Rogue Galaxy PlayStation 2


Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
Buy On
  1. 100
    The game offers a cool setting, interesting characters, a great combat and skill system, and lots of extracurricular activities, providing countless hours of RPG fun.
  2. 100
    Rogue Galaxy is what every RPG should strive to be: an immersive experience that places you in a new world populated by intriguing characters. It's backed by an engaging and accessible story, possesses an intuitive control scheme and maintains a sense of depth will have you gladly coming back for more.
  3. A true classic, Rogue Galaxy brings Level 5 full circle in their growth as a developer; they have created not only the last great PS2 RPG, but one of the top five PS2 RPGs of all time!
  4. It may not be the perfect game, but it's easily one of the best Japanese-made RPGs you can find.
  5. Easily the best game I’ve played so far this year. Its highly-stylish graphics, mostly-smooth gameplay, incredible music, and fantastic voice acting combined to create an experience that I won’t forget, and one that I hope is enjoyed by anyone with a love for RPGs.
  6. PSM2 Magazine UK
    What a run RPGs are on at the moment - "Dragon Quest VIII," "Kingdom Hearts 2," and now Rogue Galaxy, which just about tops them all. Wondrous and sublime. [JPN Import; Apr 2006, p.54]
  7. An RPG made for traditional fans of the genre. With a solid story, vivid and likeable characters, a vast, interesting world, and fun gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is simply a must-have for RPG fans.
  8. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    Deep, addictive and awash with colour and character, Rogue Galaxy is a near-perfect take on the old-school Eastern RPG formula. [June 2007, p.76]
  9. Overall, I was quite impressed with Rogue Galaxy, and as one of the presumably last RPGs for the PlayStation 2, I think it's a fitting tribute to the machine that is home to the most games of this genre.
  10. Play UK
    An incredible RPG adventure that rarely gets dull thanks to the characterisation and brilliant fighting system. [Issue#156, p.90]
  11. 90
    And as this game is so good and so much fun to talk about, this may be a tad long, so prepare yourself. [JPN Import]
  12. games(TM)
    A yarn is only as good a s the characters knitting it. This is perhaps the most valuable lesson Level-5 has learned from "Dragon Quest VIII." Progressing the game just to see the characters talking has never felt more fun. [JPN Import; Mar 2006, p.124]
  13. The game offers a wealth of RPG riches and shows a developer exceeding its previous efforts and working at the height of its powers. [Jan 2007, p.100]
  14. 90
    Rogue Galaxy's greatest triumph, the brightest gleam in its eye, is that at sixty hours of play I've got another sixty I could easily pour in.
  15. Rogue Galaxy ultimately feels like a mixture of "Final Fantasy XII" and "Dark Cloud 2," which is undoubtedly a great combination. With its gorgeous visuals, its galaxy spanning story, and dozens of hours of gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is probably and sadly the last great RPG that the fading PS2 will see.
  16. Easily one of the best looking PlayStation 2 games. Although the game cannot compete on a technical level with recent new-generation games it more than makes up for this in style.
  17. There’s plenty of great RPG action to be found in this galaxy.
  18. Rogue Galaxy is an excellent example of what an RPG should be. This is easily the best game of 2007 so far.
  19. The sum of Rogue Galaxy's parts add up to a great RPG game that delivers superb action with real-time battle mechanics ("Kingdom Hearts" fans will eat this up). While the audio is certainly average in many respects, everything else about the game is first-rate.
  20. A game you just have to finish. You’ll love every part of it – the action-filled combat, the dream-driven plot, and every polygon of the gorgeous graphics. It’s not just one element that’ll consume you – it’s the entire package.
  21. Pelit (Finland)
    Great fun. Sure, the storyline is not particularly original and many of the characters are somewhat one-dimensional, but the fast-paced battles, entertaining narrative and the fascinating gameworld keep the player captivated. [Oct 2007]
  22. 87
    Though its storyline isn't on the same level as other great PS2 games in the genre, its mixture of strong combat mechanics, addictive sidequests, and absolutely stunning visual style more than makes up for what it doesn't do.
