User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 692 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 692

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Steve
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any previous generation console.
  2. DavidD.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Desolate environments, difficult and rewarding boss fights mixed with a story that carries itself on emotion with very few words. This game remains the best game ever made, even though the new console generation is already halfway through its lifespan.
  3. Alex
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I don't know exactly what it is about this game that is so riveting, it just is. This is definetly worth your time even if your an RPG or sports game fan.
  4. Lemonyama
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at the originality of this title then its a must buy. Expand
  5. HassanH.
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    Everything that an epic adventure needs to be. Memorable enemies, a story that allows the player to use their imagination, tight controls, and one of the most impressive soundtracks of recent note. In short, it's classic.
  6. SteveG
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired game. However, the ending is more than a little annoying. I won't give it away, but there is really no foreshadowing of the ending and its kind of a long non-sequitor. That doesn't mean it is not a great game. It is. It is a great game with a 16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired game. However, the ending is more than a little annoying. I won't give it away, but there is really no foreshadowing of the ending and its kind of a long non-sequitor. That doesn't mean it is not a great game. It is. It is a great game with a questionable ending. I played it on a PS3 and it looked and sounded marvelous. Expand
  7. Miroslav
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    The must amazing thing in this game is the movment of horse as it sounds so real!! And also the amzing vew of giant colossus... Its great game.
  8. KyleH.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. The entire focus is on the main story-line. Minimalists be praised for this game is a life-changing experience. Expand
  9. ANDYO
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    I was very impressed by the original concept of the game, no little guppy bad guys, no leveling up, no weapons other than what you got, I was very scared about this one, but I am very happy with this game, it was still overhyped but the monumentous battles are uncomparable to any game I've ever played before, I went through my collection of xbox and ps2 and could not find a game with I was very impressed by the original concept of the game, no little guppy bad guys, no leveling up, no weapons other than what you got, I was very scared about this one, but I am very happy with this game, it was still overhyped but the monumentous battles are uncomparable to any game I've ever played before, I went through my collection of xbox and ps2 and could not find a game with such presentation of battles and excellent music to go with it, but as cool as this is there are downfalls, the biggest being the camera, it is hard to control and frustrating to try to keep track of the giant and yourself when getting to close. The lack of story does not pull you in to the game, I mean here we are in a huge beautiful land to track across to slay the monster but why? for what? to bring someone back from the dead is a little overused I think, it is not stupid but a nick in the story to pull you in wouldn't hurt. Riding the horse altough very cool and very real the camera really screws the enjoyment of riding the horse up. Which is disappointing since a good riding of the horse has not been done since the simple horse riding of dare I say it Ocarina of time. Overall the game is great if you have the patience to deal with the camera, the weak story is ok only because the visuals and huge fights are spectacular. Expand
  10. ben
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    If ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played byIf ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played by those people who love games, all you NFS MGS FFXI JACK AND DAXTER people forget this and go and buy your next NFS game and for the rest of us savour these moments beause they are few and far between. Expand
  11. CoreyD.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Have only played 5 hours, but there's nothing it can do later on to recieve anything less than a 10.
  12. ChubbyWookie
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    This is truly what "next-gen" gaming should have been about. Instead of just making the same old games "prettier", this game creates something that cannot be explained - it simply MUST be experienced. It is without a doubt the greatest game I have ever played - this is the one by which all other games should be judged.
  13. Hoover54
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up there with RE4 for game of the year - beats HL2 in immersive gameplay experience hands down. Expand
  14. NinjaHatori
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    I think this game is awesome n realy enjoyable...simplicity is the key...we dont need unimportant add-on...
    true! this game not for everyone,well its their lost..not everyone can enjoy art..the camera and framerate is frustating,especialy in the middle of action..but graphic,sound,gameplay,realistic movement of heroes n agro is more than enough to cover the flaws
    overall colossus is
    I think this game is awesome n realy enjoyable...simplicity is the key...we dont need unimportant add-on...
    true! this game not for everyone,well its their lost..not everyone can enjoy art..the camera and framerate is frustating,especialy in the middle of action..but graphic,sound,gameplay,realistic movement of heroes n agro is more than enough to cover the flaws

