Resident Evil: Dead Aim PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2003
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
Buy On
  1. 69
    Dead Aim did something we didn't expect -- it made us want to play it until we beat it (a feat that previous Gun Survivor versions made us cringe over).
  2. It's not the best Resident Evil game, and it isn't a stellar light-gun game, but Dead Aim creates an interesting, unique hybrid of the two, and that is a commendable feat.
  3. Game Informer
    60
    This obscure video game brew not only sounds like a garbled mess, it plays like one as well. [June 2003, p.60]
  4. 74
    A very cool combination of gameplay elements, and the most intriguing light-gun title for a home console since Elemental Gearbolt (anyone remember that one?)
  5. At its core, this is the most entertaining Resident Evil game we've ever played, and easily the best use of a light gun ever. With a bigger and more focused game attached to it, this could have been a must buy classic, but instead has all the hallmarks of a classic weekend rental.
  6. Edge Magazine
    50
    While not doing anything particularly innovative Gun Survivor 4 is frenetic, fun and supremely challenging on its 'extreme difficulty' setting. [May 2003, p.103]
  7. 70
    As a purchase, its replay value is a bit dubious, but for the skilled shooter, and even the casual action/adventure enthusiast, it's a terrifyingly amusing look at the world of low-budget horror flicks.
  8. The attack patterns are pedestrian, the level designs confined and the environments repetitive. The third-person adventure side to the game fails to progress beyond ‘find-the-key/unlock-the-door’ business end of the genre.
  9. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The most fun I've had with a Resident Evil game in years. [July 2003, p.98]
  10. Whilst Dead Aim is executed sort of well, it just doesn't have anything memorable, is too short to be an engrossing one-player game and doesn't have many compelling reasons to be played through time and time again, because of the adventure elements, that are somewhat boring if you just want to shoot and shoot.
  11. PSM Magazine
    50
    There was definitely potential here; it's just hampered by its short game length (you can beat it in one sitting) and lack of compelling characters and storylines. [July 2003, p.33]
  12. Good graphics, a short quest (by “RE” standards), mediocre music/sounds and a permanent sense that you’re playing an action game that’s trying to be a “House of the Dead”-type shooter (or is it a light-gun shooter that’s trying to be survival horror adventure?) diminish Dead Aim’s appeal as it moves along.
  13. GMR Magazine
    50
    The pace is so fast, however, that you'll likely finish the entire game in less than three hours. [July 2003, p.76]
  14. The game does suffer from a bit of a slowdown when there are numerous zombies on-screen.
  15. A lot better then the first "Survivor," but a lot more still needs to be done. There needs to be more story for one. Also, the length needs to be increased along with the difficulty.

Awards & Rankings

#87 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#90 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Love this game with all my feels one of the most unrated games in history and RE series, awesome music, great graphics, epic boss fight andLove this game with all my feels one of the most unrated games in history and RE series, awesome music, great graphics, epic boss fight and great atmosphere, the only problem that i found it is to very short.. :( Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2016
    6
    Better than I thought it would be. It feels like an alpha for Resident Evil 4. Surprisingly, there are some similarities. Overall, the game isBetter than I thought it would be. It feels like an alpha for Resident Evil 4. Surprisingly, there are some similarities. Overall, the game is mediocre. Everything from visuals, gameplay, characters, monsters, etc. The plots and characters are basically rip offs from main entry games. Go figure this game is spin off and nothing more. It's decent. Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    EN: Mixed feelings about it. It doesn't looks like a Resident Evil game, and most importantly, it doesn't plays like a Resident Evil game, butEN: Mixed feelings about it. It doesn't looks like a Resident Evil game, and most importantly, it doesn't plays like a Resident Evil game, but is decent experience.
    PT-BR: Me traz uma sensação mista. Ele não se parece com um Resident Evil, e não joga como um Resident Evil, mas proporciona uma experiência decente.
    Full Review »