Scooby-Doo! Night of 100 Frights PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: May 20, 2002
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. I think I keep saying this, but Scooby-Doo! Night of 100 Frights is fun. And that's about what all these words you've just read amount to.
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    The graphics couldn't be better. Everything is modeled to match the look of the show, then bathed in the same color palette and given life through hardware. [June 2002, p.60]
  3. The only thing that’s out of place is Shaggy’s voice.
  4. This game is extremely fun and entertaining, but a couple of points had to go due to some camera and graphics issues which couldn’t be overlooked.
  5. One of those rarities that lives up to the spirit of its subject matter while also dishing out a reasonably decent gameplay experience.
  6. There are some mentionable problems with the game, like the sometimes-annoying camera system and overly simplistic gameplay mechanics, but overall this is an entertaining platformer that doesn’t feel like it was rushed out the door in the hopes of making some quick cash.
  7. The only downside to Night Of 100 Frights is the sheer lack of originality and so-so difficulty level.
  8. 70
    If you’re looking for an adventure game with familiar characters, some pretty funny jokes, and a laugh track, well, there’s just no where else to turn.
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    Developer Heavy Iron has captured the show's personality perfectly. The 3D characters look exactly like their cartoon counterparts, and it's stuffed with classic Doo touches to the bursting point. [July 2002, p.120]
  10. The enjoyment is gained by the authenticity that Heavy Iron has crafted, playing the game feels as though you’re playing through one of the shows.
  11. From a silly laugh track sound effect playing back when Scoob & Shaggy get into (or out of) trouble to the sight of obviously rubber-suit monsters nearby, “Night of 100 Frights” delivers the sights, sounds and goofy things that made the Hanna-Barbera Saturday morning cartoon such a timeless hit.
  12. A solid, if standard platformer if you have some appreciation for Scooby-Doo or if you're looking for a game for the kids.
  13. 67
    A fun, light-weight platformer that's got solid gameplay, respectable productions values, and a great sense of humor to back it up.
  14. Heavy Iron gets much respect from me for making this such an authentic Scooby-Doo videogame.
  15. Game Informer
    65
    There are a lot of nice touches...Too bad the gameplay is so damn mediocre and dull. [August 2002, p.79]
  16. 65
    The most amazing feature of Night of 100 Frights is that almost every aspect of the game, starting with the background story, mimics a Scooby Doo episode.
  17. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Night does such a fine job of capturing the essence of Scooby that any die-hard fan would do well to check it out. [July 2002, p.101]
  18. Beyond some frustrating gameplay, Night of 100 Frights brings the visuals and sounds of the long running cartoon to life in this title, with a huge map to explore on your way to solving the mystery.
  19. PSM Magazine
    60
    I enjoyed this game up until the halfway point. Then, the sheer lack of any really new gameplay mechanics and the amazing repetitiveness of collecting really got to me. [July 2002, p.40]
  20. The one element that will annoy more players than anything else is the rigid camera system that displays fixed angles when traversing the levels.

Awards & Rankings

#85 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#45 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 25, 2016
    9
    Chopped Liver! Where to begin with this extraordinary game. There is nothing quite like the experience of this masterpiece, from the groovyChopped Liver! Where to begin with this extraordinary game. There is nothing quite like the experience of this masterpiece, from the groovy music to the wonderful art style and settings. Each level is completely unique from the last and the difficulty is just right to give a fun experience for both the little kids and a challenge for more serious gamers. A must play for any gamer who wants a unique experience they will always remember. Just remember to stay on that lawn mower! Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Scooby-Doo was the main focus of my entire life until I was 8. I loved it so much I would think about it at all times, I just wanted to liveScooby-Doo was the main focus of my entire life until I was 8. I loved it so much I would think about it at all times, I just wanted to live in the show's universe. My dad surprised me by buying a PS2 in 2005 and my sister and I were allowed to go choose our very own video game. At the store that I went into my eye immediately caught Night of 100 Frights, for I had played it at a friends house a year earlier and it was the first 3D platformer I had ever seen as the only games I had played before were 2D Scooby games on my Gameboy Advance SP, and educational games on my school's PC. I brought it home and it cemented itself as my favorite game of all time, even to this day. As a fan of the show, it masters everything. The music composed for the game doesnt appear in any of the show's episodes but it should, as it sounds so inherently Scooby and perfect that I would buy a soundtrack album to this game if it existed. The graphics were phenomenal for a game made in 2002, and the only issue is that the camera angle is fixed and can be disorienting, and the load times between every room become repetitive. The art and theme of each level is straight out of 1969 and captures the mystery and eeriness of the original show beautifully. The variety to the levels is huge, there are hedge mazes, caves, shipwrecks, dungeons, graveyards, and the largest mansion ever to be built with a Super Secret Lab underneath. The voice acting is awesome, somehow the crew convinced the legendary Don Knotts to make his only video game appearance ever, and he does it fantastically-appearing at random times in impossible locations with hilariously kooky comments. The variety of fan-favorite enemies is large, and the boss fights even have their own songs created specifically for the game! The difficulty is high for a game designed for children, and the game does not hold your hand and tell you where to go which was brutal for my 7 year old self, but increased the playtime drastically as I had never really played videogames before and discovering everything in this huge world took about a year as I was only allowed to play for a limited amount of time on weekends. I thought I would never finish the game, but it does have an ending unfortunately. It has a pretty good plot that always had me guessing who would disappear next. Did I mention Tim Curry voices the main antagonist-The Mastermind? Yes he does! Buy this game now and play it, I will treasure this forever as it was the game that began my love of video games, and is so lovingly accurate to the show. Cannot recommend enough, also check out Battle for Bikini Bottom by the same studio, it does exactly to Spongebob what this did for Scooby Doo. Heavy Iron cannot do wrong. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    4
    Night of 100 Frights is so hideously produced that you'll be laughing more than the laugh track, except you'll be laughing at it. Pros:Night of 100 Frights is so hideously produced that you'll be laughing more than the laugh track, except you'll be laughing at it. Pros: Impressive graphics; stays true to the TV series; it has an integrated laugh track! Cons: Dull gameplay; poor controls; it's way too easy for experienced gamers. Full Review »