User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 212
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andreas
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    It's a great game.
  2. KrizzE.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    Best Best and Best.
  3. VampireOfDoom
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Very good game..you play in a horror movie..MOEHAHAHA!!!
  4. ChrisS.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    It's awesome.
  5. BryanK.
    Jun 4, 2002
    10
    This is so cool, it's the best game ever I could play it for hours.
  6. AndrewJ.
    May 14, 2003
    8
    THis game is great, although the PS2 version doesn't seem to offer more than some of the PS1 versions.
  7. Rebel
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    The Game is the best RE ever. It is hard but would you want a game you can finish in 30 min the first time playing? As for the "sucks" rating, must not have been able to get past the first puzzle..HINT: Equip lighter....
  8. LeonK.
    Apr 11, 2002
    10
    Great game. Filled with thrills, shocks, and jump out of your seat moments.
  9. AfanoftheResidentEvilgames
    Mar 22, 2003
    9
    This game is definately one of the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Great thrills, great cutscenes, lots of action, it is much better than any other game released in the Resident Evil series. Unfortunately, it has some problems. The difficulty is one of them. This game is extremely difficult, with health items scarce, ink ribbons, and handgun bullets also scarce. Not only that, but This game is definately one of the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Great thrills, great cutscenes, lots of action, it is much better than any other game released in the Resident Evil series. Unfortunately, it has some problems. The difficulty is one of them. This game is extremely difficult, with health items scarce, ink ribbons, and handgun bullets also scarce. Not only that, but there is a lot of backtracking involved. Those problems aside, this game is definitely awesome. Expand
  10. PIRANHAG.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    A very good game. Resident Evil has always gave us good games, this one is no exception. It´s very long, it has a nice story line, and it has ZOMBIES (stupids but it´s ok...) absolutely great.
  11. annoymousannoymous
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    The game's good, however, I can't get the devil may cry demo working. I bought it at software exc in the used department. Four things could be wrong with it. 1. It's fragmented 2. It's infected 3. It's not going to work with version 1.10 4. There's an unknown proble, with it. Other than that, it's Great!
  12. AlessandroG.
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    Simply the best RE game for PS2!! A Classic!!
  13. danielreid
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I loved this game, thought it was the best of all RE's. It was hard going with insane puzzles, you wanted to pull your hair out sometimes but for me very addictive. If your looking for a fast paced, smooth shoot em up game then you should avoid this, its more puzzles, memory, ammo and health conservation and backtracking. Great graphics and a very long difficult game with plenty ofI loved this game, thought it was the best of all RE's. It was hard going with insane puzzles, you wanted to pull your hair out sometimes but for me very addictive. If your looking for a fast paced, smooth shoot em up game then you should avoid this, its more puzzles, memory, ammo and health conservation and backtracking. Great graphics and a very long difficult game with plenty of sub plots. Bad comments are clearly from people that cant get out of the first room or dont have the patience for a game that actually requires you to use some brain cells! Expand
  14. DavidW.
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    Best RE game ever.
  15. Blaze
    Dec 12, 2001
    10
    One of the best games ever, but a bit hard.
  16. JasonM.
    Dec 22, 2001
    10
    This game is so Atmospheric...If this is the future of gaming I'm hangin on for the ride!! Scary $h|t!!!
  17. ToddW.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    Best Resident Evil game yet!!! THIS GAME IS SWEET ASS!!!
  18. BenW.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Bad ass game.
  19. CreepingDeath
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Simply the best Resident Evil game ever!
  20. BrandonS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I give 10 because resident evil are my favorite games and I really like horror stuff.
  21. SteveR.
    Nov 27, 2001
    9
    This is the best Resident Evil in the series! But a little hard to pass sometimes.
