Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 77
    If you have an open mind, and a craving for dark atmospheric bliss then this may be the game for you.
  2. Aside from the kinks related to combat and level layout, the game's control feels a little bit loose when you're simply running around...[but it] will likely manage to draw you in, especially if you can get into the creepy aesthetics and earnestly engaging story.
  3. A good concept that had fallen victim to its several flaws in graphics and its frame rate glitches.
  4. The storytelling is where this title shines, but the rest of 2econd Coming basks in mediocrity. [May 2002, p.81]
  5. 65
    Heavy on eye candy but disappointingly light on game.
  6. 60
    This zombie hero would have been better off left for dead.
  7. 80
    It's not cutting-edge, but this gritty, violent, and incredibly dark adventure into the occult is just the thing for horror fans looking for something smart and very off beat.
  8. Its look isn't uplifted by sophistication, but the overall effect of the visual presence is engrossing. [Apr 2002, p.52]
  9. Cooler character and enemy designs alone would have helped immensely. [June 2002, p.114]
  10. Ultimately, its lack of real innovation and franchise recognition holds it back yet in the end it’s very worth the trip.
  11. One thing that has not changed is the game's unparalleled sense of atmosphere...But its faults cannot be overlooked, and though supremely entertaining, it has failed to carry the baton that its prequel held so loftily.
  12. The graphics here are subpar for PS2, the animation is choppy, the level design is awful, and the controls and interface are almost impressively awkward. [June 2002, p.99]
  13. Sure there’s problems, but the game does just enough right to suck you into the story, into the character and into each location to ensure you’ll keep playing.
  14. Your middle-of-the-road 3D shooter.
  15. Simple core design decisions sabotaged any redeeming value and eventually just left the game a shell of what it could have been.
  16. Don't let the wonky control, atrocious loading breaks and intended lack of direction keep you from renting one of the deepest, most rewarding and mature adventure games to come down the PS2 pike since Eidos' "Soul Reaver 2".
  17. 48
    Supposing you can get passed the dull visuals, your guaranteed to run into boredom and confusion once everything is explored which is a hard pill to swallow trying to find what to do next.
  18. Only improves on its ancestor title, and rewards the tenacious gamer with a big story, creepy locales, big weapons, and lots of frenetic grue.
  19. Starts off slow, gets really good, and then quickly descends into repetitive drudgery.
  20. There's plenty to be scared of in Shadow Man 2econd Coming, it's just a matter of whether or not you have the patience and commitment to raise the dead once again.
  21. Tedious gameplay, horrid loading times, and a first few hours of gameplay hell make the game rather uninspiring. But getting past the first few hours will reward the gamer will a slightly better gaming experience.
  22. A downright fun title that’ll last you for quite some time.
  23. 60
    Improves on the original. Unfortunately, that means the game is now merely a competent production, as opposed to anything really attention getting.
  24. The forbidding graphics and refreshingly mature storyline are a plus, but the somewhat wonky controls and melodramatic dialogue tend to become tiresome quickly.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I guess this game had so much influence on me like no other game before. I played the Shadow Man on N64 at 10 years xD. As Shadow Man 2econd Coming was released in Germany the only way to play it was to get the censored version with green blood etc. But that doesn't matter. From the beginning I knew this is a other game I played before. Every detail in this game made me getting more interested to the story. I really felt the whole atmosphere of this part. I enjoyed every second playing Mike as the dark Shadow Man. For me this is the best game I've ever played. At an Age of 23 now, I play every kind of games. Some as a pro others as casual. The Story is not too realistic and not too much fantasy. I liked the kind of method of the developers to make you nervous in some situations and after a short time even relaxed trying to find out how to get at the other end off the cliff. The enemies were not easy at all but you dont have to destroy your controller on the other side very balanced. I have a old PS3 from 2007 just to have the opinion to play Mike whenever i want Full Review »
  2. DawnR.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    I Love This Game!
  3. Hades
    Mar 3, 2003
    6
    Interesting concept, poor execution. Shadow man is somewhat captivating, but horrid to play. From the controls to the graphics things are simply not up to par with the rest of PS2 titles. Even when not comparing this game to others it is lackluster. To its credit though the music and voice acting are quite well done. The graphics in cutscenes are good, yet during gameplay the framerate takes a nosedive and everything runs too choppy to truly be appreciated. Combat in the game also leaves much to be desired. If however you are totally interested in this game I'd rent it but definitely not worthy of a purchase. Full Review »