  23. Rogue Galaxy features a great artistic style with bright colors and a lot of detail.
  24. While playing through Rogue Galaxy, I kept on thinking that this might be what "Final Fantasy XII" might have been like if you were able to control the characters during battle.
  25. The trip is greater than the eventual destination. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy wrapping things up with a nice, meaty ending, but there's so much good stuff along the way that I didn't mind (despite what expletives may have erupted from my office) some of the more annoying parts of the game.
  26. Pure Magazine UK
    Exceedingly playable RPG that gets on with its tale instead of slowing down with stats. [Apr 2007, p.74]
  27. Games Master UK
    A game made for everyone, not just the hardcore RPG fans. [July 2007, p.69]
  28. A game that's solid in its foundation, provides a standard rpg tale, and last quite a good length. Yet at the same time it lacks anything to make it distinct, exciting, and something that players should care about. While it is no doubt a technical masterpiece, in the current rpg state of the PS2, where quality rpgs exist in mass, it's tough to recommend Rogue Galaxy. [JPN Import]
  29. Play Magazine
    The unmistakable refinement of Rogue galaxy makes it a worthy addition to any RPG library. [Feb 2007, p.34]
  30. Another outstanding title from Level 5 games. If you like RPGs, get this game now.
  31. PSM Magazine
    Imbalances not withstanding, Rogue galaxy is definitely worth playing. [Mar 2007, p.78]
  32. 85
    Sports a very imaginative look and feel. The characters are detailed, and the voice work is awesome.
  33. Rogue Galaxy is a decent action RPG from one of my favorite developers, Level 5. While not quite as good as their previous titles, Rogue Galaxy still offers plenty of fun RPG goodness, and does it in a very appealing style.
  34. If you play Rogue Galaxy in a straight-line you can beat it in the average-RPG time of about 50 hours. Should you take your time and see everything it has to offer, however, you’re looking at a good 100 hours of gameplay.
  35. Grinding out levels and looking for items is rarely this rewarding, and it’s obvious that Level 5 knows the depths of the role-player's mind all too well. Now if they could just hire a good writer.
  36. Rogue Galaxy fails to live up to its promise as a "Final Fantasy" killer. Sure it's one of the best-looking games to date on the PS2, nearly loading free, and has an awesome voice acting crew, but the story and repetitive battles can occasionally becoming trying at times.
  37. 80
    With an awful plot, some shoddy controls and poor dialogue working against it, you might expect that Rogue Galaxy would receive a poor overall score from me... and you'd be right if it weren't for everything else. The gameplay, in particular, was a saving grace but the music and graphics also pulled this game from the depths of despair into something fun.
  38. Hardcore Gamer
    Rogue galaxy is one of the competitors for the title of the last great PS2 game, and while it is by no means flawless, it should still keep you entertained for a few dozen hours. [Mar 2007, p.52]
  39. Fancy sailing around the galaxy in a pirate ship? Action RPGs don't get any better than this, with fast-paced combat, deep gameplay and fantastically stylized visuals.
  40. The story won’t win any awards, but there is enough to do in this game, and enough charm to keep players occupied for a very long time.
  41. 80
    An extremely well made and well thought out romp packed with loads of laughs and fun things to do.
  42. Like an anime version of "Star Wars," this big, lavishly produced action RPG is another good reason not to shelve your PlayStation 2 just yet.
  43. The amount of content is staggering, the art direction is stunning for a PS2 game, the oddball cast is likable and this might be the first RPG we've ever played in which the gameplay was way more interesting than the story. The flat, formulaic plot and mostly monotone voice acting drag it down a little, but overall Rogue Galaxy is a stellar effort.
  44. 80
    With solid localization, fun fighting, and a smooth flow, Rogue Galaxy is a likeable role-playing game that impresses on several fronts -- while at the same time giving a peek at what the future of the genre may hold.