    overall colossus is one true masterpiece...
    Expand
  15. BillyN
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what seems to be a comatose or dead girl, who you place on an altar, and are trying to bring back to life through the power of this magical land. A voice tells you that to bring her back to life, you must to defeat colossus beasts one by one. And that's it; off you go making your way across the land to the different boss fights. It's an incredibly simplified game, that somehow manages to pull you in. Once you've started taking down the colossi, you can't help but want to find the next one, and then the next. The boss fights themselves are a mixture of timing and twitch gameplay with a dose of puzzle solving, (you have to find a way to reach the weak points of each boss.) Once you've defeated a boss, you're transported back to the main hub/area, and are treated to a little cinematic/ talk from the omnipresent force. Then you're off again to a different area of the map, riding along huge expansive environments, which is a mix of desert, and plains, with some rocky areas, and some forest /marsh areas in there as well. you don't fight any enemies along the way either, it's just you and you're horse discovering new areas, and taking in the view as you ride along, using your sword as a homing device to find the next boss. Some areas have you dismount and do a bit of platforming before you find your way to the boss. And although this game isn't perfect, (a couple of the boss fights are repeats, just in different areas) and the game play can get a bit repetitive, it's as close to perfect as most games will get, which I think makes it very deserving of a 10. I personally think Nintendo can really learn a thing or two from a design standpoint from this game, when making their next Zelda. Nothing beats riding all the way out to a far off cliff side, and then panning the camera around to take in a view that's ACTUALLY breathtaking, or standing up on your horse mid-stride and using it as a boost to jump off onto a boss that's flying by you. Or firing off you're crossbow on horseback, as a snake boss comes racing up from the sand behind you. Truly epic gameplay. Expand
  16. HarryJohnson
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Great ****ing game!! Most original game i've played!!
  17. ChasM.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  18. BrianD.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Don't let this discourage you thoguh. The game is defnintely one of those defining games that don't belong to an exact genre. Expand
  19. saluddiaz
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    I had the pleasure to play the demo of this unbelievable game. I did love ICO and I would recommend this game to anyone. I'll go further and say that this game alone justify the purchase of the PS2. Unfortunately I cant find (so far) a game that justify the purchase of xbox 360.
  20. LeoF
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played on any console (and I started with the Atari 2600...) You are NOT a fan of videogames if you don't play this art/game.
  21. MikEYP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    If you own a playstation 2 and you don't buy this game, you're a fool.
  22. ChrisV.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is an inovative masterpiece. I never played ICO but even if you haven't you can enjoy this game. Controls are take some getting used to, but once you do, its awesome.
  23. JBunka
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played and we loole u must be really bad at this game, dont trust someone who cant spell third right. This game has to be experienced no one colossus is the same and everything is awesome graphics, fights, story (teardrop), and the environment. GREAT GAME.
  24. TerryS.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or it can last a life time if you understand what the game is supposed to be about. This is more a work of art than a game, its outrageously beautiful and a breath of fresh air from the uninspired games that get churned out over and over - any reviewer that gives this game below 90 is...just...wrong. Expand
  25. JonnyJ.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    simply beautiful! stunning visuals and graphics FX, fluid animation, dreamlike fascinating environments, solid gameplay, mechanics and nicely detailed. incredible "WOW" factor. a unique, unforgettable gaming experience.
  26. dankay
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    i felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to theiri felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to their opinions...but the complete morons who wrote the 0 1 2 3 4 reviews..........holy crap......your ignorance shows in your ridiculous misunderstandings of the game, the fact that you were to stupid to find the next colossi for battle, and in your awful use of the english language....now i know this review doesn't have perfect punctuation, and i'm sure someone will call attention to it...but that's out of choice....not because i don't know how to write correctly....so anyway........point is.....awesome game....totally worth the time and money...and anyone who doesn't think so........should probably go back to kindergarten and start over from scratch..... Expand
  27. EricB.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    This is a great game, no doubt about it. I'm not saying "Oh this is the best game ever there's nothing wrong with it its perfect", because there are some flaws. First of all, the controls are a bit unstable, especially on horseback. The camera also suffers, as it swings out constantly to a not so desirable spot. Along with that, the framerate and textures sometimes suffer, but This is a great game, no doubt about it. I'm not saying "Oh this is the best game ever there's nothing wrong with it its perfect", because there are some flaws. First of all, the controls are a bit unstable, especially on horseback. The camera also suffers, as it swings out constantly to a not so desirable spot. Along with that, the framerate and textures sometimes suffer, but not too much. The actual battles are the most epic I've ever done, forget what people are saying with the "you've killed one you've killed them all". Each one has its own strategy and environment to its or your advantage. If you are looking for a great game for PS2 that's gorgeous, has actual innovation (which is rare these days), and an amazing, if not subtle, story, pick up Shadow of the Colossus. Expand
  28. CodyB.
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    One of the best games the ps2 has to offer; The storyline is satisfying as well as the beautiful graphics (oh the graphics...), Agro the horse is THE number one sidekick in video gaming history, and all the 16 colossus battles are epic!!! The ONLY flaw with this game in which it got a 9 instead of a perfect score is because it's too short (4-5 hours). Over all it's HIGHLY One of the best games the ps2 has to offer; The storyline is satisfying as well as the beautiful graphics (oh the graphics...), Agro the horse is THE number one sidekick in video gaming history, and all the 16 colossus battles are epic!!! The ONLY flaw with this game in which it got a 9 instead of a perfect score is because it's too short (4-5 hours). Over all it's HIGHLY recommendable, especially for those who like or love epic adventures for young adults such as okami and final fantasy 8. Expand
  29. CameronW.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever (in my opinion). as of may 2009 i am still playing this aswell as my ps3 colection. graphics are in the space of past gen and next gen. all in all a imaginative, original and utterly incomparable game.
  30. R.S.
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    i fould i really loved this game. the beutiful senery and textures and the little things like that hair on the horse mane was really well done. the horse riding seems smooth and.. relilistic even when a stuborn horse sometimes. the games puzzle collosi are each unique in there own way, each of them had a charactor to them. even with no words they protraited them selfs nice, i just wanted i fould i really loved this game. the beutiful senery and textures and the little things like that hair on the horse mane was really well done. the horse riding seems smooth and.. relilistic even when a stuborn horse sometimes. the games puzzle collosi are each unique in there own way, each of them had a charactor to them. even with no words they protraited them selfs nice, i just wanted to look at them before they started to walk on my face. the only think i found that i didnt really like to much was the camera. it seemed to just be in the way and someimes cumbersome to deal with when wanting to aim or just see where yours going. agian loved wouldnt buy it, but i say this is a must rent. Expand
  31. IgorG.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This is the gaming experience of the year and will be remembered for years to come as a title that showed the videogames are a medium that can convey a sense of wonder and emotiions.
  32. DemonicAngel
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    Personally, I think anyone who gives this game less than an 8 should go back to their first-person shooters and seen-it-all-before franchises, because they clearly aren't capable of appreciating the artistry of Shadow of the Colossus. Dispensing with the typical hordes of enemies and trivial puzzles to be found in most games, Shadow is very pure in its intent - your quest is to Personally, I think anyone who gives this game less than an 8 should go back to their first-person shooters and seen-it-all-before franchises, because they clearly aren't capable of appreciating the artistry of Shadow of the Colossus. Dispensing with the typical hordes of enemies and trivial puzzles to be found in most games, Shadow is very pure in its intent - your quest is to explore a huge, desolate world to seek out and slay 16 giant mythical beasts, with the desperate hope of gaining the power to revive your fallen love. The game is intuitive to play, yet extremely challenging - you will often have to rack your brains to figure out a battle plan for each confrontation. The reviewer going by the alias "G.P." clearly perceives only nitpicking technical flaws and has no appreciation for beauty - the graphics are artistically superb, and the massive, bleak open spaces push the PS2 to its limits. Not to mention the colossi, all of whom are gargantuan behemoths with unique design and huge amounts of polygonal detail (and rendered fur!). All the characters are animated with expressive realism, with the protagonist in particular conveying in his movements and expressions an air of uncertainty at the mammoth task he faces. The score is beautiful, with rousing orchestral marches during the epic battles, and subtle violin pieces which further enhance the melancholy and loneliness of the game world. The story is presented through the events of the game far more effectively than, say, Half-Life 2 (which purports to have the same style of storytelling) could ever have hoped to achieve. Strangely, I felt an unprecedented emotional resonance with the colossi - on defeating the first one, there was a moment of triumph, but immediately afterwards the game cut to a wide angle of the stricken creature's death throes; and I actually found myself feeling sad that I was responsible for its demise, and even wondering if in fact I was doing the right thing by slaying these singular, beautiful creatures. Some games are not just about gameplay, but about the total experience. Shadow of the Colossus is one of them, and is by far the best game I've played in the past year or two. Unequivocally recommended to anyone who is sick of games that are big in length (and sponsorship) but short in artistry and love. If you're not sure, you should at least rent it and make up your own mind. Expand
  33. kyuudmc
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    this isn't a game! its ART! aaah you'll never understand unless you try it out. the game play isn't so challenging but the game feels totally different than any other game ... than ANYTHING actually. the music! the feel .. its just something else. something far different than the games you used to play.
  34. SamJ.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    A perfect combination of simplicity, art, and game design. Players who see it through maybe scratching their head and wondering what it all means but once you figure it out, the impression is ever lasting.
  35. EvanG
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing, truly captures the emotion and feel of a desolate world. It's easy to call it a "Hardcore Legend of Zelda."
  36. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love playing it from time to time.
    Expand
  37. May 24, 2014
    10
    I don´t care how cliche it sounds, to me this game is a work of Art. The beauty of its designs and art direction; the effectivity of its simple, yet incredibly polished gameplay mechanics; the melancholy and sense of wonderment that its story conveys; and its absolutely GLORIOUS soundtrack; it all just blends up to make one the more incredible gaming experiences that I have ever had. AI don´t care how cliche it sounds, to me this game is a work of Art. The beauty of its designs and art direction; the effectivity of its simple, yet incredibly polished gameplay mechanics; the melancholy and sense of wonderment that its story conveys; and its absolutely GLORIOUS soundtrack; it all just blends up to make one the more incredible gaming experiences that I have ever had. A true classic for the ages. Expand
  38. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    I had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree with them. Besides fighting Cronos in God Of War 3, and Mecha Bowser in Super Mario Galaxy, i have never battle giant bosses like Shadow Of The Colossus's bosses. There isn't any enemies in this game, it only contains 16 boss fights, and locating each ofI had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree with them. Besides fighting Cronos in God Of War 3, and Mecha Bowser in Super Mario Galaxy, i have never battle giant bosses like Shadow Of The Colossus's bosses. There isn't any enemies in this game, it only contains 16 boss fights, and locating each of them. And trust me, those 16 boss fights are the probably some of the best bosses i have ever faced, it actually made me feel like i was batting these giants myself. And locating them ISN'T easy, sure you can use the ancient sword to locate them, but that doesn't mean you will just able to locate them without breaking a sweat, for example, i had a hard time trying to locate Hydrus and Palega. As for the boss fights against each colossi, they were outstanding, as i said earlier. When i first played this game, i died once on Valus because i was getting used to the controls, but once i did, the fun i had with this game began. My favorite boss in the game is the final boss, Malus, it was emotional, fair, challenging, and fun. I when i say it was emotional, I MEAN IT! I mean, before the battle begins, Argo, your only friend and companion, falls to her apparent death, and you are forced to face Malus alone, and most of all, the music, Demise Of The Ritual, is one of the best final boss themes i have ever hear, it really sets the mood for the fight, and as autarch and obisdious fan once said, "This is for my horse!" And finally, the story for the game is pretty decent, Wander, the game's main protagonist, is forced to kill 16 colossi in order to revive his friend or love interest, i can't really tell because the game NEVER tells us, Mono. I won't spoil the ending for you, but the ending WILL make you feel sorry for Wander, and make you HATE Dormin, i mean it, Dormin should burn in HE............. Sorry, got carried away. Anyways, now here's the game's flaws. Some times the game could be very frustrating, for example, it took me about a HOUR, to beat Argus, ONE, FREAKING, HOUR! Plus it took me forever to find how to beat Galus, Phaedra, and most of all, Basarn! THE MOST DIFFICULT BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! AND THE MOST UNFAIR BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! Of normal mode. After beating the game there is a mode called Hard mode that is unlocked, along with time attack. Hard mode is fun, but it was very frustrating, that includes you Argus. WHO WAS THE HARDEST AND UNFAIR BOSS IN HARD MODE! The most frustrating part of the game is that you get a bar that indicates how much you can hold on to a colossus, NOW THAT SEEMS FAIR! Though you rest on the colossus when your not trying to attack it's weakspot so it really doesn't matter. Despite these few problems, Shadow Of The Colossus is a fun and awesome game, if makes you feel sorry for the hero and hate the villain, it has excellent boss fights, and it's story is a emotional classic, and if you haven't played it yet, i recommend getting it now, and trust me, you won't regret, and thus i give this game a 9 out of 10. Expand
  39. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    A mysterious wanderer walks into a forbidden land with what seems to be a deceased body. Mysterious shadows arise from the ground. The mysterious wanderer then shows his ancient sword to the mysterious shadows that claim to be the Dormin. The dormin are rumored to have the power to bring a soul back to the body. They then send you out to kill sixteen colossi. That is the plot line to thisA mysterious wanderer walks into a forbidden land with what seems to be a deceased body. Mysterious shadows arise from the ground. The mysterious wanderer then shows his ancient sword to the mysterious shadows that claim to be the Dormin. The dormin are rumored to have the power to bring a soul back to the body. They then send you out to kill sixteen colossi. That is the plot line to this innovative, glorious and magnificent third-person action adventure.

    The gameplay is definitely something to get used to. It's definitely weird. Triangle is jump, and in order to climb up ledges you need to hold R1 while jumping. But once you get a hang of things the gameplay is fun and enjoyable. Especially since you have to climb up giant colossi that tower over you by one hundred feet! Needless to say the bosses are fun, well. Most of them.

    Colossi number eleven, is just a pain in the ass. SERIOUSLY. It is the size of a bull. That's significantly smaller than all the other colossi. And when you're on the ground the colossi will just keep running you over until you die or traps you in a corner. It's a pain in the ass.

    But other than that the game is just fantastic. It has the best graphics for a 2005 game, its score is beautiful, its gameplay is great (once you get grasp on it) and its just a glorious game.

    It's innovative because every boss is different and distinct in every way. Some colossi you have to lure them over to specific area and they'll have hit something so then you can climb up on them and stab them inn the head, or you'll have to shoot the flying colossi so it'll come and attack you them jump on it while it tries to strike.

    In conclusion, Shadow Of The Colossus is one of the best games I've ever played. other than a few bad colossi and camera angles, it's almost a masterpiece.
    Expand
  40. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    This is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. AlsoThis is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. Also some people didn't give this a good score because their dumb and didn't bother to play the whole way though and stopped at the second colossi. Collapse
  41. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    the feeling that this game gives you while you are playing it is just beautifull one of the greatest games of all time simply art of the modern era, a must have for the people who wants new concepts in gaming.
  42. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Probably the most important game to spearhead the "games as art" argument (as absurd as even considering the inverse is), and for good reason: It's beautiful, fun, profound, and deeply awe-inspiring. Picking this game up for 20 bucks when I was 17 and exploring the quiet forests canyons deserts and plains with Wander and Agro was one of the most substantial highlights I've had in my lifeProbably the most important game to spearhead the "games as art" argument (as absurd as even considering the inverse is), and for good reason: It's beautiful, fun, profound, and deeply awe-inspiring. Picking this game up for 20 bucks when I was 17 and exploring the quiet forests canyons deserts and plains with Wander and Agro was one of the most substantial highlights I've had in my life as a gamer. Expand
  43. PaulL
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Utterly sublime. A truly grown up , haunting, epic gutt wrenchingly emotional experience. The lonely rides across the desolate landscape in search of the colossi only emphasises the impact and scale of the battles. The music is unbelievably powerful, possibly one of the greatest scores of all time. The game also defies the usual gratfiying 'victory celebration' following most Utterly sublime. A truly grown up , haunting, epic gutt wrenchingly emotional experience. The lonely rides across the desolate landscape in search of the colossi only emphasises the impact and scale of the battles. The music is unbelievably powerful, possibly one of the greatest scores of all time. The game also defies the usual gratfiying 'victory celebration' following most boss fights in video games, opting instead to subtly build a sense of guilt and dread at what you are doing building ultimately to what is possibly the greatest ending in video game history. Those who have criticised the ending usually do becuase they do not understand or appreciate its subtle meaning (youneed to be familiar with Ico in order to) . This is an adult experience, there is no quick or cheap gratification here. Its is an artistically bold and utterly beautiful experience. Expand
  44. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus Every 'Art game' made from now on will have been inspired by this true masterpiece.
  45. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This is more than a game... it's an artistic masterpiece. The games epicness and beauty is astonishing. It's a perfect balance of adventure, action and puzzle game all in one.

    If you consider yourself a gamer but never played Shadow of the Colussus... do yourself a favor and get ahold of this ASAP!
  46. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a game; not only beautiful, engaging, and emotional, but legendary. It goes down in history with games such as Mario and Legend of Zelda. This adventure game may not have small enemies to kill, but it has 30 story tall beasts to slay. The graphics are amazing for a PS2 game, the gameplay controls are smooth, and the music and sounds are phenomenal. If you have aShadow of the Colossus is a game; not only beautiful, engaging, and emotional, but legendary. It goes down in history with games such as Mario and Legend of Zelda. This adventure game may not have small enemies to kill, but it has 30 story tall beasts to slay. The graphics are amazing for a PS2 game, the gameplay controls are smooth, and the music and sounds are phenomenal. If you have a PS2, and this is not in your collection, get it. Now. Expand
  47. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely beautiful. No other game has quite done what SOTC has, with its inelligent sense of puzzle solving and original art style. The gameplay is definitely satisfying with each success of defeating each colossus. On top of that, the game has become a master of telling a heartfelt and exciting story with minimal dialog. There are however a few minor problems. ForThis game is absolutely beautiful. No other game has quite done what SOTC has, with its inelligent sense of puzzle solving and original art style. The gameplay is definitely satisfying with each success of defeating each colossus. On top of that, the game has become a master of telling a heartfelt and exciting story with minimal dialog. There are however a few minor problems. For instance, it can be quite irritating to mount your horse in a hurry, causing your character to jump around violently around your horse. Also, each battle is a puzzle with very vague instruction on how to accomplish it. These defects, however, are dwarfed by the overwhelming positive attributes found throughout the rest of the game. In all, this game is a colossal work of art within itself. Expand
  48. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    I just have to say. Missredone you must be a fat girl. Or ugly. I DARE you to post a picture of yourself somewhere. Go Barbies dream ride. Figures, coming from a post from 2012. This game was released in 2005. This game was epic for its time and still is. If you dont like it fine. But at least give a legit reason. You wont be able to find one, NO OTHER GAME is like it. That's what makes it epic.
  49. May 22, 2011
    10
    This is the closest gaming has ever come to art EVER! It truly is a beautiful game. If you only like shooting people in the face, this game is not for you, go ahead...give this game a zero. As for everyone else, This game is breath of fresh air, which you will not want to stop breathing. Get the ICO & SoTC combo on the Ps3. Gaming history is not without this game.
  50. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. Between the majestic scenery and the practically limitless free expanse, there is an almost ethereal presence to its art. It's pure magic.
  51. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    I was absaloutely shocked when i first played this game. the graphics were years ahead of the competition. The first colossus is a real shock to the system and they keep getting better. The minimalist style gives the game a stunning atmosphere, quickly attaching you to your only companion Argo. The immense landscape and ruins leave the gamer to envision what could have happened to turn theI was absaloutely shocked when i first played this game. the graphics were years ahead of the competition. The first colossus is a real shock to the system and they keep getting better. The minimalist style gives the game a stunning atmosphere, quickly attaching you to your only companion Argo. The immense landscape and ruins leave the gamer to envision what could have happened to turn the land into this blasted dustbowl scattered with the ruins of a long dead civilisation. The slaying of each colossi is an epic battle, ones which you will remember. I do not wish to spoil anything so I shall go into no detail on what happens. But i will say this: It is one of the greatest end sequences I have ever seen in book, film or game. Shadow of the Colossus is not a game. Its a journey. It takes you from the euphoria of victory, to thoughtful melancholy and even to the brink of tears. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played. It stands justified as a work of art. It is without a doubt one of the greatest games ever made. Expand
  52. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game sets out to do something and does it perfectly. It is risky to cut out what most would consider the game and use only boss fights, but this tactic packs all of the adrenaline, and artistry, into one tight bundle. This is nothing short of perfect, yet it may not have everything some may want in a game.
  53. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is colossal in every way imaginable. From the amazing art style, to the calm and epic soundtrack. Shadow of the Colossus shines, not only as a game, but as a work of art!
  54. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    In a word, Shadow of the Colossus is masterful. The graphics are beautiful, as is the story, however minimalist it is. The battles against the Colossus are each detailed, difficult, and challenging. Each battle requires you to figure out a weakness and then climb to it, adding a puzzle-like element to the game.

