• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Risk: Global Domination Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Using the same hands-on military planning found in the original RISK board game, players now see battles come to life in vivid 3D environments, get advice from historic military leaders, and earn medals and special dice for strategic accomplishments. [Infogrames]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Plays like the board game, but with whizbang 3D graphics that portray soldiers in battle whenever a player makes an attack. [Oct 2003, p.126]
  2. The visuals are pleasing enough without being obtrusive. [Oct 2003, p.71]
  3. Ultimately, it's just Risk with a bare minimum of flashy animation. Obviously it's a faster game than a board-based one to entice you into purchasing, but there are no striking new modes that utilize the console setting. A competent, convenient interpretation that doesn't do enough to banish the board game to a jumble sale.
  4. Although the time in between turns alone may push modern gamers' patience past the breaking point, Risk: Global Domination stays true to its heritage and the enhanced online capabilities will go a long way towards maintaining players' interest.
  5. A solid board game conversion.
  6. Facing friends is better, but even with the fancy animation and sound effects, why not just clear the kitchen table and play the original? [Nov 2003, p.178]
  7. 28
    There is absolutely no advantage to playing this game since even the single-player game is an eye-gouging, horribly monotonous experience.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. TysonM.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Its a fun game to play if you have to do something in spurts because soon as your turn is done you can do something else while the computer Its a fun game to play if you have to do something in spurts because soon as your turn is done you can do something else while the computer is making its moves. (Check options for "fast defend") Collapse
  2. ChevyC.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    Great Game! Just Great! This is what RISK is supposed to be except that you don't need to take all night to do it and you don't Great Game! Just Great! This is what RISK is supposed to be except that you don't need to take all night to do it and you don't have to feel your house with snack-vaccuums to have a multiplayer game. To answer the question posed to the reviewer below, check the bottom of page 4 of your manual. It's the last paragraph. I was a little confused at first too so don't feel bad. Expand
  3. EJ
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    Hey David A., I think you should acctually think about what this game is. It prevents you from having you to beg forever for somone to play Hey David A., I think you should acctually think about what this game is. It prevents you from having you to beg forever for somone to play with you on the board game. And, you have the option of playing with the comp. or other people around the world. Expand
  4. ErnestM.
    Nov 20, 2003
    9
    I've played every version of Risk that has ever been made on a computer or console (don't think for a moment that I'm I've played every version of Risk that has ever been made on a computer or console (don't think for a moment that I'm kidding). This is the best yet! I give it a 9 only because I'm always hopeful that something better will come in the future. Until that time, play this one. I'll be the one to beat online! Expand
  5. RossK.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    This severely underrated game deserves a lot more praise than it has received. This is a PERFECT representation of the original board gameThis severely underrated game deserves a lot more praise than it has received. This is a PERFECT representation of the original board game onto a video game console, with many extra features to make the somewhat monotonous original transform into a respectable single or multiplayer game. Detractors of the board game will find little in this title to like, but fans of Risk will be overjoyed by this adaptation. Expand
  6. JF
    Nov 17, 2003
    8
    I faced the same problem as Chris H. but this game is still cool enough to play alone without getting bored.
  7. DavidA.
    Nov 7, 2003
    0
    The game does not portray vivid 3-D enviroments when you star a battle. It should show the soldiers lined up next to each other in a The game does not portray vivid 3-D enviroments when you star a battle. It should show the soldiers lined up next to each other in a cinematic view. It does not, instead it shows one piece fighting another. and I played ten games and thought unlocking the realistic map would take care of this. But the battle sequences are the same and boring. Do not buy this game If you think battles come to life in all different views, because the don't. Another thing there is no tips or any way to change the battle views that I know of. If anybody knows please say something otherwise this game really is terrible, with ps2 graphics I am sure they could have had alot better battle views than this kiddish design. Its a zero risk 2 blows this game in the weeds. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews