User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    I hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it more because the music is Choooooons. Like Andreas said It IS a great game. I played as Claire Redfield or whoever and I got right into. Right stuck in. There were zombies left right and center, all around like standing targets i pulled out my pumper and filled em with digital lead. I shot SOOOO many zombies. More than anyone else. Dont even bother trying to compete. I had the VMU on Dreamcast and the 8MB Memory Cardlet for PS2 and it worked. Like John Lennin said 'Imagine all the people' and Resident Evil Code: VX is a good game. Collapse
  2. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Resident Evil. Hard to get used to at first, once you master the controls, it's smooth sailing from then on. The game is arguably one of the most challenging of the series, especially to somebody who is not used to the concept of survivor horror. Conservation is essential to survival. If you waste your ammo, tough,it's not a 21st century war game.. The Knife is the key to killing the basic zombies, while the bosses and advanced creatures require the best in your arsenal. Characters from the first two games are also present, including Wesker, Chris and Claire. Steve Burnside, may be an irritating git, but his cheesy capcom dialogue does not detract from the fact that RE CV is an underrated masterpiece Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG!
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    The game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think it deserved the Resident Evil "3" title. It's a good game that isn't vastly different from the PSone titles. Beware. The challenge is present. Patience is a must with this game. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    10
    My second favorite Resident evil game. This game blew my mind.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first played this I didn't like it very much, thought it was kinda boring and too cartoony looking for a horror game. But as I kept playing I really started getting into it and in my opinion it's actually one of the funnest games in the series, as well as the longest. This game could easily take you weeks to beat. However even though this game is super long, not even the amount of character development saved this game from cheese... I still laughed when Steve died. BUT I digress. This is a great game even on it's own, definitely worth a play if you can commit to a 25 hour long play. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2012
    5
    I really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. i thought that the game itself was pretty good, but not as good as compared to the 1st 3 resident evil games. I do like the story however and thats really about it. This is perhaps the lowest score I would give a main Resident Evil Game. Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    this game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe game playing this game requires you to switch characters of it if you don't have the right items with each character the game is very much hard if you forget items then it's even harderthe point where I have to go back and restart the whole game just to get a certain weapons to help me complete a boss story the game is bad too the voice acting is poor but the graphics are nice Expand
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    This had one of the best stories for a RE game ever. The characters were great and the atmosphere was creepy throughout. both campaigns were plenty long, and the scares were still there.
  10. May 19, 2013
    1
    I beat this recently with a friend after going through RE 1-3 and I have to say this is the worst Resident Evil game I've played. RE1 had it's issues but because it was such an innovator and tried many new things (many ideas worked, few didn't) it was excellent; RE2 doubled the gameplay by adding multiple paths, new weapons systems, more characters, and better plot/writing/acting; RE3 added the Nemesis, dodging, ammo crafting, and the best overall graphics and controls of the pre-RE4 series. Code Veronica does nothing new and actually does almost everything worse compared to it's predecessors. The pre-rendered cutscenes are all RE3-quality or better, with a few of them being very impressive with their technical prowess. However everything else about the graphics are worse... the beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds are gone and many of the environments have stretched out bland beige and grey textures. Character models textures are average for consoles at the time but particle effects (especially exploding heads) are disappointing. Somehow the sound effects have gotten worse, with many of the weapons lacking punch and enemies sounding weak or obnoxious. Controls are frustratingly worse than RE3, with a lack of dodging and poor auto-aim tracking making fighting airborne targets a nightmare. There's no real reason to replay the game and the bonus game mode you unlock gives you no unlocks for the regular game upon completion. On top of all this you have to deal with the unintuitive game design with every map feeling like a maze, bosses that stun lock or 1-hit KO you, a ton of recycled areas, and the final act's chain of bosses that will leave you stunned at the ridiculousness of it all. Code Veronica is playable, but this is an 80's B-movie caricature of a Resident Evil game that feels like it was crapped out by Capcom's B-team of interns and temps. Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    This game more or less goes back to it's roots, ignoring many of the RE3 mechanics. It is almost as good as the second game, but it suffers from not trying to do anything new other than following the same old formula a little too loyally. At that time, this style of survival horror was starting to get a little stale. That aside it still is a great game with fantastic animation, great gameplay and "interesting" characters. The story is a little too familiar and comes across feeling a little too familiar for most of the game. The other times when it tries to be original it gets a little weird. Overall: A decent Resident Evil game that does nothing wrong, but could have tried to do something new, aside from introducing a little QTE near the end (thanks for that Capcom since we all looove QTEs *he says with sarcastic smirk.*) Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    It stays true to the series by having all of the difficult puzzles and cheap scares. It great, but not as great, and the main reason for that is that this game is overly cheesy in the dialogue department.
  13. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    i expected something new for resident evil for the ps2 and i was really hyped for this game but it turned to be nothing new and it is boring bad graphics and it had the worst start ever
  14. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    EN: Strongest game of the series. Cone Veronica X isn't nearly as fun to play as Resident Evil 3, but the classy soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, very challenging boss fights and dramatic story assures its greatness.
    PT-BR: Melhor jogo da série. Code Veronica X não diverte tanto quanto Resident Evil 3, mas a trilha sonora classuda, o visual deslumbrante, as muitas desafiadoras lutas contra
    chefes e a história dramática garantem a sua grandiosidade. Expand
  15. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil Code veronica have a great storyline, graphics, sounds, gameplay, and the greats characters like Chris and Claire made the game more lovely, this is a very good game and very good survival horror too.
  16. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    When Resident Evil: Code Veronica X first released back 2001, Gameplay is Perfect, Story was Best even more thanks to Wesker.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Total: 8/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  17. Sep 22, 2010
    0
    I hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it more because the music is Choooooons. Like Andreas said It IS a great game. I played as Claire Redfield or whoever and I got right into. Right stuck in. There were zombies left right and center, all around like standing targets i pulled out my pumper and filled em with digital lead. I shot SOOOO many zombies. More than anyone else. Dont even bother trying to compete. I had the VMU on Dreamcast and the 8MB Memory Cardlet for PS2 and it worked. Like John Lennin said 'Imagine all the people' and Resident Evil Code: VX is a good game. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  2. A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  3. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.