Resident Evil Code: Veronica X Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this fourth game of the "Resident Evil" series, Claire Redfield attempts to track down her brother Chris, who went missing during his investigation of the Umbrella Corp., which is responsible for those pesky zombie outbreaks throughout the series. It also comes complete with a playableIn this fourth game of the "Resident Evil" series, Claire Redfield attempts to track down her brother Chris, who went missing during his investigation of the Umbrella Corp., which is responsible for those pesky zombie outbreaks throughout the series. It also comes complete with a playable demo of Capcom's next big thing, "Devil May Cry." Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.
  2. Games Radar
    100
    Adds nothing to the well-worn formula but wraps everything up in a glossy package which makes the previous outings look like primary school projects. This is classic Resi at it's finest.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  4. Players who haven’t experienced Code: Veronica need to. It’s to die for.
  5. Little more than a slightly enhanced port of an already excellent game.
  6. 80
    It is another fantastic foray into survival horror by Capcom, who have successfully taken the genre started by "Alone in the Dark" and turned it into four of the most thrilling and fun-filled gaming experiences around.
  7. 65
    After having played so many Resident Evil games, I want more from it. I want better controls, less ludicrous key-searching missions, and more forgiving camera angles, for starters.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvesterVery good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG! Expand
  2. BrandonS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I give 10 because resident evil are my favorite games and I really like horror stuff.
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    My second favorite Resident evil game. This game blew my mind.
  4. SteveR.
    Nov 27, 2001
    9
    This is the best Resident Evil in the series! But a little hard to pass sometimes.
  5. Jun 19, 2017
    9
    Although it contains the bad element of repetitve scenarios, Code: Veronica has an amazing story and puzzles that, unlike Resident Evil 3:Although it contains the bad element of repetitve scenarios, Code: Veronica has an amazing story and puzzles that, unlike Resident Evil 3: Nemesis, make a little more sense. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2015
    8
    RE: Code Veronica X is a good game, it manages to deliver what a survival horror game is supposed to do.
    The story is interesting with a dark
    RE: Code Veronica X is a good game, it manages to deliver what a survival horror game is supposed to do.
    The story is interesting with a dark and creepy atmosphere in most of the times.
    Clair's as always an interesting character together with Alfred and Alexia, however Chris is as usual a big disappointment.
    The other flaw on this game is the graphics level, even when this was the first game on this franchise to be able to move 360 it is not at the level of the PS2 capacity.
    This is a game you must play if you are either a RE or survival horror fan.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2017
    0
    "Code Veronica X" ?... on dirait un titre de film porno ! Peut-être que le jeu consiste à trouver les X manquants ? ah non faut taper sur des"Code Veronica X" ?... on dirait un titre de film porno ! Peut-être que le jeu consiste à trouver les X manquants ? ah non faut taper sur des cons de zombies. Pas évident avec une interface aussi lamentable et une jouabilité aussi nulle à chier.

    Je suis sincèrement béat d'admiration devant les individus qui ont -auraient- réussi à jouer plus de 15 mn à ce truc. Quelle abnégation, quel dévouement. Personnellement, je croyais avoir mis un jeu dans la PS2 mais non. Code résident machin est l'exemple stupéfiant de tout ce qu'l ne faut pas faire dans un jeu vidéo. Personnellement, je n'ai pas de temps à perdre sur une telle nullité.
    Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#28 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001