  22. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    I hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it moreI hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it more because the music is Choooooons. Like Andreas said It IS a great game. I played as Claire Redfield or whoever and I got right into. Right stuck in. There were zombies left right and center, all around like standing targets i pulled out my pumper and filled em with digital lead. I shot SOOOO many zombies. More than anyone else. Dont even bother trying to compete. I had the VMU on Dreamcast and the 8MB Memory Cardlet for PS2 and it worked. Like John Lennin said 'Imagine all the people' and Resident Evil Code: VX is a good game. Expand
  23. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Resident Evil. Hard to get used to at first, once you master the controls, it's smooth sailing from then on. The game is arguably one of the most challenging of the series, especially to somebody who is not used to the concept of survivor horror. Conservation is essential to survival. If you waste your ammo, tough,it's not a 21st century war game.. The Knife is the key to killing the basic zombies, while the bosses and advanced creatures require the best in your arsenal. Characters from the first two games are also present, including Wesker, Chris and Claire. Steve Burnside, may be an irritating git, but his cheesy capcom dialogue does not detract from the fact that RE CV is an underrated masterpiece Expand
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG!
  25. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    The game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think itThe game is challenging. It's hard. Some parts are frustratingly cheap. The storyline and settings aren't my favorite, but are interesting none the less. The game is visually impressive. Some of the beginning sections with Claire are tedious. Things get better once Chris is playable. This isn't my favorite Resident Evil yet it surprises me that this is a spin off title. Some think it deserved the Resident Evil "3" title. It's a good game that isn't vastly different from the PSone titles. Beware. The challenge is present. Patience is a must with this game. Expand
  26. May 27, 2012
    10
    My second favorite Resident evil game. This game blew my mind.
  27. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first played this I didn't like it very much, thought it was kinda boring and too cartoony looking for a horror game. But as I kept playing I really started getting into it and in my opinion it's actually one of the funnest games in the series, as well as the longest. This game could easily take you weeks to beat. However even though this game is super long, not even the amount of character development saved this game from cheese... I still laughed when Steve died. BUT I digress. This is a great game even on it's own, definitely worth a play if you can commit to a 25 hour long play. Expand
  28. May 25, 2017
    10
    This had one of the best stories for a RE game ever. The characters were great and the atmosphere was creepy throughout. both campaigns were plenty long, and the scares were still there. Controls are also much more fluid than the tank controls of the past games. Best entry in the series, bar none. Being able to explore the base in Antarctica was simply amazing, as well as fighting theThis had one of the best stories for a RE game ever. The characters were great and the atmosphere was creepy throughout. both campaigns were plenty long, and the scares were still there. Controls are also much more fluid than the tank controls of the past games. Best entry in the series, bar none. Being able to explore the base in Antarctica was simply amazing, as well as fighting the end boss. Expand
  29. May 16, 2017
    8
    Hello from 2017. Just finished this game on my PS4.
    I loved it. This is a classic Resident Evil. This game I think less scary than first trilogy tho. A story is fine. I was really curious about what happened with Chris before RE5 and sure my favorite Wesker in this game. Gameplay is classic RE but I felt it was the hardest game in series, SAVE BULLETS because If you don't have enough
    Hello from 2017. Just finished this game on my PS4.
    I loved it. This is a classic Resident Evil. This game I think less scary than first trilogy tho. A story is fine. I was really curious about what happened with Chris before RE5 and sure my favorite Wesker in this game. Gameplay is classic RE but I felt it was the hardest game in series, SAVE BULLETS because If you don't have enough bullets for bosses it is almost impossible to beat the game( you can consider it as advantage and disadvantage from another stand point) Only fun thing that found is a character that named Steve. He is so adorable and silly. And he is voiced by a child, looks like.
    Overall, worth get it if you are a fan of classic Residents. If not, you will have some troubles to beat this game.
    Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    This game more or less goes back to it's roots, ignoring many of the RE3 mechanics. It is almost as good as the second game, but it suffers from not trying to do anything new other than following the same old formula a little too loyally. At that time, this style of survival horror was starting to get a little stale. That aside it still is a great game with fantastic animation, greatThis game more or less goes back to it's roots, ignoring many of the RE3 mechanics. It is almost as good as the second game, but it suffers from not trying to do anything new other than following the same old formula a little too loyally. At that time, this style of survival horror was starting to get a little stale. That aside it still is a great game with fantastic animation, great gameplay and "interesting" characters. The story is a little too familiar and comes across feeling a little too familiar for most of the game. The other times when it tries to be original it gets a little weird. Overall: A decent Resident Evil game that does nothing wrong, but could have tried to do something new, aside from introducing a little QTE near the end (thanks for that Capcom since we all looove QTEs *he says with sarcastic smirk.*) Expand

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#29 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  3. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.