Secret Weapons Over Normandy PlayStation 2

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. 100
    Takes off in a fresh new direction with riveting air combat that mixes thrilling missions with simple controls, solid multiplayer support, and an intriguing story line.
  2. Taut and gripping. The game is seamless and action packed once a mission is launched. The cutscenes are very well done and really set up the action.
  3. Quite simply, the best action flight game released for the PS2 this year for sure and quite possibly the best that has ever graced the console.
  4. 90
    With its intuitive, intense gameplay and rich atmosphere, Secret Weapons Over Normandy is the best flight-action game for the PlayStation 2.
  5. The best reason to play SWON is the story and writing. This is Lucasarts afterall so that should not be surprising to anyone.
  6. A great WWII experience as well as an exceptional game. The lack of multiplayer and a few discrepancies keep SWON from being a spectacular game but it still is exceptional.
  7. While I would have liked to have seen online gameplay (and I do take off points for that), the single player campaign is very stong, and the storyline will keep you sucked into it. The controls are great, and the presentation is great.
  8. The graphics give a good portrayal of World War II battlefields with detailed planes and reasonable texturing.
  9. netjak
    84
    Definitely a fun rental, as long as you aren’t expecting it to be a hardcore flight sim. For airborne novices in particular, Secret Weapons is a blast, even if the difficulty is fairly light and the missions short.
  10. The mission variety and complexity, with multi-tiered goals and mixtures of dog fighting, bombing and strafing, make Secret Weapons Over Normandy a long-lived, rewarding experience.
  11. Play Magazine
    83
    Thankfully, LucasArts have traded in realism for arcade action and the end result is a joyous ride through history. [Dec 2003, p.84]
  12. The missions vary between furious dogfights, bombing runs and escort duties, there's even a spot of stealth. The sound is stunning, and visually the game is equal to the best of the genre.
  13. Powered by a solid 3D engine, an innovative control scheme (including user-controlled bullet time), and revolutionary shaky-cam views. [Dec 2003, p.92]
  14. Edge Magazine
    80
    Isn't a game that does anything obviously or overtly clever or innovative. But any game that takes such a simple premise and polishes it, hones it and refines it until it's this engrossing, this absorbing, and this much fun, is quite obviously doing something very clever indeed. [Christmas 2003, p.114]
  15. Special note must go to the presentation: The graphics are great throughout - but it's the music that's a real wowzer. [Dec 2003, p.176]
  16. 80
    Its instant accessibility, great overall presentation and tremendous historical feel make this game a secret worth spreading.
  17. 80
    I can appreciate it as a fun action game but it holds little of the weight you'd expect from a World War II dogfight game. The lack of a compelling narrative enhances this pick-up-and-play mentality and detracts from my own involvement in what's going on.
  18. PSM Magazine
    80
    A truly fun experience... The PS2 has needed a WW2 flight sim for some time. This is very cool. [Holiday 2003, p.40]
  19. Weekly Famitsu
    75
    8 / 7 / 7 / 8 - 30 silver [Vol 798; 30 Jan 2004]
  20. Playboy
    75
    The confusing gauges have been banished and the pesky laws of aerodynamics relaxed, freeing you to focus on sending Japanese and German pilots to their graves. [Dec 2003, p.44]
  21. 75
    While it'd be a mistake to call Secret Weapons Over Normandy a Luftwaffe-caliber revolution in flight games, it'd also be a mistake to dismiss it completely for its arcade leanings.
  22. Although this game is well-rounded enough to at least give you an enjoyable experience, it fails to grab you by the stick with enough G-forces to set the seat of your pants on fire. [Dec 2003, p.148]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 17, 2016
    9
    I give Secret Weapons over Normandy a 8.5 out of 10. This game is what I would call an underrated gem. It comes from a time where gamesI give Secret Weapons over Normandy a 8.5 out of 10. This game is what I would call an underrated gem. It comes from a time where games focused more on being fun and easy instead of now where they try to make them hard and realistic as possible. I enjoyed the story very much. I love the characters. I liked the amount of great WWII aircraft and the ability to upgrade them and the instant action was a good idea for when ever you got bored of the campaign. it's easy to learn quickly and use. Some of the games missions like Mission 7: Midway and Missions 15: D-Day can be rage inducing, at least for me it was, the rest of the missions are very good. I recommend this to those who enjoy flight simulators. Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    A damn good arcade dogfighter game. The graphcis are very nice, the story is surprisingly interesting and the missions are varied enough toA damn good arcade dogfighter game. The graphcis are very nice, the story is surprisingly interesting and the missions are varied enough to keep you feeling interested throughout the entire campaign. There are also a variety of different planes and weapon types to help keep mission replys feeling fresh. It may not be the most realistic game out there, but it a very fun game to play. Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This GAME/ is a piece of junk! I have played a lot of PS2 games in my time buit NOTHING as bad as this. I intend to smash the CD so that someThis GAME/ is a piece of junk! I have played a lot of PS2 games in my time buit NOTHING as bad as this. I intend to smash the CD so that some poor Gamer doesn't go through the misery of trying tp play it. Lucas Arts should be selling blank CDs instead of ruining them by recording games like this one!

    forlornjohn
    Full Review »