User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamSerious
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Great game. One of the best FPS games. Great atmosphere with shooting extasy. "Sam I'm!"
  2. SamSerious
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Great game. One of the best FPS games. Great atmosphere with shooting extasy. "Sam I'm!"
  3. HenryS.
    May 7, 2004
    10
    I can have more fun playing a game that is $20 and has not that great graphics than playing a game that costs $50 and has no fun at all.... serous sam is a great game and it is definitely worth it.
  4. DonM.
    May 3, 2004
    9
    It is sooooooooooo tight man, i just wish that the blood was more relistic and that the graphics were better, but i give it a 9 fpr the nonstop action.
  5. DonM.
    May 3, 2004
    9
    It is sooooooooooo tight man, i just wish that the blood was more relistic and that the graphics were better, but i give it a 9 fpr the nonstop action.
  6. DonM.
    May 3, 2004
    9
    It is sooooooooooo tight man, i just wish that the blood was more relistic and that the graphics were better, but i give it a 9 fpr the nonstop action.
  7. XERO
    May 3, 2004
    9
    You will have more than $20.00 woth of FUN playing this...forget state of the art grafx...let's have more state of the art fun....
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. If you can forgive the game's dated-looking graphics, its rather basic gameplay model, and its comparative level of ease--which is, admittedly, a lot to forgive--you can have a good time with Serious Sam: Next Encounter.
  2. Offers no new concepts, no realism and is highly repetitive, yet what it does it does so well. It provides the perfect environment for a quick blast about, either on your own against endless hordes of colourful monsters, or with friends.
  3. Next Encounter is one of the grandest and busiest console battlefields yet created. This is a spiritual update to Space Invaders, a one-trick pony that kicks harder than most FPS thoroughbreds, making the "Medal of Honour" series seem like a vain diva by comparison. [June 2004, p.109]