• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Nov 25, 2002
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Imagine the visual pageantry of "Devil May Cry" populated with the characters of "Dead or Alive," applied to a Greco-Roman era action-adventure. [Dec 2002, p.58]
  2. With plenty of unlockables, action packed gameplay and awesome graphics. This is a must-buy for an action/adventure fan. But with the short play time, this is a tempting rental for everyone else.
  3. 91
    Bottom line: if you like to have fun, play Rygar. [Jan 2003, p.54]
  4. Stunningly beautiful - jaw-dropping at times... One of the finest action games I've ever played. [Jan 2003, p.137]
  5. Rygar's environments will amaze you from the beginning. [Dec 2002, p.118]
  6. This Greek mythology-based action game is an update of the arcade and NES classic in name only. Fun combat and great music. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  7. I'm surprised to say that this is a title that you could play through once, then turn around and play through it another 5 times or so to unlock all of the goodies.
  8. This classic next-generation action experience overflows with class and attention to detail, welcoming 80’s veterans and young newcomers into its pseudo-intellectual (!) interpretation of classic Greek motifs and 3D action platforming.
  9. The constant action featured in the gameplay is just as exhilarating as anything previously seen, as the only thing hampering it is the faulty camera angles at times.
  10. What surprised me most, though, were the incredible, lush visuals. [Jan 2003, p.180]
  11. The game is a bit on the short side, true, but rarely does a game manage to capture the essence of the classics the way this does. The action is fast and furious, the graphics astounding, and the music incredible.
  12. The Diskarmor is one of the most innovative weapons of all time and with the three versions and dozens of combos and unique attacks the possibilities for creatively dispatching your enemies is nearly endless.
  13. 87
    It also does a great job of channeling the spirit of the game it's based on, unlike the recent remake of "Shinobi."
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    My brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's youMy brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's you discover, whats most fun is the puzzles you do. Some parts you will go into circles but if you watch carefully and concentrate enough then you will like it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    4
    Definitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos andDefinitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos and upgrades.

    The graphics and level design are great and spooky, and they take me back to Shadow of the Colossus, but the dialogue and cut-scenes are pretty terrible. Rygar's speech is the worst.

    This is the best rating I'd give for a game I don't have interest in playing for very long. Doesn't mean it won't work for the console action gamer, especially if you like DMC or similar games.
    Full Review »
  3. EricH.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Great game, not repetitive, ok story, great weapon system, great visuals, great gameplay, an over-all great game...........but this game soGreat game, not repetitive, ok story, great weapon system, great visuals, great gameplay, an over-all great game...........but this game so they make a sequel!!! Full Review »