Rugby 06 PlayStation 2

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MusaM.
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is the best rugby game ever ,I have a problem with the cameras though, but hey I play high school rugby in the southern hemisphere{south africa} I also enjoyed playing with my favourite team the Blue Bulls in the Super 14,the Tri-nations are good and the Six -nations are quite enjoyable but maybe in rugby 07 they will put Loftus Versfeld{SA},Christchurch{NZ} these are stadiums
  2. SebastianC.
    Oct 6, 2006
    7
    Great game compared to all previous rugby games. unfortunately the developers still continue the bias trend of putting pacific island players stats too low compared to other players. i felt that the backline for the three island nations were too weak compared to teams like wales and france. in reality they are not ex: brian lima could out class most of the 6 nation centres. the islanders Great game compared to all previous rugby games. unfortunately the developers still continue the bias trend of putting pacific island players stats too low compared to other players. i felt that the backline for the three island nations were too weak compared to teams like wales and france. in reality they are not ex: brian lima could out class most of the 6 nation centres. the islanders names and squads are also wrong in some teams. in the fiji team Sireli Bobo is spelt Sireli Baba. despite these faults it is the best rugby game on the planet by far. maybe cause it's 1 of just a few rugby games on the shelf . looking foward to a better game in 2007. Expand
  3. Obliviondevestator
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    I thought this game was very good as you can use impact players to your advantage and use many illegal moves. it is also great because you can do offload passes and there are many new set plays.overall i thought it was a very good game and as a very big rugby fan i recommend this game strongly.
  4. Mark
    Mar 25, 2007
    1
    Buggy and totally unlike rugby. Some players run at 2 or 3 times the speed of everyone else. We need a Pro Evolution Rugby but I don't think the Japanese are much interested in it.
  5. JimmyD.
    Feb 12, 2006
    9
    Very good, though bit easy to break through defencive line.
  6. Ryan
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    Great game. Don't waste money on Rugby Challenge, this is the best rugby game by far!
  7. Number8
    Feb 27, 2006
    8
    An improvement on last year definitely. Offload passing is great, and passing in general has improved. Impact players are nice too. Could use a few minor improvements ((AI defence) but overall the closest video game rugby will get to real world rugby. How about a 7's mini game in next year's version?
  8. JordanP.
    Apr 11, 2006
    8
    good for big rugby fans, general sports fans and people with an open mind. quick and easy to learn and play. cant fault the licences, it is an EA game. scores can get a little unrealistic, me and a freind had a 77-49 final scoreline once! defence is also a bit random.
  9. TheDougz
    Aug 31, 2006
    8
    Dexter Pearson for AceGamez is brainless. His remarks and scoring should be stripped from this site. I really wanted to give this a 10, but then how would I be able to fairly rate the upcoming Rugby titles from EA? Hands down the best rugby game to date. And no it's not FIFA. If you want FIFA buy FIFA, if you want Rugby read everyone's reviews except for Dexter Pearson's Dexter Pearson for AceGamez is brainless. His remarks and scoring should be stripped from this site. I really wanted to give this a 10, but then how would I be able to fairly rate the upcoming Rugby titles from EA? Hands down the best rugby game to date. And no it's not FIFA. If you want FIFA buy FIFA, if you want Rugby read everyone's reviews except for Dexter Pearson's for AceGamez. He apparently knows only two things: FIFA and breakfast. And I could care less for either. Expand
  10. GMaximus
    Dec 27, 2006
    5
    I thought the game itself was pretty good. Just a few things that could help improve the game - better player details for the lower rank sides etc - tonga,samoa and their abilities and for upcoming stars there could be a experience level like the new soccer 2007 game where the more you play with a player the more you gain experience therefore the player gets better and the defense is to I thought the game itself was pretty good. Just a few things that could help improve the game - better player details for the lower rank sides etc - tonga,samoa and their abilities and for upcoming stars there could be a experience level like the new soccer 2007 game where the more you play with a player the more you gain experience therefore the player gets better and the defense is to easy even on elite and maybe there could be legends unlocked etc - Tim Horan, Christian Cullen, Jeff Wilson and Michael Jones for winning a tournament to include in to present sides in the game. Rugby forever... is it me or is the Jonah Lomu game hard to find? Expand
  11. Jo
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Great game
  12. ChrisA.
    Mar 13, 2006
    7
    The best rugby game there is. But that's not exactly much of a accolade in todays market. A huge way forward from Rugby 2005 with only a few small steps however there's a lot of flaws that need to be eradicated before Rugby can become a sport that EA will truly master. On easy and medium the game is not only too easy, but the game is nothing like actual rugby, however on hard The best rugby game there is. But that's not exactly much of a accolade in todays market. A huge way forward from Rugby 2005 with only a few small steps however there's a lot of flaws that need to be eradicated before Rugby can become a sport that EA will truly master. On easy and medium the game is not only too easy, but the game is nothing like actual rugby, however on hard mode there is a great flow to the game. However, in trying to make this flow they developers have made it more unrealistic. The offload pass is a great addition, but seems to have a ridicously high success rate. At least the forward pass in set plays not being picked up has been fixed. Tackling in the 2006 version however is very hard after mastering 2005, but it is more realistic as it suits a straight line defense rather than a single man rush and dive. One of the fixes purportedly in the game was that the players had stopped all moving in the same direction with the player, and this has happened to a degree, however the amount of times the centres and wing stand wide out in a defensive line in open play and let the opposition through the centre is high. What can be improved? Better USER team AI, more realistic implimentation of offload pass, and more statistics endgame statistics. This is a game that would interest rugby enthusiasts, and they love to see a good tackle count, or how many times Hodgson has kicked away possession (Don't get me started). All in all a good game, despite being made by EA, but much to be improved. Maybe a Konami, Pro Evo style version.... The mouth waters. (Oh, and the diving tackle when you're through and clear is very frustrating!) Expand
  13. IslanderS.
    Aug 13, 2006
    8
    i thought the game was good but the defence was too easy to break through,even on elite difficulty i played new zealand once you know how score tries winning by 100 points.the only real challenge is tryin to beat new zealand with geogia..but hopefully they make rugby 07 game much harder including more stats n more tournaments like 7's ,pacific cup etc. i own all the rugby games and i thought the game was good but the defence was too easy to break through,even on elite difficulty i played new zealand once you know how score tries winning by 100 points.the only real challenge is tryin to beat new zealand with geogia..but hopefully they make rugby 07 game much harder including more stats n more tournaments like 7's ,pacific cup etc. i own all the rugby games and my biggest annoyance its that they all too easy! but other than that rugby06 is cool. so hopefully rugby07 can make a better change. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    86
    An enjoyable rugby game. Tutorial and practice mode are helpful for beginners, but scrums, rucks and mauls are still pretty hard to play. Passing game is done extremely well. [Feb 2006]
  2. If Rugby 06 is anything to go by, then future iterations of the franchise will only continue to get stronger and better, since this is by far the best rugby game to date. The flow of the game is more realistic than ever before, with the introduction of offloads, and quick penalties/line-outs working together to bring the game closer to the modern sport of rugby.
  3. AceGamez
    50
    I came into Rugby 06 with an open mind, I was hoping for the FIFA engine with rugby elements and I was let down.