Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Sure, some of the textures could do with being of a higher resolution, there’s no multiplayer option and… nope, that’s pretty much all that’s wrong here.
  2. I wouldn’t say it is the best FPS available for the PS2 right now, but it is certainly in the top three and quite an enjoyable experience from start to finish.
  3. 83
    Raster productions has done an excellent port of the single-player missions from both the Xbox and PC versions of RTCW. [Aug 2003, p.35]
  4. Judging this game on it's own merits proves to still be a fun, exciting shooter. We decided to score this game on what it offers instead of what it doesn't, and that is the score you see.
  5. 76
    Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection loses big on the PS2 because of its lack of multiplayer modes.
  6. Unlike its Xbox cousin, this version of the PC mega-hit offers no compelling content other than slightly reworked levels and a prologue mission that adds about two hours of gameplay. [July 2003, p.105]
  7. Overall Wolfenstein is a fun and fast paced game that will provide FPS fans enjoyment, but there’s probably just not enough after the first time through to keep you coming back for more.
  8. If you are looking for a run-and-gun shooter that doesn’t require a lot of thinking or strategy then look no further.
  9. Too bad the compromised level design, quirky collision detection (I can buy Nazi zombies roaming around, NOT Nazi zombies suspended in mid-air while roaming about) and absence of multiplayer modes make this version of Return to Castle Wolfenstein the one to skip.
  10. Boy, did we get screwed. Why? Guess what kind of multiplayer mode RtCW has on PS2? Go ahead, guess! Give up? NONE. [Aug 2003, p.102]
  11. 68
    The repetitiveness of the game got to me quickly. With similar level designs, background music, and graphics, the single player mode made me feel like I was playing the same three or four levels over and over again.
  12. A stripped down husk of what the other Wolfenstein titles available are. While the level design is nice, and there’s some good audio features, overall the title just fails to engage the gamer nearly as much as many of it’s competitors, or it’s bigger brothers do.
  13. If anything can bring your romanticized WWII fantasy crashing back to reality, it's inconsistent A.I. [Aug 2003, p.119]
  14. After you get past the learning curve of the controls and the darkness of the graphics, the game is definitely worth checking out. Even with the exclusion of the multiplayer features, the single player adventure will be enough to satisfy the average gamer.
  15. 65
    Without any multiplayer value there is no justification to drop cash on this thin package, leaving it a rental for the curious.
  16. Without multiplayer, Wolfenstein feels like half a game. [Aug 2003, p.29]
  17. If you really like this mindless shooting wrapped up in some dated graphics and dated gameplay, then go for it. But without the multi-player mode that really made the Xbox version, and damn, not even with split screen or link-up, there's precious little to recommend here.
  18. 60
    The new levels are just plain boring, and the action doesn’t really pick up until you hit the original PC missions. Far worse, the game completely—and lamely—lacks multiplayer action or online support.
  19. Even if you can forgive the technical cock-ups and lack of multiplayer action, all you're left with is a fairly uninspired single player campaign that'll take you all of 12 hours to finish.
  20. RtCW has always been a pretty uninteresting single-player game, and without solid multiplayer to cushion the blow, the PlayStation 2 version of the game is a real failure.
  21. Falls far, far short of its Xbox forbear in one critical area. The praiseworthy online support that helped the Xbox edition over the steep hill of monotony is as absent as a truant with a severe case of senioritis. They didn't even include split-screen.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    6
    No se porque pense que lo que habia visto y sentido con los productos de IdSoftware en play iba a ser igual... lento, con graficas buenas No se porque pense que lo que habia visto y sentido con los productos de IdSoftware en play iba a ser igual... lento, con graficas buenas pero no lo suficiente... No lo recomiendo... medal of honor lo patea aun con las peores versiones.... Full Review »
  2. JonS.
    Sep 18, 2003
    4
    This game was the worst! I lost more life falling from the stupid ladders (which should be more automatic) then I did from the enemy's. This game was the worst! I lost more life falling from the stupid ladders (which should be more automatic) then I did from the enemy's. Another horrible point in the game is the grenades; aren't they supposed to hurt your enemy's? They never do any damage. Even in the later levels of the game when you have the ultimate in fire power the enemy is still super resistant to harm even by your lagest guns. In the time it takes to kill an enemy with the Venom Gun (the fastest and most damaging thing they give you) the enemy will drain your entire health by the time you kill them. All these flaws have forced me to play a stealth style game which sucks, if I wanted to go slow and get reaaly bored I wouldn't have sold my copy of Splinter Cell. I was hoping this game would let me run around wasting the enemy but instead I have to hide and take weak pop-shots at them from the dark with my sniper rifle. This game should have been called "Sneaky Zombie Nazi Sniper Who Can't Compete With Enemy Firepower". This game sucks. Full Review »
  3. KurtE.
    Sep 11, 2003
    9
    Great first-person shooter - easy to play. Great weapons, especially the "Venom" machine gun later in the game. Plus, I think the story line Great first-person shooter - easy to play. Great weapons, especially the "Venom" machine gun later in the game. Plus, I think the story line is pretty interesting. I normally ignore them - skip over the "movies," but I actually watched and enjoyed these. It gets more fun as you play, and it has a lot of levels. Good Fun. Full Review »