• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2002
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. If you're a tennis fan, I don't know what else you could ask for. [Sept 2002, p.81]
  2. Tons of replay value, decent graphics, good sound, and a lot of fun.
  3. It's the crack cocaine of sports games. [Sept 2002, p.118]
  4. Not only is Sega Sports Tennis a realistically true tennis simulation but it’s also extremely challenging and fun as well.
  5. This pseudo-sequel to “Virtua Tennis” serves up a high quality, fun, and addictive gameplay experience for gamers on all levels.
  6. 85
    Despite my few valid complaints, the game is deep, challenging, and structured in a way that the single-player modes are rich and rewarding, while the multiplayer games are unbelievably engaging.
  7. Simply put, console tennis doesn't get any better than this.
  8. 84
    The definitive tennis game, and you'd be selling yourself short by not checking it out.
  9. A very fun game and should be considered the current king of tennis titles.
  10. Being that the game is really just a direct port of the Dreamcast version, I obviously would not recommend it to those who own the Dreamcast version.
  11. Although Namco's "Smash Court" plays similarly and boasts big names like Agassi, Sampras, and Kournikova, it is Sega's superior gameplay and mighty World Tour mode that win out in the end. [Sept 2002, p.152]
  12. The visuals come up a bit short with aliasing problems and shimmering...Despite its problems, this is still the best tennis experience on the PS2, period. [Sept 2002, p.31]
  13. The best tennis game ever to appear on a Sony system...Add online support next year Sega, and you've got yourself a killer-app.
  14. 80
    It’s puzzling that this game could look better on the Dreamcast than on the PS2, but it does.
  15. Casual sports gamers will often find frustration due to the computer AI.
  16. As great as its predecessor was, but still just a port of last year's game on an older console - and with seemingly worse graphics to boot.
  17. 70
    While it's probably true that 99% of PS2 owners have never played "Tennis 2K2" for the Dreamcast, Sega should still have given them something more than an almost direct port.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    8
    This tennis game gets high marks for its pure "playability". What makes it top notch for me is the simplistic controls. You use only about half of the available buttons on the controller. But that doesnt take away from the strategy you need to make a winning shot. The game has incorporated all the basic real tennis shots one would use in a real game. I would say it is nice simulation type of tennis game opposed to the arcade style. The fun part for me is training & building up your created players. Its work, but it pays off. This game is now six years old, but still ranks highest of all of its peers to date. Very addicting gameplay and a solid sim type world tour are the strong points. The only issue I see that would give it a perfect rating would be to add just a few more details like a few more character types to create and a little more replay action similar to Madden. Maybe throw in some player bickering on close calls or a overturned call here or there. But if your looking for a great feeling tennis sim, this ones a keeper. Full Review »
  2. MateusC.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Forget other tennis games (including the Top Spin bad port) this is the tennis game you should play on PS2.
  3. JoshuaH.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    The games graphics are off the chain. World Tour mode is like the real thing. And thats why I give this game a 10!