• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sega Sports Tennis Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Choose from 16 internationally ranked men's and women's tennis players including: Venus Williams, Serena Williams, Lindsay Davenport, Magnus Norman, Patrick Rafter, Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Mary Pierce, Ai Sugiyama, Aranxta Sanchez-Vicario, Alexandra Stevenson, Carlos Moya, Tim Henman, Cedric Pioline, Tommy Haas, Thomas Enqvist, and Monica Seles. The revamped World Tour Mode lets you create and train your players, sign unique doubles partners, and enter a host of prestigious tournaments. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. If you're a tennis fan, I don't know what else you could ask for. [Sept 2002, p.81]
  2. It's the crack cocaine of sports games. [Sept 2002, p.118]
  3. This pseudo-sequel to “Virtua Tennis” serves up a high quality, fun, and addictive gameplay experience for gamers on all levels.
  4. A very fun game and should be considered the current king of tennis titles.
  5. Although Namco's "Smash Court" plays similarly and boasts big names like Agassi, Sampras, and Kournikova, it is Sega's superior gameplay and mighty World Tour mode that win out in the end. [Sept 2002, p.152]
  6. The best tennis game ever to appear on a Sony system...Add online support next year Sega, and you've got yourself a killer-app.
  7. 70
    While it's probably true that 99% of PS2 owners have never played "Tennis 2K2" for the Dreamcast, Sega should still have given them something more than an almost direct port.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. ShawnF.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    Sega Sports Tennis is the best tennis game I have ever played. The graphics and sounds are awesome. World Tour mode is great. You create your own male and female player and have a tennis carrer, me being a tennis player always wonder how it is like to be a pro and world tour is a great example. Exhibition mode is great to challenge your friends or test your skill. I give Sega Sports Tennis a perfect 10. Expand
  2. JoshuaH.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    The games graphics are off the chain. World Tour mode is like the real thing. And thats why I give this game a 10!
  3. MateusC.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Forget other tennis games (including the Top Spin bad port) this is the tennis game you should play on PS2.
  4. ScottM.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    This is the best tennis game on PS2. I play tennis but I think anyone would enjoy it.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    8
    This tennis game gets high marks for its pure "playability". What makes it top notch for me is the simplistic controls. You use only about half of the available buttons on the controller. But that doesnt take away from the strategy you need to make a winning shot. The game has incorporated all the basic real tennis shots one would use in a real game. I would say it is nice simulation type of tennis game opposed to the arcade style. The fun part for me is training & building up your created players. Its work, but it pays off. This game is now six years old, but still ranks highest of all of its peers to date. Very addicting gameplay and a solid sim type world tour are the strong points. The only issue I see that would give it a perfect rating would be to add just a few more details like a few more character types to create and a little more replay action similar to Madden. Maybe throw in some player bickering on close calls or a overturned call here or there. But if your looking for a great feeling tennis sim, this ones a keeper. Expand
  6. BernardoA.
    Feb 16, 2004
    8
    A very good and addicting game, even the practices are cool, but Sega should do something about the perfectness of the players cause the ball never hits the net. Expand
  7. DaveR.
    Aug 4, 2002
    2
    If you're interested in real tennis, this game is not for you. One set? How can you make a tennis game with only one set? Would you play a football game with only one quarter? Graphics are good, but I'll stick with Smashcourt over this one. Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews