one of my favorites action and horror themed game ever. Expand
  71. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is the Resident Evil game that proved the franchise could be reinvented and reinvigorated without even having to needlessly throw zombies onto the screen. The new enemies were just as merciless, brutal, and horrible to face, and it worked well. Add in major adjustments to controls, camera, and the atmosphere- the moodier the better it seems, and you've got quite the winning formula.
  72. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    this is what a game should be like... re4 blew me away and continues to... the characters and storyline are completely addictive. overall one of the best games ive played
  73. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I played through this game AT LEAST 5 times. I had just as much fun the first time as I did the fifth time.

    Resident Evil 4 is not too horrifying, except one level towards the end. This is where you fight dark blue dagger-toothed monster things that cannot be killed, unless you shoot 3 of the parasites on their back. You can cripple them by shooting their legs off, but they regenerate and grow back. (Thus, the reason they are called regenerators.)

    Enough rambling. The game as a whole has decent-okay combat. There are around 12-15 guns you can buy, not counting the unlockable ones that you can get after beating the game.

    The small amount of people who gave this game poor reviews don't seem to have played the game before. There is, in fact other modes than story mode. Assignment Ada, and Missionaries. Missionaries is just a free-play mode where countless hordes of zombies are hurled at you until your chopper arrives. Pretty fun to do after you beat the game and don't feel like playing it again. Assignment Ada isn't that fun, to be frankly honest. Its just replaying a mission as a woman named Ada, except its 500 times harder. The story is pretty long, and there are multiple paths that you are able to take during the game.

    The enemies you face consist of the generic zombie, (a spanish farmer that tries to kill you with pitchforks and knives.) cult group members, (pale people in black cloaks that try to strangle you), enemies with wolverine-like claws that have their eyes stitched shut, and scary-ass chainsaw men/women with bags over their heads. They actually might be scarier than the regnerators I talked about earier.

    All in all, this is a GREAT game. I hope this review helped. :D
    Expand
  74. May 8, 2013
    9
    Capcom clearly was aiming in a wider public when they made Resident Evil 4.
    Its almost perfect blending of survival horror and action, packed with an addictive gameplay, great story and really beautiful visuals aren't enough to make it the best Resident Evil ever made, but even diehard fans of the series can enjoy it as much as the casual gamer will and i highly recommend it to both.
  75. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    It’s a great game and I would enthusiastically recommend adding to your play list. It has seriously impressed me and it is a highlight of its time and genre.
  76. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    An excellent combination of survival horror and third-person shooter action, RE4 delivers in all aspects of a near-perfect and engaging game. As others come and go, Resident Evil 4 will be remembered as a true classic.
  77. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certainResident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certain level of challenge without it being frustrating and unfair. With there now being HD releases on Xbox 360 and PS3, there is no reason not to own this wonderful game. Expand
  78. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  79. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror, I will remember this game forever, she spent a lot of time, but Resident Evil 5 I like more, be sure to play this game if you have not played
  80. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    Best Resident Evil. I've ended on the Wii, PS2, and Xbox 360 7 times. Leon is beast. Those kicks he does are really impressive. There are so many unforgettable characters even from the previous games. They really out done themselves.
  81. Aug 3, 2015
    9
    When reviewing RE4 there's really not many negatives to list which is why it's so high on most gamers lists. Many would claim this game marked the beginning of the ending for RE, but others like me say this is definitely one of the franchise's strongest points overall.
  82. Oct 8, 2015
    9
    I am usually not a big fun of FPS games, but I have to say, I love this game. This game reminds me of elegant old days, while gameplay is what matters.

    + The game is hard and challenging in a good way, you know you could do better next time, or check your suitcase come up with new strategy, or check the map to loot some treasures for cash, it forces you to explore the map, yet it is no
    I am usually not a big fun of FPS games, but I have to say, I love this game. This game reminds me of elegant old days, while gameplay is what matters.

    + The game is hard and challenging in a good way, you know you could do better next time, or check your suitcase come up with new strategy, or check the map to loot some treasures for cash, it forces you to explore the map, yet it is no way boring, I don't collect for trophy, I collect because I want to.

    + I love characters in this game, even Ashley. I think she is more realistic than Ellie.

    + The text in the game is very good, they offer you both information and some rest. I love it, first time I read every single text in a game.

    - The control can be annoying sometimes, you can't move while aiming, that is fine, but you can't move while ready a knife, that is not cool, and the fact that you can't stun an enemy with your knife is also annoying while you get stun by every single hit from an enemy. You can't run while changing direction, what you actually do is stop, turn your face, then run again, it is annoying.

    - QTE in this game is harsh as hell, actually is not Quick Time, it is super human reflex, it is really hard to perform a QTE unless you know you should perform a QTE, and the QTE button you have to push seems to be random. They even add QTE in cutscene, do you know how many times I put down the controller just realized there was a QTE so I picked up the controller yet didn't have the time to perform the QTE?

    - Some enemies have way too many health, can be annoying if you don't upgrade your weapon correctly.

    - Last boss doesn't have many phases, which is a let down, I was really hoping something more epic.

    Overall, one of the best games I've ever played, give it some time to get used to the control you will love it.
    Expand
  83. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Years after the destruction of Raccoon City,wiping out any living creature and the virus with it and Umbrella finally finished,Leon S Kennedy,now a goverment agent is assigned to find the missing daughter of the president of the United States,who has been aducted by an unknown occult,her whereabouts was unknown until one day it was mention she was in a rural part of Spain,thats where the game begins.

    You're in a village,trying to find someone to ask for Ashleys whereabouts,where a man violently tries to kill you with his axes...there you have no choice but to eliminate him...soon you realise the whole village is against you. What happened there? What happen to the villagers? Why they act that way? Only for you to find out.

    This is the first game where the camera is behind you back,the graphics looks really awesome in this game,better than Resident Evil Code Veronica,you should see the cutscenes how lively the characters are,Leon is more tougher and good looking,Ashley looks ok,secondary characters look awesome too. The location is in the more rural part of Spain,the village,the church,a castle,a mine,an island,a laboratory etc all of them look terrific. The fire looks really real so real that if you get close to it you can get hurt,you can rum in the water too and use a speedboat as transportation,be careful,not all water area is safe.

    The controls plays as always but more intuitive,meaning that they don't move as if they are tanks,they move more like humans,you can run,climb,shoot, kick and hit enemies etc. The variety of weapons is enormous,most of them have this lasersights which can be more easy to aim at enemies which mostly you want to eliminate them shooting them in the head. The boss fights are hard sometimes mostly cause they really hard but sometimes you'll have to use the enviroment to your advantage to gain success in your battles.

    Whats new here are the quick time event which during scenes you will have to stay alert cause you will never know when danger is near,when you do know you will have to press the buttons really fast otherwise its game over for you especially the Leon vs Krauser knife fight,believe me,i had to try a few times to get it all right.

    In this game its the first time where you can buy and sell stuff thanks to the merchant you find throughout the game,when you find him you can buy new weapons,a bulletproof vest,upgrade weapons for them to be stronger and you can sell precious items you find,in some of them you have to do a little mixing to other items so that they can have more value.

    Lets talk about the moment you find Ashley,well Ashley is a damsel in distress where you have to protect her from enemies,you can give her simple instructions like wait so you can investigate the area,once you see that its safe tell her to follow you and she will,also you can tell her to hide if that option is avaliable. You will have to keep her close to you cause enemies can take her and if the enemy that takes her to a door its game over...it will be game over if she suffers damages. Also a new item is the yellow herb,it cannot be use by its own but if its mixed with a green herb or a green and red together,your health will grow each and each time you use a mixed herb with the yellow one cause both Leon and Ashley starts with short health. Those herbs can be use for Ashley as well.

    Once you complete the game,a mercenarie mode is avaliable where you fight against a horde of enemies,you can pick Leon,Ada,Krauser,Hunk and Wesker.

    For the ps2 which is the version im reviewing,a new scenario is avaliable called Separate Ways where you play as Ada Wong,you will play in her perspective,her objection is to find a sample for evidence,i figure you guys know shes playing in both sides here. You play exactly like in Leons scenario but Adas is much shorter and more easier than Leons.

