Rugby 08 PlayStation 2

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. The bad news? Nothing in the game has really changed from the previous game and online play continues to be missing. The good news? It still plays just like the real sport and looks excellent to boot.
  2. Rugby 08 is enjoyable enough to warrant a rental by those curious about the sport, but only serious followers of the sport will find it holding their attention for longer.
  3. Rugby 08 isn't much of a step-up from the previous game in the franchise, but it still offers pick-up-and-play fun for both novices and rugby fanatics.
  4. Rugby 08 is at the end of the day an average re-release with some updated features.
  5. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    Will delight even casual rugger fans. [Sept 2007, p.90]
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    50
    For all its easy-going accessibility, it doesn't play anything like a realistic game of rugby, so those looking for authenticity should kick this one into touch. [Sept 2007, p.106]
  7. Games Master UK
    73
    Competent, but nothing overwhelming for the amount of time we've had to wait for it. [Sept 2007, p.77]
  8. The gameplay itself holds up strong throughout any mode, despite the delayed controls and sudden difficulty spike, and playing with a friend is usually good fun. In the end, though, we had hoped to see a little more in Rugby 08 that would distinguish it from 06; something concrete that goes beyond cosmetic upgrades.
  9. Not just for Rugby experts. [Oct 2007, p.76]
  10. Rugby 08 was never going to revolutionise the 15-man code's representation in videogaming, but it wasn't intended to. Instead it throws a sliver of new gameplay to appease fans of the series in the run up to the World Cup.
  11. PSM Magazine
    70
    The tutorial expects you to know the core rules, so complete noobs will be lost instantly. [Sept 2007, p.82]

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    the best rugby game of all time hands down its better than any current gen game as great as jonah lomu ps1 game and that game is amazingthe best rugby game of all time hands down its better than any current gen game as great as jonah lomu ps1 game and that game is amazing aswell hopefully they make a rugby 14 Full Review »
  2. EvanO.
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    This game is very fun to play, very addicting, and incredibly simple to learn. There is one MAJOR glitch though: When one of your players is This game is very fun to play, very addicting, and incredibly simple to learn. There is one MAJOR glitch though: When one of your players is injured, and you have no one who plays their position on your bench, the player you put in will not be able to catch the ball! I just lost a game where I was down by 4 in the 77th minute, my star player gets hurt, and immediately my replacement drops two balls, causing 2 scrums, which of course, makes me lose the game! Full Review »
  3. KeirenM.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    The graphics are good and controls but why havent they still made it playable online fifa games do so why not rugby games its not fair.