    The world in which you traverse in just amazing. There is a lack of music
    In a word, Shadow of the Colossus is masterful. The graphics are beautiful, as is the story, however minimalist it is. The battles against the Colossus are each detailed, difficult, and challenging. Each battle requires you to figure out a weakness and then climb to it, adding a puzzle-like element to the game.

    The world in which you traverse in just amazing. There is a lack of music while you travel to your destination, adding to the chilling and wondrous environment. When in battle, outstanding battle themes play as you fight, making each fight grand and epic.

    Really, this game is just brilliant. I just wish I could delete my memory so that I could replay it again for the first time.
    Expand
  55. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece, a game that's often brought into the argument that is "Can games can be a piece of art?". Yes they can be, and this is a perfect example. The game is very impressive visually, and that certainly helps the sublime art style. The animation quality is incredible, all the Colossi have a real presence and move realistically, and Agro and Wander are veryShadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece, a game that's often brought into the argument that is "Can games can be a piece of art?". Yes they can be, and this is a perfect example. The game is very impressive visually, and that certainly helps the sublime art style. The animation quality is incredible, all the Colossi have a real presence and move realistically, and Agro and Wander are very realistic as well, (especially when Wander is on the Colossi) but the real star of the show in that aspect is the Colossi for sure. The games music is just incredible, completely suits the tone of the game and really gives a depressing atmosphere. Gameplay wise, SotC is pretty simple, you find the Colossi in the wasteland and you find out how to kill them by jumping, holding on and stabbing them, it's basically a puzzle game in disguise, the puzzles being how to find the Colossi and how to kill them. I think this really works for the game, it's really satisfying to finally beat a Colossi after an hour of trying, I think this is because the game has a really good sense of scale, these things are huge and you just feel like god when you take one of them down. The game finds a great balance between easy and hard, ìt's challenging but not unforgiving, I really like that in a game. This is not a perfect game at all, nothing is perfect, the game has minor camera problems and Agros controls are a bit janky at times, but I don't think giving a game 10 out of 10 means it's perfect, there are just a select few that feel like they deserve a 10, and I think Shadow of the Colossus is one of them.

    Roll on The Last Guardian!
    Expand
  56. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus has demonstrated that games are more than violence. It is evidence to silence the enemies of gaming, like CNN. It captures feelings of love, wonderment, and cruelty. Sadly this game is underrated, and it has the power to change your look on violence and your appreciation for a story.
    PROS:
    +The game is gorgeous. A PS2 game looks so colorful and beautiful, and that
    Shadow of the Colossus has demonstrated that games are more than violence. It is evidence to silence the enemies of gaming, like CNN. It captures feelings of love, wonderment, and cruelty. Sadly this game is underrated, and it has the power to change your look on violence and your appreciation for a story.
    PROS:
    +The game is gorgeous. A PS2 game looks so colorful and beautiful, and that is when I feel graphics really count in a review - when they go above and beyond expectations, and add to the enjoyment.
    +The story is breath-taking; few, if any words are said, and it still makes you feel for the characters.
    +Level design - absolutely amazing - the best I've ever seen before.
    +The bosses (colossus) are incredibly well designed. They all have different patterns, moods, and not only are they intimidating in their stature, they manage to be beautiful at the same time.
    CONS:
    -It is hard to find one of the colossus, but it is hardly worth mentioning.
    Get it. DO IT!
    Expand
  57. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Definitely one of the greatest games I've ever played, without a doubt. The style of the entire game is just breath-taking, I wish I could just stare at the 3rd colossus for a few moments before it attacked.
  58. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Sublime. Phenomenal. Artistic masterpiece. The scale is unbelievable for a PS2 game. SOTC transcends beyond any conventional labels and inspires much like a spiritual journey.
  59. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is truly an amazing game. I've read a lot of the negative reviews here and i keep seeing people who were looking for a full fledged RPG or people who need constant interaction and flashing lights when they play games, which is fine I quite enjoy flashy lights myself. This game is an exercise in using emotion as a key element. You are supposed to feel like the worldShadow of the Colossus is truly an amazing game. I've read a lot of the negative reviews here and i keep seeing people who were looking for a full fledged RPG or people who need constant interaction and flashing lights when they play games, which is fine I quite enjoy flashy lights myself. This game is an exercise in using emotion as a key element. You are supposed to feel like the world is empty and that you are alone but... you aren't alone. There are these large beast hidden somewhere in this rather beautifully painted world of ancient ruins, mountains, forests, lakes, and ravines. It sorta makes you think what else could be out there. It sucks you in and suddenly you do feel like Wander in a foreign land, in w way that not many other games have accomplished. Inside this world you'll find 16 massive colossus that are each their own giant walking platforming puzzle.. that also tries to kill you. When this game came out my jaw dropped at the first sight of the colossus. Something that awesome had never been done so perfectly. The developers did such a good job of giving heavy things weight. When that giant stone sword hits the ground you'll swear you felt your house shake. Nothing is cooler than standing on the head of a colossus and seeing the ground several hundred feet below, actually getting vertigo from a video game. A lot of the negative reviews say that the camera and controls were horrible only i've never had a problem with the camera. Its a simple camera you control with a joy stick. I honestly think that some people aren't using the camera stick and just letting the camera auto which would be terrible. I've never played a game that's dropped my jaw, starred my eyes, or fueled my wonder like SOTC has. The developers put so much detail and effort into their creation that it just oozes out of every hill, rock, and colossus. Everyone likes their own type of games and maybe SOTC isn't you're cup of tea, but this is one of the most amazing games on the PS2 a land mark in art direction, mechanics, and innovation. Expand
  60. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most artistic games of all time. People giving it a low score seem to miss the point of the game; it wasn't supposed to be an ARPG with tons of enemies to fight everywhere and some kind of leveling system. The game never even claimed to be that so I don't know why people are rating it as such. But it's quite ironic because for what the gameplay DOES do it is a very solid gameplay system. Climbing up on the giant enemies and finding their weak points works very well and it's a lot of fun. It is also a very unique concept; something we truly haven't seen before this. But again, even though this is a new concept and done very well, it's not what the game is about. The reason there are no enemies when traveling from colossus to colossus is the game is giving you time to think. It gives you time to question what Wander, the silent protagonist is doing, and whether or not he is justified. To be more specific, he is trying to resurrect his love, and is told by a mysterious, and possibly malevolent force that if he rids the land of 16 giant creatures, she will be brought back to life. The game wasn't about keeping us superficially entertained by providing creatures to kill on the way from point A to point B, it was about trying to get us to THINK. So few modern games do that so I don't see why people criticize this game. Do we really just want a bunch of tired old FPS rehash? Expand
  61. May 31, 2012
    10
    I didn't get to play this one until around 3 years after it's release. How it slipped under the radar for so long I have no idea because it's probably one of the best games in the entire ps2 library. It was definitely ahead of it's time as more games are trying to use that sense of scale to awe players. SOTC's gameplay structure has you explore a massive land full of valleys, caves andI didn't get to play this one until around 3 years after it's release. How it slipped under the radar for so long I have no idea because it's probably one of the best games in the entire ps2 library. It was definitely ahead of it's time as more games are trying to use that sense of scale to awe players. SOTC's gameplay structure has you explore a massive land full of valleys, caves and abandoned crumbling temples in search of 16 creatures... that are usually 50 times your size. Have fun! Expand
  62. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is probably my favorite game of all time. Let's start with the graphics. The graphics are absolutely astounding, especially for the PS2. The colossi look really great, but during the fights, the framerate tends to drop a little bit. The environments are amazingly detailed, and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. The Forbidden Land in which the game takes placeShadow of the Colossus is probably my favorite game of all time. Let's start with the graphics. The graphics are absolutely astounding, especially for the PS2. The colossi look really great, but during the fights, the framerate tends to drop a little bit. The environments are amazingly detailed, and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. The Forbidden Land in which the game takes place is essentially dead, but that doesn't stop the game from using amazing landscapes, that despite the depressing lack of life (except in the rare forests and extremely rare waterfalls) the world is beautiful.

