Resident Evil Outbreak File #2 Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil Outbreak File #2 retains the signature Resident Evil storytelling, visuals, and bone-chilling audio that Capcom's survival-horror fans demand. Players join the eight characters from the first game in all new terrifying scenarios, with new locations, different enemies andResident Evil Outbreak File #2 retains the signature Resident Evil storytelling, visuals, and bone-chilling audio that Capcom's survival-horror fans demand. Players join the eight characters from the first game in all new terrifying scenarios, with new locations, different enemies and further details of the truth behind the catostrophic events. Players can play with up to four simultaneously in online mode. The key to survival will be cooperating and helping fellow characters as they fight to survive. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. A wonderful survival horror game. The new control scheme is so good that if Capcom were to redo all the previous RE games in the style of Outbreak they could probably convince me to go ahead and buy all four titles for a third time.
  2. More challenging puzzles, larger levels and new zombies to battle. All of this will please people who liked the first game and none of this will change the minds of people who hate the first game. Some of the key problems with the game like the lack of communication between players still hasn't been solved. [JPN Import]
  3. The best missions are better than the first Outbreak's but the others are too similar. Wait for the UK release to get the best of all words - online and fresh levels. [JPN Import; PSM2]
  4. 50
    Only the true RE addicts should pick this one up.
  5. 50
    It's having to help brain-eatingly bad A.I. (alone) or trying to cooperate when you can't communicate (online) that makes survival horrible.
  6. It's just not executed as well as we've grown to expect. If you're familiar with the first Outbreak, you'll find File #2 to be very much an expansion of that game.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    It's like trying to fly an airplane with no wings, and you can't even tell the passengers to kiss their asses good-bye. [May 2005, p.92]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. RobertM.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome how can it have a 5.5 rating? i love it!!!! 11 best resident evil ever!
  2. Tom
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    I agree with Charlie. This game is more in life detail and when Echelon said they run like there drunk well....it started in a bar didnt it I agree with Charlie. This game is more in life detail and when Echelon said they run like there drunk well....it started in a bar didnt it they probably are drunk. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    great game! I love this game and i hope that the game gets a third. PLEASE fans, sign this petition:great game! I love this game and i hope that the game gets a third. PLEASE fans, sign this petition: http://www.petitiononline.com/042690/petition.html we need 10000 and have 9000 Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2017
    9
    Just as great as the first, with some nice added features. The level design in the second installment is far more complex and varied, fills inJust as great as the first, with some nice added features. The level design in the second installment is far more complex and varied, fills in some holes spanning 1-3 of the main games, and there is a hundred hours of value there if you wish. That said, there's really only about eight hours of play, with the rest being the same thing over and over with slight variations; different characters, different difficulty ect. My main complaint of the first stayed the same here, and that's the ridiculousness of having to not only complete the game on the previous difficulty to unlock the next, but you then have to buy (using in game points that you earn) the next difficulty level. Would have been acceptable to make hard available from start, then unlock very hard on completion, such as many games do it, but the system here is repetitive and silly. Other than that, it's a fantastic game that fans will love and outsiders will enjoy. Expand
  5. john
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    It was a cool game.
  6. Nov 6, 2017
    7
    Not as good as the first, but still very fun. The sequel kind of messed up the continuity of the first game, but the monsters from the olderNot as good as the first, but still very fun. The sequel kind of messed up the continuity of the first game, but the monsters from the older games were so cool to see in these graphics. Would recommend if you liked or loved the first Outbreak game. Expand
  7. Echelon
    Sep 11, 2005
    1
    Great big yawn. Did this game come out in 1995 or 2005? Why is the gameplay so archaic? Why is there more voice chat in the Dreamcast's Great big yawn. Did this game come out in 1995 or 2005? Why is the gameplay so archaic? Why is there more voice chat in the Dreamcast's "Phantasy Star Online" than "RE: Outbreak 2"? Why must my AI companions be so stupid? Why do they run like they're blind and drunk? Why do I have to crawl through virus-infected Raccoon City for like the gazillionth time? Why must I fire my gun at enemies I can't bloody see? Why doesn't the game pause when I open up my menu screen when I can't even tell my teammates to hold off the zombies? Why is there even a second file? Why why why? Hey, you'd whine too if you wasted money on this dreck. I think would've been better off buying a second copy of "RE4". Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

29
#29 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
20
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005