Riding Spirits Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hit the road on 200 of the fastest two-wheel machines on the planet from companies like Yamaha, Honda and Suzuki in the most accurate motorcycle racing game ever created. Earn your chance to sit astride these racing rockets by speeding to victory, winning cash for taking races. Spend yourHit the road on 200 of the fastest two-wheel machines on the planet from companies like Yamaha, Honda and Suzuki in the most accurate motorcycle racing game ever created. Earn your chance to sit astride these racing rockets by speeding to victory, winning cash for taking races. Spend your winnings on new bikes and all the racing gear you'll need to make you look as good as you ride. Drop serious dollars in the shop, adding better wheels, tighter suspension and bigger engines to your bike, taking it from stock ride to tricked-out racing machine. Anyone can wheel a bike out of a dealership -- can you tune yours to be a winner? Test the limits of your abilities on courses where a split-second decision means the difference between victory or defeat. Start your career and begin building your rep, as you crank open the throttle across 16 different tracks in America, Japan and Europe. [BAM Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. The gameplay is more than a little unforgiving, there are a handful of speed-decreasing roadblocks in the game’s physics, and Riding Spirits won’t be winning any awards in the graphics department either.
  2. Certainly a decent enough addition to the genre and less demanding race fans should find plenty to smile about.
  3. The problem with speed perception is probably the most noticeable deficiency that can be easily defined, although the lack of innovation and close design of gameplay aspects to earlier releases can't be dismissed out of hand.
  4. 61
    When you break it down to its essence however, Spike's motorcycle racing game is little more than a clone of a fantastic driving game ["GT3"] that we've been playing for almost two years now.
  5. Graphically inferior to glitzy modern day racers, and nowhere near as fast as it should be. [Oct 2002, p.40]
  6. After only a few minutes with it, you'll quickly notice that it not only has poor control, repetitive sounds, and bland graphics, but also blatantly rips off the overall structure and visual stylings of "Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec."
  7. Although, I wish I couldn’t go “ooh”. I wish I went “Bloody hell! Everything’s a God Damn blur!” instead.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    This is the best bike game ever no where near as repetetive as motoGP2.
  2. MichaelG.
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    Any one who don't like this game has never been on a motorcycle before. this is the only motorcycle game that works like the real bikes. Any one who don't like this game has never been on a motorcycle before. this is the only motorcycle game that works like the real bikes. I've been riding for 27 years, and I can'T PUT IT DOWN............keep up the go work spike ..........this is the game that every biker in the bronx .NEW YORK is playing today. also I have spoken to some biker in ct. and they like it too, so maybe some of the other voter needs to ride some time and then comment. Expand
  3. PatrickI.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I've been playing this game for almost 2 years now and just yesterday I beat the last of the duels. that only leaves the time trials and I've been playing this game for almost 2 years now and just yesterday I beat the last of the duels. that only leaves the time trials and training. This game is definately not for people that like easy, shallow games. it is really hard to get used to the realism but once you do, you cant turn it off. this game is always dogged down because I always crash type fellows. Guess what, you can't turn hairpins at 90 MPH, you cant go from 200-20 in 2 seconds and if you are going 140MPH you cant make a quick turn. Expand
  4. BigSwede
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    Obviously the game mags never have ridden a real bike for sure. This is the Gran Tourismo for bikes. Been playing all nights since I got my Obviously the game mags never have ridden a real bike for sure. This is the Gran Tourismo for bikes. Been playing all nights since I got my hands on it. My best recommendation to all sportbike lovers out there. Collapse
  5. MattT.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    The graphics may not be amazing, however, the gameplay is taxing and requires practice and skill. this is the most realistic racer i have The graphics may not be amazing, however, the gameplay is taxing and requires practice and skill. this is the most realistic racer i have played! The sound could be called repetetive but engines voices dont break when their goin down the straights do they! Spike deserves a good pat on the back for this racing masterpiece. Expand
  6. GPracer
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    Anyone who thinks this game is too hard obviously doesn't understand how much of a challenge riding really is. Kudos to BAM for being Anyone who thinks this game is too hard obviously doesn't understand how much of a challenge riding really is. Kudos to BAM for being able to achieve what they have. Sure MotoGp looks and plays great. But I know it wont seperate the Drivers from the Riders like Riding Spirits does. I'd really like to see it developed more! Expand
  7. TLSMan
    Dec 26, 2002
    6
    It's Gran turismo ONE, for playstation, not GTA3 for PS2.. The critics are largely right, you just have to love bikes enough to look It's Gran turismo ONE, for playstation, not GTA3 for PS2.. The critics are largely right, you just have to love bikes enough to look past this first games' shortcommings. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews