• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2002
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshuaH.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    The games graphics are off the chain. World Tour mode is like the real thing. And thats why I give this game a 10!
  2. CharlesM.
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    I am really into tennis in the first place, and this game is just addicting.
  3. DaveP.
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  4. ScottM.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    This is the best tennis game on PS2. I play tennis but I think anyone would enjoy it.
  5. ShawnF.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    Sega Sports Tennis is the best tennis game I have ever played. The graphics and sounds are awesome. World Tour mode is great. You create your own male and female player and have a tennis carrer, me being a tennis player always wonder how it is like to be a pro and world tour is a great example. Exhibition mode is great to challenge your friends or test your skill. I give Sega Sports Sega Sports Tennis is the best tennis game I have ever played. The graphics and sounds are awesome. World Tour mode is great. You create your own male and female player and have a tennis carrer, me being a tennis player always wonder how it is like to be a pro and world tour is a great example. Exhibition mode is great to challenge your friends or test your skill. I give Sega Sports Tennis a perfect 10. Expand
  6. RodW.
    May 21, 2004
    9
    As far as the sheer PLAYING joy of this game, I'd give it a 10. Even though I don't base a lot of my reviews on anything but the playing part, I do have to subtract just a little because of the inferior graphics. Don't get me wrong. I'm sure if these graphics were around 5 yrs ago they would be fine. They are even OK in this day and age, but since I see room for As far as the sheer PLAYING joy of this game, I'd give it a 10. Even though I don't base a lot of my reviews on anything but the playing part, I do have to subtract just a little because of the inferior graphics. Don't get me wrong. I'm sure if these graphics were around 5 yrs ago they would be fine. They are even OK in this day and age, but since I see room for improvement in this area, I bumped the score down to a 9. All you people talking about playing 1 set as a match...CHECK THE OPTIONS!!! It's AMAZING how often people wrongly criticize games due to their own ignorance!!! Expand
  7. MateusC.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Forget other tennis games (including the Top Spin bad port) this is the tennis game you should play on PS2.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Not only is Sega Sports Tennis a realistically true tennis simulation but it’s also extremely challenging and fun as well.
  2. As great as its predecessor was, but still just a port of last year's game on an older console - and with seemingly worse graphics to boot.
  3. 70
    While it's probably true that 99% of PS2 owners have never played "Tennis 2K2" for the Dreamcast, Sega should still have given them something more than an almost direct port.