Resident Evil 4 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1025 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Resident Evil 4 players are reacquainted with Leon S. Kennedy, Raccoon City Police Department's idealistic rookie cop from "Resident Evil 2." It has been six years since the destruction of Raccoon City and in that time, the U.S. government has been able to destroy the nefarious UmbrellaIn Resident Evil 4 players are reacquainted with Leon S. Kennedy, Raccoon City Police Department's idealistic rookie cop from "Resident Evil 2." It has been six years since the destruction of Raccoon City and in that time, the U.S. government has been able to destroy the nefarious Umbrella Corporation. Fast forward to 2004 and players rejoin Leon, who is now a U.S. agent with a top-secret mission. He has been tasked to look into the abduction of the President's daughter and his investigation has led him to a mysterious location in Europe. As Leon encounters unimaginable horrors, he must find out who or what is behind everything. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. 100
    It is by far the best single player action experience you are going to find on the PS2 this year - and the best Resident Evil game since "Resident Evil 2."
  3. Clocking in at over 25 hours of gameplay (if you've never played before), RE4 never once bogs down in rehash or mindless repetition, managing to keep the pace on "alert" from start to finish which is a most impressive feat considering most two hour movies can't sustain that level of suspense.
  4. You'll need to bring your A game, as this is unapologetically difficult, but you'll be rewarded for your effort with one of the most polished shooters of this console generation.
  5. 95
    It's easily one of the top 10 PlayStation 2 games you can lay your hands on. For me, it's probably one of my top 10 games of all-time. There's so much to enjoy, and even though PS2's visuals aren't quite as good as they were on GCN, my jaw still drops at the art design and how immersive the worlds are.
  6. An amazing achievement in a variety of ways: Its inspired, state-of-the-art cinematic presentation works extremely well with its relentlessly exciting, white-knuckle action, all of which is wrapped up in a decidedly lengthy adventure chock-full of hidden secrets and bonus extras.
  7. 80
    Rather than creating a new system to go with the new engine, the developers tried to shoehorn the classic control scheme into the new game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 245
  1. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it. Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    Simply best game ever!!! still playing this in 2013 and never get bored of playing. I think so new RE games and not as good as this game.Simply best game ever!!! still playing this in 2013 and never get bored of playing. I think so new RE games and not as good as this game. Actually i have never counted how many times i have played this game. Its no 1 in my list Expand
  3. Skyle
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than "Halo 2", more technically refined than "Chaos Theory"--this is the only game I've ever owned that my friends and family played only to got copies of their own. After sloughing through mundane RE sequels and spin-offs like "RE3" and "Outbreak", I am so glad that Capcom has finally come full circle by bringing the greatest RE to the PS2. I am an avid and discriminating gamer, and trust me, this one is an instant classic. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    One of the best PS2 games. Atmosphere, graphics, sounds, is really good. Not like the old Resident Evil games are among my favorite games.ToOne of the best PS2 games. Atmosphere, graphics, sounds, is really good. Not like the old Resident Evil games are among my favorite games.To me, the Resident Evil series is the last good game. Other games really doesn't suit to the Resident Evil series. Expand
  5. BFG_MAN
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it wasnt for this feature RE4 would be just an ordinary horror game. Expand
  6. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time toThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  7. RobJ.
    Jan 17, 2006
    0
    This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. The only challenge in defeating the endless and tedious hordes of opponents is trying to actually competently fire a gun using the game's horrendous controls. As someone on this site already said, you're not supposed to base a game's challenge on poor controls. The game dips further into ridiculousness with the "Tap X to run away from a rolling boulder" segments which reek like something out of a PSX game that was produced for 10 cents and sold about 28 copies worldwide. And can anyone tell me what's surprising, haunting, scary or unpredictable about a game where at any time you only have to press the Triangle button to access a fully fleshed-out map which details your current destination, the next save point, which doors are locked and unlocked, which keys you have, and more? And what of the so-called story? If you run into any non-enemy characters, you'll see 3 minutes of nothing notable, occasionally interrupted by very poor "one-liners" from our "hero" Leon Kennedy. Or maybe after twenty morbidly dull minutes of farcical combat, you'll be interrupted by a radio segment where you talk to the most unconvincing operations commander you've ever seen. It Expand

See all 245 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005