    Now for story. I won't spoil the story for you, but it's an amazing one. It's told with little words and only a few cutscenes. Play the game yourself if you want to experience it. You'll find yourself establishing an emotional connection with the main character, Wander, and his horse, Agro. The ending is incredibly powerful.

    The soundtrack in this game is amazing, possibly the best soundtrack ever (movies, CDs, or games). There is a wide variety of amazing tracks, but there are 4 or 5 that really stick out and made me actually stop and listen to the music during a boss fight.

    And of course, the gameplay. The gameplay is possibly the most fun I've ever had in gaming. It starts with riding your horse to the next colossus. Some find the horse's controls to be annoying, but I found them to work perfectly fine. It can take awhile to reach some of the colossi, but for me, that was remedied by the amazing landscapes all around me that I could stare at and be wowed by on my way to the colossus. Once you reach the colossus, the fun begins. The colossi are huge, hairy beasts with 1-5 different weakspots. You have to climb them and attack the weakspots until they die. Easy, right? Ye NO. The colossi are basically puzzles. It starts with figuring how to GET ONTO the colossus, and that can be tough to figure out. This is where you use your brain. Once you're on it, navigating to the weakspot can be tricky, since you have limited stamina, and if it runs out, you fall. Then you attack each weakspot, and the colossi love to shake all around. Stamina becomes a problem here.

    Shadow of the Colossus is a game not to be missed. It has an outstanding world, extremely fun gameplay, an amazing soundtrack, and possibly the most compelling story ever in a video game.
    Expand
  63. RobC.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    This is what dreams are made of. No game compares to how spectaculor this is and the power, plus emotion behind this game really is amazing.
  64. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This game changed lives with the deep meaning and sadness put behind it. AMAZING graphics and a story that will break your heart. Exploration is a little annoying at times though. I feel jealous for those who havnt played it. I would give a lot to play it for the first time again.
  65. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Simply put, Shadow of the Colossus is one of my favorite games of all time. I recommend it to anyone who can enjoy a highly focused, uncluttered, and slower paced game.

    So much good has already been said about Shadow of the Colossus I won't reiterate it, instead I am going to focus on the criticisms I've been reading in the reviews. If you just cannot begin to understand why people rave
    Simply put, Shadow of the Colossus is one of my favorite games of all time. I recommend it to anyone who can enjoy a highly focused, uncluttered, and slower paced game.

    So much good has already been said about Shadow of the Colossus I won't reiterate it, instead I am going to focus on the criticisms I've been reading in the reviews.

    If you just cannot begin to understand why people rave about the story.... please, finish the game first. I think 70% of the story is conveyed *after* the fall of the final colossus. For me, the ending sequence propelled this game from great to awesome. It explains so much and ties it together very well. Is it going to tell you everything? No. That is just the style of storytelling Team ICO uses, and they use it quite masterfully.

    First three words, in the introduction, form the manual: "in an undisturbed land." It is an element of the plot, there is a reason there is NOTHING around save for some birds and lizards--nothing is supposed to be there. Yes, grasslands are pretty boring, but you know what, they are pretty boring in real life too. The forest areas are genuinely beautiful, and there is more to the world than just the plains.

    This game pushes the PS2 to its absolute limits. I've seen effects that I didn't even know where technically possible on the system and the uninterrupted size of the world is very impressive. As a result, the frame rate does drop noticeably in certain areas, a minor price to pay.

    I never had issues with the controls of Wander (the hero) although there were definitely times the camera wouldn't stay where I wanted, but overall calling the controls bad is a gross overstatement. What about the horseback riding? Well...

    Agro (the horse) really is a living breathing character in the game. He is a part of this story, and in this game he is not your character. You are ALWAYS in control of the hero, Wander, who is RIDING Agro. Agro is not just some neat-looking speed-boost for your character. Try to run him off a cliff and he will turn, stop, snort in defiance, whinny out of disagreement, and refuse, just like a real horse would. Are the controls the easiest or simplest? No, but I have ridden horses before, and I will tell you they are absolutely the most convincing I have ever seen. In some way it also makes those long rides searching out the Colossi more engaging, if all I had to do was "push forward" to walk just like normal, but faster, it would have been a much more boring journey. I applaud the designers for not taking the easy route and obviously closely studying the behaviors between horse and rider.

    This game is about adventure and problem solving, e.g. puzzles. It is NOT an RPG, it is NOT a hack-n-slash, it is NOT an action game. Figuring out how to take down each Colossus given just yourself, a bow, and a sword is the whole point. It is about improvisation and resourcefulness. Some fights with the Colossi are just epic, and are really how boss fights should be. Instead of "how many times do I swing and/or cast this spell until he dies?"

    Overall I found Shadow of the Colossus to be a much more engrossing and enjoyable experience than something like God of War could ever be. God of War relies heavily on genre standards; I've lost count of how many collect the red/blue/green orb action games there are now. GoW provided a very solid game and threw in hefty doses of sex and over-the-top violence to make it stand out from the crowed, and it succeeded.

    Shadow of the Colossus instead tries to be unique in its design and presentation, appealing to a very different tastes, and it succeeds beautifully.
    Expand
  66. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    A spiritual sequel to the unique Ico debate still rages as to which is the better game. All I will say is that both are unlike any other video game ever created.

    Trying to explain what makes Shadow of the Colossus such a fantastic experience is difficult as it really is a game that needs to be played to be fully appreciated. Much like its predecessor a minimalist approach has been
    A spiritual sequel to the unique Ico debate still rages as to which is the better game. All I will say is that both are unlike any other video game ever created.

    Trying to explain what makes Shadow of the Colossus such a fantastic experience is difficult as it really is a game that needs to be played to be fully appreciated. Much like its predecessor a minimalist approach has been taken to proceedings creating an almost overwhelming atmosphere of calm isolation.

    The gameplay itself basically boils down to sixteen boss battles against the Colossi themselves with only a short introduction hinting at the reason for this undertaking. With no enemies in between these battles the game was always going to live or die by the quality of these encounters. Thankfully every one is truly awe inspiring and each provides a unique challenge that requires a bit of thought to complete. Aside from a sword and bow your only companion of this quest is your horse Agro and he often plays a vital role throughout the game. Realistically animated and intelligent enough to traverse the landscape by himself you really come to care for him as the game reaches its conclusion.

