• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 30, 2007
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Rogue Galaxy ultimately feels like a mixture of "Final Fantasy XII" and "Dark Cloud 2," which is undoubtedly a great combination. With its gorgeous visuals, its galaxy spanning story, and dozens of hours of gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is probably and sadly the last great RPG that the fading PS2 will see.
  2. Rogue Galaxy is an excellent example of what an RPG should be. This is easily the best game of 2007 so far.
  3. 90
    And as this game is so good and so much fun to talk about, this may be a tad long, so prepare yourself. [JPN Import]
  4. A true classic, Rogue Galaxy brings Level 5 full circle in their growth as a developer; they have created not only the last great PS2 RPG, but one of the top five PS2 RPGs of all time!
  5. An RPG made for traditional fans of the genre. With a solid story, vivid and likeable characters, a vast, interesting world, and fun gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is simply a must-have for RPG fans.
  6. The game offers a wealth of RPG riches and shows a developer exceeding its previous efforts and working at the height of its powers. [Jan 2007, p.100]
  7. Easily the best game I’ve played so far this year. Its highly-stylish graphics, mostly-smooth gameplay, incredible music, and fantastic voice acting combined to create an experience that I won’t forget, and one that I hope is enjoyed by anyone with a love for RPGs.
  8. Overall, I was quite impressed with Rogue Galaxy, and as one of the presumably last RPGs for the PlayStation 2, I think it's a fitting tribute to the machine that is home to the most games of this genre.
  9. 100
    Rogue Galaxy is what every RPG should strive to be: an immersive experience that places you in a new world populated by intriguing characters. It's backed by an engaging and accessible story, possesses an intuitive control scheme and maintains a sense of depth will have you gladly coming back for more.
  10. There’s plenty of great RPG action to be found in this galaxy.
  11. A yarn is only as good a s the characters knitting it. This is perhaps the most valuable lesson Level-5 has learned from "Dragon Quest VIII." Progressing the game just to see the characters talking has never felt more fun. [JPN Import; Mar 2006, p.124]
  12. 100
    The game offers a cool setting, interesting characters, a great combat and skill system, and lots of extracurricular activities, providing countless hours of RPG fun.
  13. 90
    Rogue Galaxy's greatest triumph, the brightest gleam in its eye, is that at sixty hours of play I've got another sixty I could easily pour in.
  14. A game you just have to finish. You’ll love every part of it – the action-filled combat, the dream-driven plot, and every polygon of the gorgeous graphics. It’s not just one element that’ll consume you – it’s the entire package.
  15. 87
    Though its storyline isn't on the same level as other great PS2 games in the genre, its mixture of strong combat mechanics, addictive sidequests, and absolutely stunning visual style more than makes up for what it doesn't do.
  16. Rogue Galaxy features a great artistic style with bright colors and a lot of detail.
  17. Deep, addictive and awash with colour and character, Rogue Galaxy is a near-perfect take on the old-school Eastern RPG formula. [June 2007, p.76]
  18. Great fun. Sure, the storyline is not particularly original and many of the characters are somewhat one-dimensional, but the fast-paced battles, entertaining narrative and the fascinating gameworld keep the player captivated. [Oct 2007]
  19. Easily one of the best looking PlayStation 2 games. Although the game cannot compete on a technical level with recent new-generation games it more than makes up for this in style.
  20. 90
    An incredible RPG adventure that rarely gets dull thanks to the characterisation and brilliant fighting system. [Issue#156, p.90]
  21. What a run RPGs are on at the moment - "Dragon Quest VIII," "Kingdom Hearts 2," and now Rogue Galaxy, which just about tops them all. Wondrous and sublime. [JPN Import; Apr 2006, p.54]
  22. The sum of Rogue Galaxy's parts add up to a great RPG game that delivers superb action with real-time battle mechanics ("Kingdom Hearts" fans will eat this up). While the audio is certainly average in many respects, everything else about the game is first-rate.
  23. It may not be the perfect game, but it's easily one of the best Japanese-made RPGs you can find.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. MatthewB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    Story starts off amazing. Your opinion of that changes 20 hours in, and after completing the 40 hour game you feel like you missed half of Story starts off amazing. Your opinion of that changes 20 hours in, and after completing the 40 hour game you feel like you missed half of it. Combat starts off great. Skill system is interesting and handled in a nice way. 10 hours in, combat devolves to [pause] > [special attack]. 15 hours in, skill revelation system grinds to a halt due to items you have to go back to an earlier planet and grind for an hour to retrieve. Characters are interesting though. Differing motivations, personalities, and they play off each other well enough. However, the scenes that make them seem interesting come off as annoying and ill-timed. I'd recommend you rent the game, play it through halfway, return it and imagine the rest. Full Review »
  2. FaizuddinJ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    This is a very outstanding and unbelievable RPG. The more story goes, the more it will excite your hearts. The gameplay and battle system is This is a very outstanding and unbelievable RPG. The more story goes, the more it will excite your hearts. The gameplay and battle system is definitely comforting and reasonable. Although it combines cell-shaded and graphic texture, it wouldn't cease the value of this game at all. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2015
    8
    If you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it butIf you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it but its still a fun game.