  45. In the grand scheme of role-playing games, the story turns out rather conventional, but the large variety of content and game play should cement Rogue Galaxy's place in the collections of those seeking a lengthy, fulfilling adventure.
  46. PSM3 Magazine UK
    DQ and FF do things better than Rogue Galaxy but if you've finished both this will fill a hole. [June 2007, p.74]
  47. Rogue doesn’t try to do anything exceptional, and the result is entertaining but forgettable.
  48. So, the plot is a little dry and chewy, but the surrounding game is juicy and sweet. With a fairly lengthy, if substandard, main storyline crammed with lots of action and neat extra tidbits, Rogue Galaxy is a taste of the holidays, with none of the hassle.
  49. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    Sure, the game isn't a masterpiece, but until the PS3 raises its role-playing anchor, it'll at least help keep the PS2 afloat. [Feb. 2007, p.94]
  50. 75
    Rogue Galaxy does a lot of things very well, and it's an enjoyable, recommended RPG trip. But in the end, it feels like it's missing the intangibles that make up a true masterpiece.
  51. A really solid RPG title for the PS2, and while it doesn’t manage to fill in the top slot for RPG’s on the system, it definitely ranks up there in the top 4 or 5.
  52. This is undeniably still a good, enjoyable and very pretty game. Nevertheless, at this time, from this developer, Eurogamer won't be alone in mourning the fact it's not nearer a perfect, staggering and beautiful one instead.
  53. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    The real-time battles open the game's appeal up beyond the hard-nosed RPG fan. [Sept 2007, p.112]
  54. 70
    Rogue Galaxy does many things right, and changes up the tired fantasy settings of the genre, but is still held back somewhat by convention. But if you're after a solid RPG, Rogue Galaxy will fit the bill nicely.
  55. The crux of the gameplay lies in combat that is extremely tedious. There are other features within which to loose yourself, from item customization, to even a Pokemon style creature rearing and combat mini-game that is deep enough to almost be a game on its own. But these facets are made to accentuate the core game, not make up for its shortcomings, which as it turns out are considerable.
  56. Those with low tolerance for the shrill, stilted dialog of afternoon animation may wish themselves deaf.
  57. 60
    The action is unique, the world and characters are well crafted, and the game is generally well made. That said, the action does get a bit repetitive, the story is generic, the dungeons are incredibly dull, and the upgrade system is kind of weird.
  58. Edge Magazine
    It’s a testimony to the rapid evolution of this once moribund genre that Rogue Galaxy has been left so far behind. But it’s also a testament to Level 5’s inherent instinct for charm and compulsion that this game manages – even in 2007 – to hold its head above the crowd. [Apr 2007, p.78]
  59. AceGamez
    Inconsistent both in its game world and its gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is a title with much potential that doesn't quite realise it fully.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    Never have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best mostNever have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best most well-programmed installations of release after release of the lightest and most epic successes out there, Rogue Galaxy fits its name to absolution. Notwithstanding, this game is far beyond the nature of ANY perspective of rather any in-game or individuals senses. (The con being that you are sort of obligated to be in high-octaveness and measured crashing through side-quests, intelligent strategical choices, etc.) Why did I rate this a 10? Well since I saw the 83 score. That's about IT. For any new-comers to games, this game is a nice primer for the more successful high-octave blasts from the past which is dangerous in stature; yet beautiful at heart. This is a gold mine. (Not talking Vedan here) XD I have finished this game, and I know you will too if you are like me. Anywhere, anybody could (at least in America) get a kick out of this game sooner or later. At worst, cookie cutter bread and butter, at best, Epic nature to a transcendent and majestic extent. Please, go ahead and GO GET IT NAO!!! Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2015
    If you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it butIf you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it but its still a fun game.