    Shadow of the Colossus is a true masterpiece and as close as gaming can come to an art form. You can't call yourself a true video game fan until you've played it.
    Expand
  67. May 17, 2011
    9
    Ok, there are a lot of people who are really upset with this game and there are a lot of people who really, really enjoyed it. For those of you who are thinking of whether or not you are going to buy it, I'm going to try and sum up some of the major aspects that make this game great, but also where this game falls short. First of all the good: 1.) When this game came out in 2005, theOk, there are a lot of people who are really upset with this game and there are a lot of people who really, really enjoyed it. For those of you who are thinking of whether or not you are going to buy it, I'm going to try and sum up some of the major aspects that make this game great, but also where this game falls short. First of all the good: 1.) When this game came out in 2005, the graphics were top of the line. When it comes to the huge open environment with no loading times running from place to place, this game was simply amazing for 2005. No one can argue against this. 2.) The game is simple. You've got your sword, and a bow. No clamoring through item screens, no messy menu systems, just a quick button to switch between them. Some people may not like this, but we'll get to that. 3.) The boss fights are superb. Shadow of the Colossus is basically like 16 Zelda-esque boss fights all concentrated into one game. They get more and more creative as you move through the game, and are never disappointing. You can really get the chills when a 100 meter tall giant is swinging a club at you the size of the empire state building. ...Now, for the bad... 1.) The camera and horse riding is a little messy. Sometimes the horse wont quite do what you want. Say you order him to slow down because you coming up to the grand canyon. He might just keep running like he doesn't have a care in the world. Don't worry, he will stop. I have never fallen off a cliff on a horse. Also, the targeting system used when fighting the colossi can be a little awkward. if you want to look at the colossus with the targeting system, the camera zooms up real close on our hero, right on his hip, and looks at the monster's mid section. if your running away from the colossus, this means that you can't quite see where you are running to. This VERY rarely matters, because you usually have a lot of space to use, but it can be annoying. Also, when you aren't targeting the camera can be a little annoying swaying around looking at what you might not want to look at. Don't let minor control issues ruin the game for you. When you target the colossi it actually looks pretty cinematic. Also, when you run it looks like your legs are made out of Stretch Armstrong's. Should you be mad about it? No, probably not. 2.) It's a simple game. This can be a good thing or a bad thing. It's really about personal preference. Storyline? Basically, there isn't one. Tons of weapons and character customization? You get two weapons. But hey, that's part of what makes this game so great. It lets your imagination run the story. You don't really know what happened to the pretty girl, or why you have a bad ass sword, or why killing a bunch of giants will bring her back, or why they all seem to be filled with pressurized black ink. This game is very enigmatic that way. If you don't like that type of thing, and are looking for a story, try playing final fantasy or metal gear or something. Otherwise, I give this game a 9/10. Its a great game. It's not perfect, but that's what the 10/10 space is for. If you are in the mood for some visually pleasing, brain busting boss fights, buy this game. If not, don't buy this game.
    -ILL
    Expand
  68. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shadow Of The Colossus is by far the most amazing game anybody can experience. It combines the video game genre with art splendidly to create a vast and desolate landscape where only you,your horse and the colossi roam. First off is the hero of the story or should I say anti-hero. Your goal is to revive a dead girl called Mono by slaying sixteen colossi. Your hero does that without question obviously for love. He has only two weapons. His bow and arrow and the ancient sword that is the only thing capable of killing the colossal creatures. From the start of the game you can see that the hero called Wander is skilled with a bow in every way. He can shoot it anywhere including on his horse which can take years to normally master and he can even stand up on his horse and fire it. Then there is the sword. He is no swordsman due to his clumsiness at swinging it around and the fact that he stumbles most of the time when using it. The only reason he even has that sword is because he needs it to kill the creatures otherwise he wouldn't have it there but it doesn't matter as every hero has a flaw with skills and the sword is Wander's flaw. He seems very determined even when faced with the biggest of colossi.
    His horse,Agro,is amazingly detailed and puts Epona from TLOZ series in the bin. Agro does everything a normal horse does. She grazes and nuzzles Wander. She seemed to hate the colossi slaying idea from the start and it is apparent but she goes on all for you and she even sacrifices herself for you. Talk about loyalty.
    The Colossi themselves are amazingly brilliant. They look like art but they can pack a punch and wallop you down if your not careful. All of them are based on different animals and objects and they all have different personality's. Some of them hunt you down viciously and do actually want you dead and then there are some who just want to be left alone or don't mind you until you start stabbing them in their weak-point. Some of them fly while others swim and some burrow through the ground and it is all done in such a spectacular fashion. The real problem for you is the fact that in video games you just kill what's in front of you but you don't think about the consequences. Dormin,the God that sends you on this quest,says that the price you pay will be heavy but you don't care yet every time you kill a colossus you are destroying your humanity and committing a crime. You see it as one step closer to saving Mono but the colossi and anyone else sees it as murder. The problem is you actually have to kill these beasts as there is no game otherwise which means you are forced to kill them even if they don't attack you. Then as you deliver the blows you get sprayed with black blood that stains your clothes and then you have to watch the colossi die. The 13th colossus didn't attack you in any way yet you kill it and because it's the most peaceful it means you get to watch it die for 24 seconds and all the others as well. They even moan like an actual dying person giving you a sense of guilt.
    The landscape on this game is so detailed. It's worth buying the game just to ride around on your horse to find the next colossus. There are deserts,forests,caves,cities,temples,rivers,lakes,barren and dry lands and waterfalls all for you to explore from the very beginning. There are fruits and lizards that you can kill to fill up your health bar and grip meter and even an eagle that you can grab onto and ride. There is just so much beauty in everything put into this game that you could put it in a museum and as you ride past on your horse it is such a breathtaking moment that you forget everything to see the view. But because the land is so vast and the colossi take time to get to it means you can just think and discover more about yourself and think about what your doing. It raises questions. Is it worth it? Do these innocent creatures deserve to die? Am I doing the right thing? You can get quite lost in your thoughts. The plot of the game is small yet if you look in the detail on Wander after each colossus you will notice something that links to the plot. Wander is going from a young and healthy man to looking like a corpse.
    Meanwhile Mono is looking healthier by each death. When you reach the last colossus you have dark black hair and stains all over your clothes and face and you lost your horse. Could Agro's sacrifice be for nothing? Then when its all over you go back to the temple and the most emotional and the most gutting ending starts. Was it all for nothing or did Mono live? You have to play it to find out.
    Last but not least is the music. There is a wide variety of music to listen to from the slow silence to the action packed colossus battle music. It puts Lord of the rings Music to shame and that is saying something. If you have not got this game I recommend that you buy it and play it as it is one of the best PS2 games ever and even one of the best games in general ever.
    Expand
  69. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The soundtrack was great. No other game has ever got horse riding as spot on as this game. It was one of the first games to show really show that games can be an art form.
  70. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Emotional, exciting, fun, breathtaking. I'm probably missing a few other words that can describe this heavenly game. Basically, it's one of the best games of the last generation, and possibly of all time. I'm not afraid to say this game is one of the best, simply because there is no other game like it. It set a bar for every Adventure/action game that followed it, much like Half Life 2 didEmotional, exciting, fun, breathtaking. I'm probably missing a few other words that can describe this heavenly game. Basically, it's one of the best games of the last generation, and possibly of all time. I'm not afraid to say this game is one of the best, simply because there is no other game like it. It set a bar for every Adventure/action game that followed it, much like Half Life 2 did for FPS's. But it does more then just reinovate gaming mechanics. It is one of the few games that can call themselves, with a straight face, a work of art. Some would disagree, granted, but even the sceptics can appreciate the game's excellent design, and if you are not so narrow minded as some gamers, you will no doubt love this game. It's more then a game, and with every gaming year filled to brimming with grey and unoriginal videogames, it just gets clearer. Expand
  71. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is arguably one of the greatest action-adventure games ever created. Developed by the esteemed and greatly hailed game developers, Team Ico, Shadow of the Colossus is the prequel to the developers famed first release, Ico. Set at an ambiguous time, likely several centuries before Ico, the game begins with a young boy on horseback with his questionably-alive ladyShadow of the Colossus is arguably one of the greatest action-adventure games ever created. Developed by the esteemed and greatly hailed game developers, Team Ico, Shadow of the Colossus is the prequel to the developers famed first release, Ico. Set at an ambiguous time, likely several centuries before Ico, the game begins with a young boy on horseback with his questionably-alive lady friend. This girl was sacrificed in a village's ancient sacrificial ritual, but for reasons unknown, the unnamed protagonist (given the name The Wander by fans) is on a journey to take her to a forbidden land. When he arrives at a large castle in this forbidden land, he is greeted by Dormir, the resident god of the land. The protagonist asks the god to bring the girl back to life; Dormir agrees, but only if Wander first slays the sixteen giants that reside in the land. In actuality, the title is nothing more than a platforming-puzzle game. So what makes this such a pivotal game? The presentation. Team Ico has a special talent of storytelling and use of gameplay that in unparalleled. While the story of Shadow of the Colossus is deep and intricate, not a whole lot of the plot is in fact revealed. Much of the plot takes place before the events that you experience, and the ending is left very open-ended. You feel like you're experiencing something much greater than what appears before you, which offers a beautiful perspective on the story. The gameplay is all about destroying these giant 20+ story tall colossi, but you're free to roam the sandbox-styled landscape freely, and can enter these massive boss battles whenever you feel ready and prepared. The landscape is simply awe inspiring, and there is no danger to disturb your taking in the scenery. And when you do enter these battles, they are intense, and really give you the feeling that these colossi are indeed colossal. Shadow of the Colossus offers a completely unique experience, and is one of those few games that simply can't be missed. Expand
  72. iRo
    Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Great game, challenging bosses especially the one with the colossus that behaves like a rhino that got me over a few times. challenging at first but once you repeat it kinda stinks since you know how to beat them already. but anyways super great game.
  73. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game I urge you not to miss the chance to play the game! This game has a great story, great atmosphere,great game-play great visuals,great soundtrack and a surprising twist at the end.I urge you to try this game out you will not be disappointed.
  74. May 9, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is an epic and powerful game that makes use of great gameplay, outstanding battles, superb sound and a deep and touching story to make your jaw drop. The game surely have its flaws, like the annoying camera, but it stills one of the best adventure games ever made, and if you don't mind the "lack of action", you should totally check it.
  75. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Now to start this review, I realize that this is not a type of game that would appeal to all audiences of gamers. If I were to include this factor (As I have rated it based off of my own opinion of the game, which I believe it is very intriguing and everything awesome) I would rate it at about 9.
    The game is very fluent from start to finish and keeps the player enveloped in the deep
    Now to start this review, I realize that this is not a type of game that would appeal to all audiences of gamers. If I were to include this factor (As I have rated it based off of my own opinion of the game, which I believe it is very intriguing and everything awesome) I would rate it at about 9.
    The game is very fluent from start to finish and keeps the player enveloped in the deep storyline and overall feel of it. Even when you first begin you are being launched as this mysterious person who has but the bare essentials of combat and his friendly horse. This game keeps you interested in what is going to happen to this character and what his past was in only the first five minutes of play! I was instantly filled with questions when I first started playing. Who was this person? Why was he carrying a body? What is his goal? It gives you the basics of what you need to know in the beginning so that you can figure it out later through your own experience. Clearly the developers know what they are doing.

