Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this fourth game of the "Resident Evil" series, Claire Redfield attempts to track down her brother Chris, who went missing during his investigation of the Umbrella Corp., which is responsible for those pesky zombie outbreaks throughout the series. It also comes complete with a playableIn this fourth game of the "Resident Evil" series, Claire Redfield attempts to track down her brother Chris, who went missing during his investigation of the Umbrella Corp., which is responsible for those pesky zombie outbreaks throughout the series. It also comes complete with a playable demo of Capcom's next big thing, "Devil May Cry." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.
  2. Adds nothing to the well-worn formula but wraps everything up in a glossy package which makes the previous outings look like primary school projects. This is classic Resi at it's finest.
  3. A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  4. Players who haven’t experienced Code: Veronica need to. It’s to die for.
  5. Little more than a slightly enhanced port of an already excellent game.
  6. 80
    It is another fantastic foray into survival horror by Capcom, who have successfully taken the genre started by "Alone in the Dark" and turned it into four of the most thrilling and fun-filled gaming experiences around.
  7. 65
    After having played so many Resident Evil games, I want more from it. I want better controls, less ludicrous key-searching missions, and more forgiving camera angles, for starters.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvesterVery good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG! Expand
  2. BryanK.
    Jun 4, 2002
    10
    This is so cool, it's the best game ever I could play it for hours.
  3. BenW.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    Bad ass game.
  4. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    I hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and madeI hope the people who rated this game bad get ripped up for their crimes. I had a dreamcast and it was best. Then PS2 came along and made better game version, Resident Evil Code Veronica game fun. I saw it avaialbe in a shop for small pennies the other day and i weeped a weary tear. I played this game for at least 10 days straight. No...seriously. I had fun with it and then played it more because the music is Choooooons. Like Andreas said It IS a great game. I played as Claire Redfield or whoever and I got right into. Right stuck in. There were zombies left right and center, all around like standing targets i pulled out my pumper and filled em with digital lead. I shot SOOOO many zombies. More than anyone else. Dont even bother trying to compete. I had the VMU on Dreamcast and the 8MB Memory Cardlet for PS2 and it worked. Like John Lennin said 'Imagine all the people' and Resident Evil Code: VX is a good game. Expand
  5. annoymousannoymous
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    The game's good, however, I can't get the devil may cry demo working. I bought it at software exc in the used department. FourThe game's good, however, I can't get the devil may cry demo working. I bought it at software exc in the used department. Four things could be wrong with it. 1. It's fragmented 2. It's infected 3. It's not going to work with version 1.10 4. There's an unknown proble, with it. Other than that, it's Great! Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    Code Veronica é mais um excelente game da franquia Resident Evil, um ponto negativo talvez seja o pouco apelo no quesito replay. Mas todos osCode Veronica é mais um excelente game da franquia Resident Evil, um ponto negativo talvez seja o pouco apelo no quesito replay. Mas todos os elementos que o tornaram uma grande franquia estao presentes neste game. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    this game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe gamethis game does a very poor job in gameplay wise if you haven't completed the game once then you'll be totally lost what the whole gamethe game playing this game requires you to switch characters of it if you don't have the right items with each character the game is very much hard if you forget items then it's even harderthe point where I have to go back and restart the whole game just to get a certain weapons to help me complete a boss story the game is bad too the voice acting is poor but the graphics are nice Expand

See all 43 User Reviews