Rygar: The Legendary Adventure PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Nov 25, 2002
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. 84
    A solid, likeable action game that should satisfy old fans and invite newer ones into deadly yo-yo combat.
  2. Game Informer
    90
    Rygar's environments will amaze you from the beginning. [Dec 2002, p.118]
  3. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The character models are great. Rygar is exquisitely detailed.
  4. 87
    It also does a great job of channeling the spirit of the game it's based on, unlike the recent remake of "Shinobi."
  5. The story and acting is guff - and easily ignored - but the sense of being involved in some epic fantasy movie is quite tangible.
  6. 80
    The game’s length, dialogue, and uneven difficulty are this legend’s only blemishes.
  7. The Diskarmor is one of the most innovative weapons of all time and with the three versions and dozens of combos and unique attacks the possibilities for creatively dispatching your enemies is nearly endless.
  8. A good leap forward from 2D into the 3D realm. However, a few graphical and gameplay flaws, as well as its short duration, detract from the total overall experience, making it seem like more of an expansion pack than a full title.
  9. I'm surprised to say that this is a title that you could play through once, then turn around and play through it another 5 times or so to unlock all of the goodies.
  10. 80
    Though it only takes five hours to beat, the overall package is so focused and addictive that most will want to play it more than once.
  11. Play Magazine
    100
    Imagine the visual pageantry of "Devil May Cry" populated with the characters of "Dead or Alive," applied to a Greco-Roman era action-adventure. [Dec 2002, p.58]
  12. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    88
    What surprised me most, though, were the incredible, lush visuals. [Jan 2003, p.180]
  13. There is actually much to praise in Rygar – the style, in particular, being wonderful. The seven worlds are packed with imaginative designs that range from the crumbling Coliseum of the game’s opening to islands in the sky.
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    Stunningly beautiful - jaw-dropping at times... One of the finest action games I've ever played. [Jan 2003, p.137]
  15. PSM Magazine
    80
    A truly epic adventure. [Holiday 2002, p.38]
  16. A good couple of days stylish thrash-'em-up violence. Not much variety, but plenty of fun to be had, we feel. [GamesMaster]
  17. This classic next-generation action experience overflows with class and attention to detail, welcoming 80’s veterans and young newcomers into its pseudo-intellectual (!) interpretation of classic Greek motifs and 3D action platforming.
  18. netjak
    78
    The six hours that I got out of the game were fun, but I was simply left wanting more.
  19. GMR Magazine
    90
    This Greek mythology-based action game is an update of the arcade and NES classic in name only. Fun combat and great music. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  20. While the enemy selection could have been more diverse, and the camera angles more intuitive, the quality of the environments, control, and music is high enough to live with some of the shortcomings.
  21. This is actually one of the best adventure games we’ve played in a long time—even if pseudo-Conan is killing beasts by the thousands with something from Toys “R” Us.
  22. GameNow
    91
    Bottom line: if you like to have fun, play Rygar. [Jan 2003, p.54]
  23. Tecmo looks to have once again put together a quality product, while offering something old and new at the same time.
  24. The constant action featured in the gameplay is just as exhilarating as anything previously seen, as the only thing hampering it is the faulty camera angles at times.
  25. With plenty of unlockables, action packed gameplay and awesome graphics. This is a must-buy for an action/adventure fan. But with the short play time, this is a tempting rental for everyone else.
  26. The game is a bit on the short side, true, but rarely does a game manage to capture the essence of the classics the way this does. The action is fast and furious, the graphics astounding, and the music incredible.

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Legal, Muito Bom, Empolgante, Gostei, Adorei, Muito Legal, Gostei Muito, Adorei Muito, Super Legal, Muito Ultra Legal, Chega de Legal????, EuLegal, Muito Bom, Empolgante, Gostei, Adorei, Muito Legal, Gostei Muito, Adorei Muito, Super Legal, Muito Ultra Legal, Chega de Legal????, Eu gosto de escrever Legal e sinĂ´nimos :) Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    My brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's youMy brother got this for christmas a very long time ago.. The game is outstanding, absolutely great. I like the gameplay and the area's you discover, whats most fun is the puzzles you do. Some parts you will go into circles but if you watch carefully and concentrate enough then you will like it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    4
    Definitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos andDefinitely a Devil May Cry sort of a clone. The diskarmor mechanics are strange and not as intuitive as I'd like, what with the combos and upgrades.

    The graphics and level design are great and spooky, and they take me back to Shadow of the Colossus, but the dialogue and cut-scenes are pretty terrible. Rygar's speech is the worst.

    This is the best rating I'd give for a game I don't have interest in playing for very long. Doesn't mean it won't work for the console action gamer, especially if you like DMC or similar games.
    Full Review »