    So already we have a storyline that is taking liftoff. What about the surroundings of the player? As soon as you gain control you are in a cathedral that looks and feels ancient. Large stone totems line the walls providing a small glimpse at what is ahead. Once you step outside you are struck by a beautiful landscape that is difficult to find in most games. Along with the setting, the graphics are intense and adds to the whole beauty of it all. Two more things that are nailed in this game; setting and graphics.

    Once I was finished admiring the area in which I was in, it was time to take charge and attempt to defeat the first colossus. It gave me the basics of control and then sent me off to war against this massive beast that truly felt as though it could truly exist. The colossus looked, felt, and acted exactly as a real colossus would in real life. Not only that but when you are fighting you are invigorated by music (In my opinion the best soundtrack for a video game that I have ever heard) that is fit for the situation you are in. You must explore the arena, discover the weakness of the colossus, and plot your way up to the weak point to slay it. Two more gaming elements that are perfected; level design and soundtrack.

    Overall this game is very unique and by far one of the best games I have ever played. It kept me playing even after beating it the first time, and I still enjoy playing it to this day. However I can still understand that this sort of theme is not for every gamer. Continuing through to discover how the colossus looked and was like was one of the few truly great gaming experiences I have had and is difficult to come by. Well done, Team Ico!
    Expand
  76. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    A Genuine experience.

    While some aspects don't appeal to all (Camera and Controls) the game forgets these flaws and delivers an absolutely brilliant plot packaged with arguably the best boss fights ever seen in videogames, neatly topped with a minimalist art design which immediately impacts the players emotions and continues to throughout. Too repeat myself, the boss fights in this
    A Genuine experience.

    While some aspects don't appeal to all (Camera and Controls) the game forgets these flaws and delivers an absolutely brilliant plot packaged with arguably the best boss fights ever seen in videogames, neatly topped with a minimalist art design which immediately impacts the players emotions and continues to throughout.

    Too repeat myself, the boss fights in this game are phenomenal, with an easy 'weak spot exploit' formulae mixed with difficult puzzle based climbing of the massive colossi, the game delivers an experience no gamer is to go without, an experience that truly challenges how you take on these colossi.

