Resident Evil Outbreak File #2 Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil Outbreak File #2 retains the signature Resident Evil storytelling, visuals, and bone-chilling audio that Capcom's survival-horror fans demand. Players join the eight characters from the first game in all new terrifying scenarios, with new locations, different enemies andResident Evil Outbreak File #2 retains the signature Resident Evil storytelling, visuals, and bone-chilling audio that Capcom's survival-horror fans demand. Players join the eight characters from the first game in all new terrifying scenarios, with new locations, different enemies and further details of the truth behind the catostrophic events. Players can play with up to four simultaneously in online mode. The key to survival will be cooperating and helping fellow characters as they fight to survive. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. A wonderful survival horror game. The new control scheme is so good that if Capcom were to redo all the previous RE games in the style of Outbreak they could probably convince me to go ahead and buy all four titles for a third time.
  2. More challenging puzzles, larger levels and new zombies to battle. All of this will please people who liked the first game and none of this will change the minds of people who hate the first game. Some of the key problems with the game like the lack of communication between players still hasn't been solved. [JPN Import]
  3. The best missions are better than the first Outbreak's but the others are too similar. Wait for the UK release to get the best of all words - online and fresh levels. [JPN Import; PSM2]
  4. 50
    Only the true RE addicts should pick this one up.
  5. 50
    It's having to help brain-eatingly bad A.I. (alone) or trying to cooperate when you can't communicate (online) that makes survival horrible.
  6. It's just not executed as well as we've grown to expect. If you're familiar with the first Outbreak, you'll find File #2 to be very much an expansion of that game.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    It's like trying to fly an airplane with no wings, and you can't even tell the passengers to kiss their asses good-bye. [May 2005, p.92]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. PicolinoA.
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    The best of the bests.
  2. CharlieW.
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    For any idiots who voted one: You're an idiot. [Ed: Logic...] Have you even tryed playing the game online? It's a whole new For any idiots who voted one: You're an idiot. [Ed: Logic...] Have you even tryed playing the game online? It's a whole new experience. Why doesn't the game pause when you hit "start" during gameplay? Here's your answer: Does the world pause when take a look in your backpack or when you're loading a weapon? Outbreak gives the game a LIVE feel. RE4 has absolutly NO replay value. It was nothing but a mindless gorefest like doom. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    great game! I love this game and i hope that the game gets a third. PLEASE fans, sign this petition:great game! I love this game and i hope that the game gets a third. PLEASE fans, sign this petition: http://www.petitiononline.com/042690/petition.html we need 10000 and have 9000 Expand
  4. MikeG
    Feb 11, 2007
    9
    People still don't get it. Adding a headset function would take all of the mystery out of each scenario. I wouldn't have played People still don't get it. Adding a headset function would take all of the mystery out of each scenario. I wouldn't have played this game as much if someone told me how to do everything the first time. Also, have you played socom? most people using headsets are rude. It's for these reasons I love this game, but also why there won't be a OBF3. Expand
  5. ChrisG.
    May 10, 2005
    8
    Well il say the good first, its just friggin awesome! it beats the original in level design and gameplay and even if you cant use chat exceptWell il say the good first, its just friggin awesome! it beats the original in level design and gameplay and even if you cant use chat except dialogue, it still works with the commands (remember tribes whn you couldent say anything? that sucked).The lobbys have changed (in a good way) and it can just be plain fun and exciting. Inow to talk about the game offline (which, i gotta say, is a different story), well some people might think that bad ai isnt all that bad but i gotta say, if your teammate doesnt listen and wanders around or if he/her does, they usually run right into the enemy, and then they wont shut up about helping them out.And the worst part of offline mode, remember when you can become a zombie? Well it ain't here! not even your teammates can become one.So if your completetly insane from them babbling and killing themselves and when, you get just crazy enough to want to kill yourself, you cant get revenge on those bastard ai.All in all id say ,with a few flaws, its an all in all fun game and you just might enjoy it. And please,dont think its bad from your other ideas to make it better, its still fun. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    5
    It's more or less just a continuation of the game that came before. No innovation, no real improvements, nothing remarkable (aside from theIt's more or less just a continuation of the game that came before. No innovation, no real improvements, nothing remarkable (aside from the zombie elephant, that was f**king awesome!!!)

    Overall:
    This feels more like an expansion and real wasted opportunity to improve upon the original. A real shame, as you can see the potential this series had.
    Expand
  7. Echelon
    Sep 11, 2005
    1
    Great big yawn. Did this game come out in 1995 or 2005? Why is the gameplay so archaic? Why is there more voice chat in the Dreamcast's Great big yawn. Did this game come out in 1995 or 2005? Why is the gameplay so archaic? Why is there more voice chat in the Dreamcast's "Phantasy Star Online" than "RE: Outbreak 2"? Why must my AI companions be so stupid? Why do they run like they're blind and drunk? Why do I have to crawl through virus-infected Raccoon City for like the gazillionth time? Why must I fire my gun at enemies I can't bloody see? Why doesn't the game pause when I open up my menu screen when I can't even tell my teammates to hold off the zombies? Why is there even a second file? Why why why? Hey, you'd whine too if you wasted money on this dreck. I think would've been better off buying a second copy of "RE4". Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#35 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#21 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005