Resident Evil 4 PlayStation 2

Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 816 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Resident Evil 4 players are reacquainted with Leon S. Kennedy, Raccoon City Police Department's idealistic rookie cop from "Resident Evil 2." It has been six years since the destruction of Raccoon City and in that time, the U.S. government has been able to destroy the nefarious UmbrellaIn Resident Evil 4 players are reacquainted with Leon S. Kennedy, Raccoon City Police Department's idealistic rookie cop from "Resident Evil 2." It has been six years since the destruction of Raccoon City and in that time, the U.S. government has been able to destroy the nefarious Umbrella Corporation. Fast forward to 2004 and players rejoin Leon, who is now a U.S. agent with a top-secret mission. He has been tasked to look into the abduction of the President's daughter and his investigation has led him to a mysterious location in Europe. As Leon encounters unimaginable horrors, he must find out who or what is behind everything. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. 100
    It is by far the best single player action experience you are going to find on the PS2 this year - and the best Resident Evil game since "Resident Evil 2."
  3. Clocking in at over 25 hours of gameplay (if you've never played before), RE4 never once bogs down in rehash or mindless repetition, managing to keep the pace on "alert" from start to finish which is a most impressive feat considering most two hour movies can't sustain that level of suspense.
  4. You'll need to bring your A game, as this is unapologetically difficult, but you'll be rewarded for your effort with one of the most polished shooters of this console generation.
  5. 95
    It's easily one of the top 10 PlayStation 2 games you can lay your hands on. For me, it's probably one of my top 10 games of all-time. There's so much to enjoy, and even though PS2's visuals aren't quite as good as they were on GCN, my jaw still drops at the art design and how immersive the worlds are.
  6. An amazing achievement in a variety of ways: Its inspired, state-of-the-art cinematic presentation works extremely well with its relentlessly exciting, white-knuckle action, all of which is wrapped up in a decidedly lengthy adventure chock-full of hidden secrets and bonus extras.
  7. Rather than creating a new system to go with the new engine, the developers tried to shoehorn the classic control scheme into the new game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 219
  1. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Great game!!! Not so great as Gamecube version, because of the cut scenes (not realtime rendered and for that reason there is no point inGreat game!!! Not so great as Gamecube version, because of the cut scenes (not realtime rendered and for that reason there is no point in changing costumes) and some visuals, but gameplay is very addictive. Shinji Mikami made a great game. Expand
  3. KyleK.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    This is superb, awesome, just wicked. i love this game. the whole game is so good you have to keep on playing it. the extra's as in guns This is superb, awesome, just wicked. i love this game. the whole game is so good you have to keep on playing it. the extra's as in guns to unlock and characters through mercenaries mode is awesome. i have finished it a lot and im still going. well done capcom. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    um dos melhores jogos que ja joguei, é o melhor desde re 2. O jogo pode não conter mais aquele terror como nos anteriores mas pra mim ainda éum dos melhores jogos que ja joguei, é o melhor desde re 2. O jogo pode não conter mais aquele terror como nos anteriores mas pra mim ainda é perfeito Expand
  5. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of its realism and thats too bad cause is would have been a truly Flawless adventure.Above all its an amazing game and among the best horror games ever. Expand
  6. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...! Expand
  7. RobJ.
    Jan 17, 2006
    0
    This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. The only challenge in defeating the endless and tedious hordes of opponents is trying to actually competently fire a gun using the game's horrendous controls. As someone on this site already said, you're not supposed to base a game's challenge on poor controls. The game dips further into ridiculousness with the "Tap X to run away from a rolling boulder" segments which reek like something out of a PSX game that was produced for 10 cents and sold about 28 copies worldwide. And can anyone tell me what's surprising, haunting, scary or unpredictable about a game where at any time you only have to press the Triangle button to access a fully fleshed-out map which details your current destination, the next save point, which doors are locked and unlocked, which keys you have, and more? And what of the so-called story? If you run into any non-enemy characters, you'll see 3 minutes of nothing notable, occasionally interrupted by very poor "one-liners" from our "hero" Leon Kennedy. Or maybe after twenty morbidly dull minutes of farcical combat, you'll be interrupted by a radio segment where you talk to the most unconvincing operations commander you've ever seen. It Expand

See all 219 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.