    ~ Story ~

    The story focuses on our main hero Jaster Rogue who wants to go to space one day and travel to see and discover other planets. He meets 2 Space Pirates Steve & Simon and from there his adventure begins. He joins Dorgengoa's crew and proceeds to take treasures from other planets.

    Overall - The story is not that special in fact its kind of cliche, there are some exciting parts here and there like Jaster going Super Saiyan & other spoilers I don't want to mention. The story is moderate in my opinion not the best story ever nor the worst story ever. I also feel like the characters drive the story a little bit especially Jaster.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    The gameplay is kind of similar to playing a Tales game if you've ever played one.

    Revelation System - In this game you have what is called the Revelation Flow which is a weird but effective system for gaining abilities and stat increases. To use this system you have to get certain items from chests, monsters or through other means and place them on the Revelation Flow Board or Chart[whatever you want to call it] once you put all the necessary items there cha ching a small light bulb appears and you either gain a new Ability or a Stat Increase from there you can move on to other parts on the Board or Chart or Whatever.

    Fighting - Ah there's nothing like pressing the X Button to slash enemies with your sword and feel satisfaction when doing it. Battles occur in real time its not a turn based JRPG and thank god for that. On the screen "Warning' appears and monsters pop up out of nowhere like Heartless do in Kingdom Hearts. Sometimes "Challenge' appears and you will be required to do certain things to obtain Hunter Coins which lets you access certain things in shops and etc. Characters usually have 2 weapons Primary Weapons which are usually Swords, Spears or Axes and Secondary Weapons which are usually Guns, Shuriken or in Kisala's Case its Shoes.

    Action Gauge - While fighting in this game similar to Tales of Graces if you've ever played that. You have the Action Gauge which dictates how much actions you can do before it runs out, it loads back up pretty fast especially if you guarding against monster attacks.

    Abilities - In this game you can use abilities such as Flash Sword which adds lightning to your attacks or Dagger Slash which adds ice to your attacks. You can also use moves like Desert Wind to damage surrounding enemies with a powerful dust tornado, there's also team combination abilities like Hells Gate which sometimes wipes out all enemies in battle. 1of the problems I have with this is that characters should have more effect abilities and another problem I have is that abilities like Desert Wind can make battles feel cheap and way too easy since it can kill all the monsters. Its easy to abuse such abilities, I don't chose to abuse it but others might and probably will but that's just a minor complaint.

    Healing - At 1st when I started playing this game I noticed that you can pause and heal yourself in the battle menu and I thought this is better than Kingdom Hearts. Because in KH you have to heal while fighting which can be difficult at times. However skipping to 2015 I began playing the Tales Games where they limitate your ability to heal and how much items you can use which I thought was genius, it screwed me up in some battles but this is the better way to go. In Rogue Galaxy you can heal as much as you like and item limitation is not that high so the difficulty in this game is very low because you can heal over and over again and not die, this makes the game far too easy when it should be a far more challenging experience.

    Insectron - Basically you catch Pokemon I mean bugs and play a game in Planet Zerard to earn prizes.

    Fusion - Later on in the game you'll get a purple frog who can eat and fuse your weapons.

    Quarries - Hunt Powerful Beasts and get rewards.

    ~ Sound ~

    Everyone talks about Nobuo Uematsu and Yoko Shimomura but what about Tomohito Nishiura. This guy composes amazing music, Dark Cloud 1 had a better Soundtrack of course but Rogue Galaxy still has a pretty good soundtrack.

    Graphics - Very very good for a PS2 Game I'm no expert on graphics though. But I do love the HD Cutscenes that play in some moments in the game like the part when the giant worms were about to eat Jaster alongside the epic music that played with it. Level-5 does not disappoint in this department.

    Overall - I'm filled with nostalgia but I tried not to be too bias with this game. The bad things are the game is too easy, gameplay can get repetitive and I wish there was more Planets. The good things are there's lot's of characters to use, the story is not that bad & there's alot of exploration & side content to do. Despite my complaints I still love this game and I hope you will too.
    Full Review »