Sega Classics Collection PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
Buy On
  1. It’s sad that Sega couldn’t just leave the classic 2D graphics intact and I wish they wouldn’t have trashed "Golden Axe" so viciously, but above any of its problems Sega Classics Collection is a fun throwback title that retro game collectors and Sega fans shouldn’t pass up.
  2. "Monaco GP" and "Golden Axe" are broken to the point of being nearly unplayable, and the tandem of Tant R and Bonanza Bros. is a bonus that you'll rarely play because of how simple both games are.
  3. Game Informer
    65
    Companies ought to respect their history enough to let it be. [Apr 2005, p.128]
  4. 65
    On the other, it’s impossible to deny just how flawed some of the remakes are. I can’t help but be disappointed by their lackluster quality, but by the odd lack of the original games being on here.
  5. The collection's mostly a success, although when it falls backward, it falls hard, particularly with the miserable remake of "Golden Axe."
  6. 60
    Even with its various faults, the collection offers up more than enough to remind us why we started playing video games in the first place.
  7. Play Magazine
    55
    These graphically deficient remakes only half-heartedly capture the greatness of the originals, often feeling like a cheap homage rather than true remakes. [March 2005, p.58]
  8. Sega should have included all of the originals. They might not have aged well, but you can't even feel nostalgic about these pointless remakes. [March 2005, p.120]
  9. 50
    It's also a travesty that the original arcade games aren't included in this collection (though, perhaps Sega felt those would invalidate these new installments -- especially in the case of Golden Axe, which just plain sucks).
  10. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    50
    A shoddy selection of oldies that could have been so much better. It's only rescued by "Space Harrier" and the still-superb "Columns." [Mar 2006, p.86]
  11. PSM Magazine
    40
    A collection of the original games would have rocked, but in too many of these games, Sega Classics Collection has reinvented the wheel - and somehow made it square. [March 2005, p.78]
  12. It's just too bad that Sega didn't take more time with these games since some of them, in their original form, could still hold up after all of these years. [March 2005, p.97]
  13. Cheat Code Central
    40
    Even at twenty bucks, which turns out to be two bucks a game, there are games that I wouldn't ever consider putting eight quarters into if they were in an airport arcade and I had a ten-hour layover. I would just opt for a nap instead.
  14. What the hell is happening to the Sega that I knew and loved through the Genesis, Saturn and Dreamcast eras?
  15. 40
    Proves one thing--Sega needs to stop tinkering with its past and start respecting its illustrious history as much as its core fan base does.
  16. In short, this isn't going to please anyone, apart from the few of you who are after a decent Virtua Racing for the lounge.
  17. These are 10 awful remakes of old Sega games that will only serve to infuriate their intended audience.
  18. Play UK
    8
    The worst compilation of all time. [Apr 2006, p.107]
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 26, 2017
    6
    Most of the games here are not better than their 2d counterparts. Space Harrier and Bonanza Brothers are both about a 7 in today's terms.Most of the games here are not better than their 2d counterparts. Space Harrier and Bonanza Brothers are both about a 7 in today's terms. Virtua Racer is an okay port. Golden Axe, Columns, & Monaco GP are the worst. I don't know how they managed to make worse versions of classic games by converting them. You should probably grab this game, but don't pay much, and don't plan on playing it forever. As far as Sega releases this is one of the worst Sega games I've ever put in my machine. I didn't experience any glitches, but a lot of the graphics and gameplay were not up to par for PS2 or not up to par for Sega Genesis standards. This is just a weird Sega collectable that doesn't cost much. Full Review »
  2. MichaelLynn
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    The conversion of Outrun is not a perfect rewrite from the arcade. Due to licensing issues the Ferrari Testorossa has been replaced with aThe conversion of Outrun is not a perfect rewrite from the arcade. Due to licensing issues the Ferrari Testorossa has been replaced with a generic red sports car. The cars are not the same as those in the original arcade version. They have added yellow taxi cabs and vans which were never in the original OutRun.

    - The car is too big and looks terrible.
    - The vibration function does not work when the car crashes. Doesn't matter if turned onoff in options.
    - The red colour on the speedometer is too dark.
    - The hilo gear change indication on the screen should be able to be optionally displayed (initially off).
    - The mountains on Devil's Canyon should go to the edge of the road.
    - The KTM motorcycle advert has been changed to some fake brand.

    The vibration function would have been a nice effect when a steering wheel is connected as an analog controller on the PS2.

    For an arcade perfect conversion check OutRun on Sega Ages Volume 1 on the Sega Saturn. That conversion was by Robuto games.

    This could have been so much better.
    Full Review »
  3. KennyB.
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    I agree with the last poster that reviewers have been way way too critical. If you want arcade perfect versions of these games, get a PCI agree with the last poster that reviewers have been way way too critical. If you want arcade perfect versions of these games, get a PC emulator! Personally I like what they did with most of the games. Alien Syndrome is a stellar game now with great graphics and sound. Reminds me of Loaded for the PS1. If you liked Loaded, you'll love this version of AS. Outrun moves at a fast 60fps and they replaced all the confusing herky jerky scaling sprites with smooth moving polygons. All of the music remakes on Outrun are the greatest I've heard even compared to Outrun 2006 for PS2. If you don't like the remakes, they have all the original music as well. TantR and Bonanza Bros. got a major graphic boost. TantR is alot of fun and much like Warioware. Space Harrier is a beautiful game. They added much to the dull scenery of the original and once again removed all the scaling sprite with smooth high res textured polygon graphics. The music was not remade nearly as well as Outrun was, but it's still decent and like playing it way more than the original. Golden Axe is just fine. I prefer it over the original due to way better sound and music than the original and the addition of the 3D graphics. Personally I think there are way better beatem' up games besides Golden Axe so I don't need a perfect version of it anyway. Lastly is Virtua Racing. It is the closest version to the arcade of any console. The sounds and music are the same as the arcade. The reason why I gave this title a 9 and not a 10 is because the steering in Virtua racing seems way too loose. The car appears to fishtail on even the slightest turn. Playing it more I found that the steering controls are fine, its just that the car is way way over animated and plays great as long as you ignore the direction your car is pointing. Still it's like the programmers got lazy and didn't wanna take the time to animate the car differently for when the tires are gripping the road compared to when they are slipping. So the car looks like it's constantly out of control, but it actually is not. Overall I think the Sega Classics Collection is a great collection of remade games. To me it did what it was supposed to do which was bring new life to old classic games. I just wish they would have included Afterburner II in the collection. Let's be clear about this title though. Purists need to stay far away from this game. Full Review »