Resident Evil Outbreak PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Resident Evil Outbreak Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Biohazard Outbreak") Now It Gets Personal... You are one of eight biological disaster survivors in the zombie-infested Raccoon City. Participate in cooperative and competitive missions to stop the biological effects unleashed by the Umbrella Corporation and ultimately stage(Also known as "Biohazard Outbreak") Now It Gets Personal... You are one of eight biological disaster survivors in the zombie-infested Raccoon City. Participate in cooperative and competitive missions to stop the biological effects unleashed by the Umbrella Corporation and ultimately stage your dramatic escape from a city engulfed in flames. Teamwork is key as you work in concert with your team-mates in order to survive. Trade items, unlock stages, solve puzzles and even save each other from zombie traps. Should you die in the process, your objective will change ? now you get to join the ranks of the zombies! And remember... Your best friend could end up your worst foe! [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. The single player is worth playing just as much as the online is. They both are lots of fun and at times the game can seem very chaotic but exciting all at the same time.
  2. Assessed solely on the single-player mode this game is a sizey, different and diverse lump of still-classic Resi gaming. Add online and add 5% to that score. [JPN Import; PSM2]
  3. AceGamez
    80
    Outbreak maintains the lavish horror atmosphere that we've all come to expect and is definitely worth a look, if nothing else, just so see what could be shambling towards us in the near future.
  4. Beyond the online component, Outbreak essentially plays like any other Resident Evil, only with a lesser story, better (though still imperfect) controls, and improved voice acting.
  5. Computer Games Magazine
    67
    There is no good way to communicate with other players, making cooperative play that much more difficult. [July 2004, p.6]
  6. The graphics and score are outstanding, but ultimately, the gameplay falls flat with heavy-handed mechanics and tedious goals.
  7. Should never have been released in Europe. By removing the co-operative aspect of the game, they've infected the game with a particularly virulent strain of the T-Virus. It shambles purposelessly for your attention, mindless of its origins. Totally dead on arrival.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. KevinN.
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    It's great when you use david you can make weapons and use it against the zombies.
  2. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    The best multiplayer Resident Evil game made to date IMO. I logged so many hours on this game it's not even funny, and it never got boring. IThe best multiplayer Resident Evil game made to date IMO. I logged so many hours on this game it's not even funny, and it never got boring. I loved playing Decisions, Decisions and with the right people you could do it in just over a half an hour if I remember correctly. I held some records on this game years ago, and I always think about how great this game was, so now that I've been reading it's brought back online, I want to try it. I had a few people that I always played with so we could do maps quickly and we had a blast doing it. I wish they would remake this game for the ps3 so I could play it in HD. You have to try this game, definitely. You won't regret it. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Resident Evil fans such as myself will love Outbreak. The CGI graphics are amazing, almost PS3 quality. The puzzles are challenging (yay noResident Evil fans such as myself will love Outbreak. The CGI graphics are amazing, almost PS3 quality. The puzzles are challenging (yay no more puzzles for 2 year olds), the guns have realistic power and you can use melee weapons like the iron pipe. The new virus gauge keeps you on your toes as well. Ok the AI characters will not stop talking, but other than that, the game is brilliant! Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    Resident Evil Outbreak, is a very interesting spin-off from the series, it has a lot of potential, but wow, so lame multiplayer gameplay,Resident Evil Outbreak, is a very interesting spin-off from the series, it has a lot of potential, but wow, so lame multiplayer gameplay, single player its awesome, especially in Lone Wolf/Very Hard, most challenging Re for me. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Let me start this off by saying that the loading times and AI for this game are unforgivable. That being said, let's move onto the good stuff.Let me start this off by saying that the loading times and AI for this game are unforgivable. That being said, let's move onto the good stuff. The atmosphere is excellent, and I really appreciate that it gives us the chance to revisit many iconic locations in Resident Evil history. This game has a lot of replay value due to the fact that all of the characters are so distinct. Lastly, the fact that you can use just about anything as a weapon is a really fun idea. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    es un buen juego de la saga pero el multijugador esta mas o menos la historia es buena la jugabilidad es buena los graficos como de de ps3es un buen juego de la saga pero el multijugador esta mas o menos la historia es buena la jugabilidad es buena los graficos como de de ps3 pero lo malo del juego son los bugs solo tiene 5 niveles y le falta un cooperativo y mejorar el multijugador y reactivarlo Expand
  7. AB
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    The only scary thing about this game is how bad it is. The puzzles are frustrating, the multiplayer is impossible. I did jump out of my seat The only scary thing about this game is how bad it is. The puzzles are frustrating, the multiplayer is impossible. I did jump out of my seat once, but that was to turn off this wretched, horrendous excuse for a videogame. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004