    ~ Story ~

    The story focuses on our main hero Jaster Rogue who wants to go to space one day and travel to see and discover other planets. He meets 2 Space Pirates Steve & Simon and from there his adventure begins. He joins Dorgengoa's crew and proceeds to take treasures from other planets.

    Overall - The story is not that special in fact its kind of cliche, there are some exciting parts here and there like Jaster going Super Saiyan & other spoilers I don't want to mention. The story is moderate in my opinion not the best story ever nor the worst story ever. I also feel like the characters drive the story a little bit especially Jaster.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    The gameplay is kind of similar to playing a Tales game if you've ever played one.

    Revelation System - In this game you have what is called the Revelation Flow which is a weird but effective system for gaining abilities and stat increases. To use this system you have to get certain items from chests, monsters or through other means and place them on the Revelation Flow Board or Chart[whatever you want to call it] once you put all the necessary items there cha ching a small light bulb appears and you either gain a new Ability or a Stat Increase from there you can move on to other parts on the Board or Chart or Whatever.

    Fighting - Ah there's nothing like pressing the X Button to slash enemies with your sword and feel satisfaction when doing it. Battles occur in real time its not a turn based JRPG and thank god for that. On the screen "Warning' appears and monsters pop up out of nowhere like Heartless do in Kingdom Hearts. Sometimes "Challenge' appears and you will be required to do certain things to obtain Hunter Coins which lets you access certain things in shops and etc. Characters usually have 2 weapons Primary Weapons which are usually Swords, Spears or Axes and Secondary Weapons which are usually Guns, Shuriken or in Kisala's Case its Shoes.

    Action Gauge - While fighting in this game similar to Tales of Graces if you've ever played that. You have the Action Gauge which dictates how much actions you can do before it runs out, it loads back up pretty fast especially if you guarding against monster attacks.

    Abilities - In this game you can use abilities such as Flash Sword which adds lightning to your attacks or Dagger Slash which adds ice to your attacks. You can also use moves like Desert Wind to damage surrounding enemies with a powerful dust tornado, there's also team combination abilities like Hells Gate which sometimes wipes out all enemies in battle. 1of the problems I have with this is that characters should have more effect abilities and another problem I have is that abilities like Desert Wind can make battles feel cheap and way too easy since it can kill all the monsters. Its easy to abuse such abilities, I don't chose to abuse it but others might and probably will but that's just a minor complaint.

    Healing - At 1st when I started playing this game I noticed that you can pause and heal yourself in the battle menu and I thought this is better than Kingdom Hearts. Because in KH you have to heal while fighting which can be difficult at times. However skipping to 2015 I began playing the Tales Games where they limitate your ability to heal and how much items you can use which I thought was genius, it screwed me up in some battles but this is the better way to go. In Rogue Galaxy you can heal as much as you like and item limitation is not that high so the difficulty in this game is very low because you can heal over and over again and not die, this makes the game far too easy when it should be a far more challenging experience.

    Insectron - Basically you catch Pokemon I mean bugs and play a game in Planet Zerard to earn prizes.

    Fusion - Later on in the game you'll get a purple frog who can eat and fuse your weapons.

    Quarries - Hunt Powerful Beasts and get rewards.

    ~ Sound ~

    Everyone talks about Nobuo Uematsu and Yoko Shimomura but what about Tomohito Nishiura. This guy composes amazing music, Dark Cloud 1 had a better Soundtrack of course but Rogue Galaxy still has a pretty good soundtrack.

    Graphics - Very very good for a PS2 Game I'm no expert on graphics though. But I do love the HD Cutscenes that play in some moments in the game like the part when the giant worms were about to eat Jaster alongside the epic music that played with it. Level-5 does not disappoint in this department.

    Overall - I'm filled with nostalgia but I tried not to be too bias with this game. The bad things are the game is too easy, gameplay can get repetitive and I wish there was more Planets. The good things are there's lot's of characters to use, the story is not that bad & there's alot of exploration & side content to do. Despite my complaints I still love this game and I hope you will too.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    A fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worthA fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worth playing if you like Japanese RPGs (especially FF12 -- this game is very similar). Full Review »