    Shadow of the Colossus was Re-released on PS3 and to be frank, some adventures are worth taking twice.
    Expand
  77. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    What can I say? EPIC, SENSATIONAL, GRANDE, ESPETACULOSO, REALISTIC (in the epoch), VOLTAGE TOTAL BESIDE THE MONSTER MURKY, MAP GREAT BIG, MYSTERIES, FEARS, AND TOTAL EMOTION! WHAT HAS CRITICIZE!! Love it forever
  78. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epic and the whole game will just blow your mind.
  79. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Simply a fantastic game. If you have a PS2, you have no excuse to not have, in the very least, play this game. Surprisingly intricate narrative coupled with epic battles and one of the saddest endings I've ever seen in a game. It's not perfect however. Controls can be a bit unresponsive during battles (especially during heavy lag sequences) and the camera can be difficult to maneuver.Simply a fantastic game. If you have a PS2, you have no excuse to not have, in the very least, play this game. Surprisingly intricate narrative coupled with epic battles and one of the saddest endings I've ever seen in a game. It's not perfect however. Controls can be a bit unresponsive during battles (especially during heavy lag sequences) and the camera can be difficult to maneuver. Aggro can be frustrating while searching for colossi. Otherwise, thoroughly enjoyable game, would play again. Expand
  80. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = I don't know who gave this game an 8, but this artistic masterpiece should not be ignored! One of the greatest games ever made . . . EVER!!
  81. May 25, 2013
    10
    What justifies a big game to you? A long completion time, lots of extra side missions, extensive multiplayer? Well Shadow of the Colossus is the biggest game I have ever played by making me, the player, feel small and weak compared to the behemoths you are expected to slay.
    You are Wander, a warrior who has taken a deceased woman by the name of Mono to a temple in the forbidden lands in
    What justifies a big game to you? A long completion time, lots of extra side missions, extensive multiplayer? Well Shadow of the Colossus is the biggest game I have ever played by making me, the player, feel small and weak compared to the behemoths you are expected to slay.
    You are Wander, a warrior who has taken a deceased woman by the name of Mono to a temple in the forbidden lands in order to perform a spell to bring her back to life. When an ominous voice named Dormin offers to perform it for you you quickly accept, however he tasks you with defeating 16 colossi that live in the forbidden lands before he brings Mono back from the dead. As you begin to kill the colossi you begin to realise that perhaps Dormin has had something up his sleeve all along.
    Shadow of the Colossus falls into three genres, an action-adventure, a platformer and a puzzle game. You must ride your horse through the expansive forbidden lands in search of the 16 colossi which live up to their name. You must figure out how to get onto them, then platform your way to the top and lastly find the weak spots to take the thing down. Each of the 16 combat scenarios vary vastly and will test your skills, patience and understanding of basic mechanics such as sound, light and gravity in order to take these beasts down, and there is nothing more fulfilling that feel that sword take the final plunge into a colossus and watch it crumble to the ground below.
    Though the game is light and is just 16 boss battles one after each other the game is utterly magical in terms of presentation and storytelling. The Colossus A.I is a little wonky at times but it just gives them even more character that before.
    Shadow of the Colossus is another game that really defines gaming as an art form and it is mind blowing how the PS2 can simply play this game because of its size.
    Expand
  82. TomásM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Times online shame on you! Shadow is the best gaming experience I ever had. At the ending scene of the game I´ve found myself crying in front of the tv. This game goes beyond every concept. Just unforgettable.
  83. kevin/
    Apr 19, 2006
    9
    hi pupil im play the game but i dont knowwhere i can find the monsters can anyone say where i can find them plz but the game has nice grafict but yea there is no story thats bad but i love the game but i cant find the monsters thats sucks plz can anyone help me send a e-mail to kevindekrom@hotmail.com
  84. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in the 6th generation. Offering a new unique style to both gameplay and gives a new direction where art is the new form of storytelling to this amazing epic. With both music and the amazing beauty of the art mixed together well the player will understand clearly how in depth they can be with the protagonist of the game, of his journey andShadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in the 6th generation. Offering a new unique style to both gameplay and gives a new direction where art is the new form of storytelling to this amazing epic. With both music and the amazing beauty of the art mixed together well the player will understand clearly how in depth they can be with the protagonist of the game, of his journey and his goal to save his maiden. The game also ends with a twist and offers replay value you wouldnt normally see in a game like this in the form of a new game+ and adds a new time challenge which will reward you for completing the tough challenges. This game is an amazing legendary classic in which all fans of adventure games will surely enjoy! Expand
  85. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    This Game is Art! I really wish that the storyline was longer. But everything other than that is really GREAT! I gave 10 because the score speaks for itself. The game earned the title "Best Game for the PS2".
  86. CraigT.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    An experience with real heart and soul! I think this and Ico are the 2 best games I've ever had the pleasure of playing, the graphics take your breath away and the Fights with the Colossi are truly Jaw dropping! A unique treat!
  87. JohanS.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    One of the best ps2 game ever.
  88. Nikki
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Shadwo of teh Colossus is on of the best games I ever played! The graphics are asome and the colossi are so well put in with the stroy! No game can ever compete with this!
  89. KateH.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    A artistic masterpiece in its own right. The graphics are georgous, with the "world" being one massive level with no loading screens. The fights with the magnificantly detailed colossus are tense and breath taking and there's always the wonder of what you're facing next. As for the controls, everyone seems to forget that you're controlling a horse, not some automatic car, A artistic masterpiece in its own right. The graphics are georgous, with the "world" being one massive level with no loading screens. The fights with the magnificantly detailed colossus are tense and breath taking and there's always the wonder of what you're facing next. As for the controls, everyone seems to forget that you're controlling a horse, not some automatic car, ride a horse in real life and find out how easy it is to control!. The horse moves its head and body just like a real equine, I galloped around it circles for a while, amazed at the way it moved. Possibly the strongest element of the game is the score. The music is exhilerating and heartbreakingly beautiful throughout the game, right up until the emotion filled ending. It's a must buy for anyone who can appreciate games that aren't all about guns and gore. After you've immersed yourself in Shadow of the colossus, you'll wonder why there aren't more games out there like this. A drop of pure light amongst the raging violence of the videogaming world. Expand
  90. ZigguratB.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This game is simply a pure masterpeice. The battles, the monsters, the story and the music trult give it the feel and an epic adventure. Though the true beauty lies in the feeling of icolation one feels when playing the game. I mean, everything is quite unless you are fighing. All that can really be heard are the galloping feet of the horse and the call of the hawks in the sky. Truly a This game is simply a pure masterpeice. The battles, the monsters, the story and the music trult give it the feel and an epic adventure. Though the true beauty lies in the feeling of icolation one feels when playing the game. I mean, everything is quite unless you are fighing. All that can really be heard are the galloping feet of the horse and the call of the hawks in the sky. Truly a game like this becomes more than a game when one can truly feel the loniness and the emotion that the character may be feeling. Expand
  91. NatA.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Full of artistic feature and the graphic was superb and magnificent. Never wonder a simple game like this could bring a deep impression into the hearts of the players. A truly masterpiece.
  92. SkylarF.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Now, i'm basing this purely on the demo that I've played...but if the real game is anything like this, then it is going to be amazing. It's totally original and radically different from anything I've ever played before. Which is a breath of fresh air in a world filled to the brim with sequals, prequals and remakes. Also, the graphics are clearly pushing the PS2 to its Now, i'm basing this purely on the demo that I've played...but if the real game is anything like this, then it is going to be amazing. It's totally original and radically different from anything I've ever played before. Which is a breath of fresh air in a world filled to the brim with sequals, prequals and remakes. Also, the graphics are clearly pushing the PS2 to its limits. And that's without even touching on its awesome gameplay. The physics of the characters movements is great. Its like the Gran Turismo of action games. But mainly, I must say that the tone, the mood it sets is exactly what I think most gamers are looking for. Its completely opposite of our world. Think "Legend", kind of mixed with Legend of Zelda. That's really the only way to put it. And the list of great things just goes on. All in all, from what I've seen here, this looks to be a very solid title that I think no one should miss. Expand
  93. RothwellG.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    This game totally the best game in 2005. I think everyone should play it. this game is very unique.
  94. SamA.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Innovative masterful work of art! Even with a few minor camera issues, I cannot give this game anything but the best - 10/10 all the way!!
  95. JamesS.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    A brilliantly designed game. The ONLY flaw that I have with it is that the camera isn't as good as it could be especially on the last collosus. Overal a very very good game and a definite must-buy.
  96. Andyman
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    I decided to wait until I had played through Shadow of the Colossus twice to determine how I truly felt about it. I'll say this for the game... I had MORE fun beating the Colossi the second time around than I did the first time, which is an extremely rare thing in the world of videogames. Sure, it has some minor flaws, but none of these detract from the game's unbelievably I decided to wait until I had played through Shadow of the Colossus twice to determine how I truly felt about it. I'll say this for the game... I had MORE fun beating the Colossi the second time around than I did the first time, which is an extremely rare thing in the world of videogames. Sure, it has some minor flaws, but none of these detract from the game's unbelievably immersive gameplay. SotC is easily one of the top five PlayStation 2 games ever made. Off I go to play through it yet again... and I bet I'll have even more fun the third time through! Expand
  97. AlexS.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 partly because it is one of my favourite games ever, and partly because I'm getting really annoyed at people who give games that are clearly good in some way 0's. This game clearly doesn't deserve a 0 in any way, and i cant believe people hand out zeroes just out of spite for the ten's give it a rank that's appropriate for gods sake. But I'm giving this a 10 partly because it is one of my favourite games ever, and partly because I'm getting really annoyed at people who give games that are clearly good in some way 0's. This game clearly doesn't deserve a 0 in any way, and i cant believe people hand out zeroes just out of spite for the ten's give it a rank that's appropriate for gods sake. But anyway, this game is one of my favourites of all time. The simplicity and emotiveness previously seen only in Ico, let's be honest, is really developed here. Once i had completed the game once and had a great experience, i tried again, but i really explored the landscape, finding whole plains and areas that you don't even need to go near, but are just so breathtakingly real its satisfying to just ride through them and look at them. The formula is so simple, and yet never gets boring; search for colossus; kill colossus; reappear at temple. Repeat. It takes quite a bit of problem solving to work out where the colossi are, and how to take them down, but i never once got bored or annoyed at it, i just used my head. I did use a guide once or twice, for the bits that really fry your brain, but the irritation immediately subsides when you realise just how clever the solution was. Every single colossi is cooler than the last, and just get better and better. I'm on my 6th or 7th play through the game, and i still havent managed to scale the temple wall to get to the secret garden and the bridge, get every peice of fruit, every lizard or kill all the colossi on hard time attack! You dont even have to do this stuff for replayability, just the nostalgia and joy of roaming the world is incredible. All in all, a masterpeice of a game. Expand
  98. GregL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Epic game. Excellent action and extremely immersive. Thoughtful ending, and sweet hidden items and modes (hard mode, time attack, all the items garnered therein).
  99. DarthMoon
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Thats why I bought my PS2. It has the most amazing and creative games ever.This game is a really unforgetable experience. The ending is emotional and the overal atmospere is incredible. Graphics are good but they could have been better. Shadow of the colossus is a true work.
  100. Niveche
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    if there were any higher score than ten this game would get it. the most beautiful game EVER. and i thought iCO was great too. seems repetitive but each colossus IS different. and the visuals - spectacular. more art than arcade - but thats the beauty, appeal, and splendour - and experience like no other is the best way to put it. simply wonderful. GET THIS GAME. the PS2 is on itsif there were any higher score than ten this game would get it. the most beautiful game EVER. and i thought iCO was great too. seems repetitive but each colossus IS different. and the visuals - spectacular. more art than arcade - but thats the beauty, appeal, and splendour - and experience like no other is the best way to put it. simply wonderful. GET THIS GAME. the PS2 is on its last breath and this game is the finest way to let it rest. i repeat GET THIS GAME!!! Expand
  101. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    This is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. AlsoThis is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. Also some people didn't give this a good score because their dumb and didn't bother to play the whole way though and stopped at the second colossi. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. If you can appreciate artistry in games, if you hanker for an experience that transcends genre, if you want to see what happens when a creative design team is allowed to ignore sales numbers and flavor-of-the-month trends, by all means bring yourself into Shadow's world. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  2. A truly unique experience that inspires emotions in a way few games can. It has its share of problems, but I love it just the same. [Oct 2005, p.130]
  3. It's unlike anything else you've ever played, and so you may love it or you may hate it. Count me firmly in the "love" boat. [Nov 2005, p.142]