    Well i guess its safe to say that this is one of the best Resident Evil game yet but its not my fav,its has better gameplay and better graphics than all of the previous Resident Evil but i enjoyed the story of Resident Evil 2 & 3, But this is a long Resident Evil game and its story is also very cool and easy to understand. If your a fan of Resident Evil game or even no fan,you'll definately will have alot of fun with this one,sure the zombies are gone and the scare factor is not as high as the previous ones but still its not going to stop you for having a blast with this one...and who knows? Maybe its a good thing. Good work Capcom,hats off to you :D
    Expand
  84. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    This game is bonkers! After playing RE5,6, or any of the other newer RE entries you will gain to appreciate RE4 a bit more. It's more action oriented than it's predecessors, but the series was already trying to head in that direction since RE2. The classic survival horror elements are mostly dismissed, but it's there (barely). The PS2 version adds new modes on top of a game with alreadyThis game is bonkers! After playing RE5,6, or any of the other newer RE entries you will gain to appreciate RE4 a bit more. It's more action oriented than it's predecessors, but the series was already trying to head in that direction since RE2. The classic survival horror elements are mostly dismissed, but it's there (barely). The PS2 version adds new modes on top of a game with already tremendous amount of replay value. Mercenaries mode is insane, challenging, and very rewarding! I know I put a unhealthy amount of hours into this game beating it to 100% completion. I don't know if I could go through it again...it's madness! Expand
  85. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Very good game . Excellent graphics for 2005 , best storyline in Resident Evil Games , Awesome Gameplay , Interesting opening level " The Village " . This is not Horror game but this game is fearful . Best Resident Evil Game , even better Resident Evil , Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 6 . Very Poor Nine of Ten .
  86. May 22, 2016
    9
    Este juego es de los pocos que pueden engancharte tanto sin apenas haberlo jugado. Es interesante ver cómo esto resulta ser. Sere por esta vez directo e iré al punto que les convoca.
    El que esté juego sea de terror no compromete la diversión que puedas pasar con el. Puede ser atemorizante pero te impulsa a seguir andando, explorando y recorriendo el mundo presentado. Tanto es así que el
    Este juego es de los pocos que pueden engancharte tanto sin apenas haberlo jugado. Es interesante ver cómo esto resulta ser. Sere por esta vez directo e iré al punto que les convoca.
    El que esté juego sea de terror no compromete la diversión que puedas pasar con el. Puede ser atemorizante pero te impulsa a seguir andando, explorando y recorriendo el mundo presentado. Tanto es así que el peso baja pero es compensado por todas las divertidas horas que llevaras jugando.
    Sin contar el diseño artístico, la banda sonora, la atmósfera y diversión obtenida de esta entrega este título definitivamente merece estar en vuestro repertorio.
    Expand
  87. Aug 6, 2016
    9
    The best survival horror game I've played in my life. If you like survival horror AND shooting stuff, Resident Evil 4 is for you. Definitely the best in the series.
  88. Verbalkinch
    Oct 26, 2005
    8
    I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally makes RE relevant again. I dare you to encounter the chainsaw guy in close quarters with no upgrades to the basic handgun. The immersion is amazing. It has some of the best elements of gaming dating back to atari. If this game had come sooner in the GameCube lifespan, its no doubt it would be a stronger console contender. You can have the best game on the market and the console for Sony and Microsoft's price point. This is the best time to be a gamer with multiple consoles. . RE4 has all of the polish of Kojima's METAL GEAR and the gameplay depth of Microsofts's HALO. If only there was the sense of free roaming akin to Rockstar's GTA series. My only qualms are linear gameplay and only semi interactive environments. But those are minor, eight out of ten easy for the PS2 version, I did like the extra missions even if the story still takes a backseat to the action. CAPCOM is the real winner, if you haven't played this game now that its on two consoles, you are NOT a gamer. Expand
  89. FarooqA.
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this IS one of the best games on GameCube and the best on GC is really not the best on PS2, PS2's first party titles has already blown everything to bits that no design based game on Xbox or GC could compare to them. Now I am sure what GC's power is based upon, simple ideas that originated at the start of the generation, and PS2 already has left that mark a long time ago... Still, this is the best Resident Evil out there but it certainly isn't the 9 or 10 rating suited, the graphics of 'resident evil : dead aim' were far more sharper and superior to it, what critics said was a bias that the graphics on the GC were more greater than PS2's, for this game is a PORT, and not a REMAKE, that the system could not have had picked up the detail. Everything from the GC version is fully here, and man are these the best game graphics on GC !? Expand
  90. Orlok82
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    I dont't know. When I started playing it, I was shocked. The first ten hours were amazing. But, while the game was evolving, I felt like it was too long. With more or less the same situations, the same enemies. I repeat, I don't know: a great game, but not completely.
  91. DarthMoon
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of the game is lost. It starts like a really intense and realistic horror adventure with a compelling story behind it but it ends up being a ridicilous story with moments like Devil may cry.It has some great scary moments but it also has some very annoying and very silly moments witch break the horror atmosphere the game tries to put you in.Basicaly the game tries to mix some things that just dont quite work. For an action game its really good but for a Horror game its very dissapoining. Silent Hill 3 a much better horror game than this because it stays focus on what it wants to be and that is a Horror adventure not an action adventure.To sum it,great gameplay , great visuals, poor story , frustration instead of terrifying atmosphere. Expand
  92. shailinderm
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    this game is fun but VERY HARD!the bosses health are not shown so that makes it boring.but i still like this game.i would have gave it 10 if it was not so hard.
  93. AndrewH
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It isnt. This was my first resi game and i found it very easy. Some bits where you must protect ashlee can be tricky (she is totally helpless) and I found the blind enemies difficult to kill but the game gives plenty of ammo and health. Over all its a solid game and well worth a go, especially with the release of 5 just around the corner. Expand
  94. KyleG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a game into a memorable and life-impacting experience. It is just a game to me. a good game, but still just a game. Expand
  95. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure,Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure, occasionally overly difficult enemies, but if you can get past all that, its pretty damn fun.

