RPG Maker 3 PlayStation 2

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MelissaR.
    Dec 23, 2005
    5
    Well I just bought this game thinking I could do what I couldn't do in rpg maker 2 for ps2 I did like the fact that making world maps and dungeon was easy but I got to say there is alot of lacking in the making of this game...Charater Battlers don't match each other neither does the 2d graphics with 3d model. My next thing is that they have emotions BUT you can't make them Well I just bought this game thinking I could do what I couldn't do in rpg maker 2 for ps2 I did like the fact that making world maps and dungeon was easy but I got to say there is alot of lacking in the making of this game...Charater Battlers don't match each other neither does the 2d graphics with 3d model. My next thing is that they have emotions BUT you can't make them walk around to a certain point major bummer in rpg maker 1 and 2 you could. Collapse
  2. JacquelineI.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    A good game for people who have written a story and want to make it into a game. The game has a few faults such as your "people" beings designed on the class they are in. The Graphics were better then I expected. The creation was easy to use. I hope they make a fourth RPG maker.. they have a few major flaws that they need to work out.
  3. RPGFan
    Feb 1, 2008
    4
    I sold the game. I started out loving it because of the storyteller system and the graphics were really nice. Once I got to the character making I just about went super saiyan and obliterated my PS2. It pissed me off so much when I found the noose around my neck that were the class models. You can only use certain weapons if you're this class, you can only look like these ifI sold the game. I started out loving it because of the storyteller system and the graphics were really nice. Once I got to the character making I just about went super saiyan and obliterated my PS2. It pissed me off so much when I found the noose around my neck that were the class models. You can only use certain weapons if you're this class, you can only look like these if you're this class, you have to be a male to have that class, you can only use this if you're a female, Fuck That!!! You should not limit the creater telling him this is how your character will look, any problems. Yes!!! I almost went sompletely insane trying to find a way past it. It almost seems like they went out of their way to screw this game to pieces. Expand
  4. RobW.
    Oct 6, 2005
    5
    Ok, This game I have to say has way too many flaws in it. Not being able to choose what you look like in battle, it's only based on the class you have chosen. Then theres the animated pictures that are "supposed to go with the 3D modeling", come on what is that. I mean honestly how do you compare an Old man Sage 3D model with some of the younger looking Portraits....just doesn't Ok, This game I have to say has way too many flaws in it. Not being able to choose what you look like in battle, it's only based on the class you have chosen. Then theres the animated pictures that are "supposed to go with the 3D modeling", come on what is that. I mean honestly how do you compare an Old man Sage 3D model with some of the younger looking Portraits....just doesn't work and I was very, very upset over that. Another thing that hit me was not being able to customize your outfit bit by bit, only one solid color and there was only 4 of them. Weapons should have been all open to whom ever you choose to wield. Some of the items you create are limited to the graphics, such as not be able to produce an item that boosts your status by a point, EX - (Power Food +1 to STR). Oh god! Then theres the magic, whoa boy don't get me started on that, when it comes to RPGs I am a Magic useing fanatic, and to only make what they have there, really got to me. I couldn't even make a Wind Spell at ALL! sigh.... Why did they have to mess it up, I've heard they spent so much time on this game....but apparently not enough. Over all I have to say they did manage to get the game to look very, very nice in graphics I'll give them that, and the map making I liked it was very easy and very creative too. To conclude my review, all I have to say is that if they go for a fourth please, please make it enjoyable at least more than one way like full customazations for Characters, Magic, and Items. Expand
  5. DickF.
    Sep 22, 2005
    6
    Love the concept . I had RPG maker one and this is much easier to use however, not being able to customize charector models is such a major draw back that I wanted to throw my controller at the screen. I mean you can ONLY use prefab char models what a crock of crap!!!!!!!
  6. Bob
    Sep 14, 2005
    8
    It seems like RPG Maker will be easier this time around. But if your not the waiting type then you can fail like anyother RPG Maker. Also if you think playing a other RPG is easier then your right. But ppl who want to make RPGs will see it differently then ppl who don't wanna make RPGs.
  7. May 2, 2013
    10
    Way better user interface then 2 by far, and the graphics on it are much more up to date as well, but is still pretty limited in certain areas that 2 is not. But still great if you have a story you want to see as a game.

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. PSM Magazine
    70
    It stinks that you can't upload your finished RPG to the internet, and it's a challenge to use. [Aug 2005, p.81]
  2. Play Magazine
    75
    There's still a massive learning curve, but it's about as accessible as a program of this type can be. [Aug 2005, p.51]
  3. Game Informer
    65
    In the time it takes to create any sort of viable or interesting content in RPG Maker, you could play through a real game. [Aug 2005, p.101]