• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Rogue Galaxy Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The newest invention of "Dark Cloud" series developer Level 5, this role-playing game wraps up a neat real-time battle system in a world of unique and great-looking characters and environments. Jaster is a young man who dreams of exploring the galaxy. In a sudden turn of fate, he is mistaken for a renowned bounty hunter and recruited into a band of space pirates in a race to find a legendary planet that holds the key to the greatest treasures and eternal life. Clues to ‘Eden’ are scattered round the Galaxy - Jaster will go onto to explore many different worlds and face countless battles in search for these clues – but some treasures are best left undiscovered. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    The game offers a cool setting, interesting characters, a great combat and skill system, and lots of extracurricular activities, providing countless hours of RPG fun.
  2. 90
    And as this game is so good and so much fun to talk about, this may be a tad long, so prepare yourself. [JPN Import]
  3. Deep, addictive and awash with colour and character, Rogue Galaxy is a near-perfect take on the old-school Eastern RPG formula. [June 2007, p.76]
  4. A game made for everyone, not just the hardcore RPG fans. [July 2007, p.69]
  5. In the grand scheme of role-playing games, the story turns out rather conventional, but the large variety of content and game play should cement Rogue Galaxy's place in the collections of those seeking a lengthy, fulfilling adventure.
  6. With solid localization, fun fighting, and a smooth flow, Rogue Galaxy is a likeable role-playing game that impresses on several fronts -- while at the same time giving a peek at what the future of the genre may hold.
  7. 60
    The action is unique, the world and characters are well crafted, and the game is generally well made. That said, the action does get a bit repetitive, the story is generic, the dungeons are incredibly dull, and the upgrade system is kind of weird.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. FaizuddinJ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    This is a very outstanding and unbelievable RPG. The more story goes, the more it will excite your hearts. The gameplay and battle system is definitely comforting and reasonable. Although it combines cell-shaded and graphic texture, it wouldn't cease the value of this game at all. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    A fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worth playing if you like Japanese RPGs (especially FF12 -- this game is very similar). Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Never have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best most well-programmed installations of release after release of the lightest and most epic successes out there, Rogue Galaxy fits its name to absolution. Notwithstanding, this game is far beyond the nature of ANY perspective of rather any in-game or individuals senses. (The con being that you are sort of obligated to be in high-octaveness and measured crashing through side-quests, intelligent strategical choices, etc.) Why did I rate this a 10? Well since I saw the 83 score. That's about IT. For any new-comers to games, this game is a nice primer for the more successful high-octave blasts from the past which is dangerous in stature; yet beautiful at heart. This is a gold mine. (Not talking Vedan here) XD I have finished this game, and I know you will too if you are like me. Anywhere, anybody could (at least in America) get a kick out of this game sooner or later. At worst, cookie cutter bread and butter, at best, Epic nature to a transcendent and majestic extent. Please, go ahead and GO GET IT NAO!!! Expand
  4. paulA.
    Feb 1, 2007
    8
    First off I despise cell shaded grafics... usually. however, this game is great looking. the gameplay is much better than the auto pilot final fantasy XII battles. some of the other reviewers compare the cell shading to zelda which is a farce. the characters and the environments, although different, mesh well together and are much more detailed oriented than windwaker. overall the game loses a little in the repetitive battles but if your like rpg's then, lets face it, your used to it by now. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Colourful, fun, graphical marvel, tons of content, plenty of planets to visit... one of those undiscovered gems. If it had Blitzball I would rate it twice as good as FFX. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Some small annoyances based on getting locked up while the game runs through the motions, the game over screen a definite offender, it only occasionally frustrates, and is mostly an avoidable quirk. The combat is pretty nice, allowing you to actually take an active role in how well the party fairs. The story's mostly pants but that doesn't really bother me at all. Overall, i love it. One of my personal top 10 for PS2 Expand
  7. ZachJ.
    Jul 22, 2007
    3
    From the beginning, I really liked this RPG. The battle system was good enough off the start, and the story seemed interesting. However, as I went along, this game just gradually made me start to hate it. Like, absolutely despise it. This game has the worst dialogue out of any RPG I've played. Ever. It's absolutely painful. I mean, if you think that Final Fantasy's stumbles along every once in a while, then you have no idea of what depths of crappiness lie in store for you here. The characters seem fake, the writing is terrible, and it sells the entire game short. Jaster is an awful main character, and all of his lines are crappy segues to the next dungeon or action segment. You know his entire personality within two minutes of dialogue from him (which is all of "leik OMG we have to help out people in need, i totalz want adventure, good is good and bad is not good") and he never changes once throughout the entire freaking game. They could've made so much more interesting characters here, but instead they chose to take the easy route and provide mindless filler between the boring dungeon segments. If you don't like anime-styled RPGs, do not get this game. If you don't like having to sit through hours of the worst cutscenes in RPG history, do not get this game. In fact, just don't get this RPG. In the end, it really is not worth it. I really wish I could say more for this game, becuase it had SO much going for it. The battle system is good! Like, really good! Why the hell did they have to muck it up by making the rest of the game terrible? In fact, the graphics, for a console that's successor has been out for almost a year now, are pretty freaking good! Why, Level 5? Why would you ruin what could've been an amazing game? Expand

See all 17 User Reviews