    I was tempted to give this game a zero to balance out all the undue adulation, but that would be giving in to reactionary polarization. This is just an honest review with an honest score.
    Expand
  96. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil 4 has some very good game modes. It's kind of puzzling, but it's very good. This game gives you hundreds of hours of great gameplay. This game can be a little cheap at times, but its great 8/10.
  97. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    More of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and ofMore of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and of course the mercenaries (which is a blast). It does however, suffer from getting the ugly stick bonked around its presentation a bit. The character models aren't nearly as sharp and the textures are bit muddy and the sound is just not the same quality the gamecube version had. Of course this is different hardware we're talking about and it mostly does the job very well and is still MILES AHEAD of the PC port which is still an unmitigated disaster done by a completely worthless team of idiots that couldn't port a console game if their lives depended on it. Its still just as fun, just as scary (debatable), features the same hilarious over the top dialog as before and Ashley's rump is still exceedingly fun to get caught start at on a ladder. Expand
  98. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Brainless story, bad characters and voice acting..still, it's pretty fun once you get the hang of it. The item collecting is also pretty rad. Still, I expected a bit more.
  99. May 5, 2013
    8
    Most of the ratings are definetly overrated. There are things which kill the fun in this game. One word: Ashley. She was so freakin annoying, I thought about quitting the game. The boss battles though are as good as always and the shoot mechanics smooth. Stable frames, good graphics for it´s time. Well, you think: Why a 8? Why not a 9? Because Ashley is SO DAMN ANNOYING SHE KILLS THE FUNMost of the ratings are definetly overrated. There are things which kill the fun in this game. One word: Ashley. She was so freakin annoying, I thought about quitting the game. The boss battles though are as good as always and the shoot mechanics smooth. Stable frames, good graphics for it´s time. Well, you think: Why a 8? Why not a 9? Because Ashley is SO DAMN ANNOYING SHE KILLS THE FUN FOR THE REST OF THE GAME! The Game Designers shot themselves with the shotgun in the knee. Also it´s not real Horror. The Survival Horror left Resident Evil with this game. So it´s one of the better Resi´s but it´s not quite that good. NEVER A 96! 85 is acceptable. Expand
  100. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    EN: Resident Evil 4 has some good improvements, looks awesome and plays awesome, but the story could be better. A solid 8 feels right.
    PT-BR: Resident Evil 4 apresenta algumas boas melhorias, tem aparência incrível e jogabilidade incrível, mas a história podia ser melhor. Um sólido 8 me parece correto.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]